[GVGT] Camcar video of Katong incident

Tardis

Seems like the overtaking was already completed before the zebra crossing, so IMO, it's the <1.5 m close-pass within the same lane that triggered her.

her main point of arguing was 'you overtook me on the bend'.
I not sure why maybe she expecting the car to follow her behind until zebra crossing end then the car can overtake.

R6exR6

You said.. "Is my time so precious that I will put someone life in danger by overtaking them closely?"

then why i always kena cyclists who ring their bell non stop on pavements that clearly have no space? one side is railing one side is road. then the cyclist expect me to stand on the road for them to save 10 seconds? fair meh?
There are bad drivers and cyclists on road and pavements. Worst cuplrits are the pathetic enforcement by LTA, TP and well as the legal penalties for offences.

kingboonz

Before I leave this thread, I would like to remind fellow edmwers for a more gracious society and protect our more vulnerable.

there are retarded cyclists. there are retarded car owners. but remember who is more vulnerable.

Car owners let's make the roads a better place for cyclists. it may not be ideal now but encourage mindset shifts instead of adding fuel to the fire debates.

big car, big heart.

I see so many negative and toxic comments towards the cyclist on Facebook it's quite disgusting. edmw is the same

one day I wish to be able to cycle on roads without worrying to be run over. I'm sure each of us desire to do the same too, to cycle on roads for small distances commute.

I am not a cyclist now but one day I wish to be one

coern

same reasoning applies to the cyclist, why need to head down and race thru the turn... Tour de Singapur meh? maciam riding as if got safety barricades and marshal...

slow down, give way to the faster vehicle and move on with life.

code of conduct or not, it doesn't kill anyone to drive behind a cyclist for just 10-15 seconds right? idk why Singaporeans normalize terrorizing cyclists on the roads.

if there is a road work occupying half the lane u will guai guai change lane right? or will u drive closely to the workers and terrorize them for wasting ur time

begintoend

Of course drivers are more skillful in general, coz all trained and licensed.
We can't expect cyclists to be as skillful, coz LTA allows Toms, Dicks & Harrys (& even Karens) of even spastic ability to ride on road. Thus, we must expect drivers to give more space to unbalanced cyclists on road.
agree

but the fug attitude road cyclists give to motorists
and the self entitlement they hold
they fugking think they LTA
unknowingly about what is keeping them fugking lives in tact to go home and have dinner with their families.

R6exR6

What if cyclists cycle within 1.5m of car. Who is at fault.
Nobody's fault, coz no law/guideline requiring cyclist to pass <1.5 m. Only requirement is for cyclist to pass safely. Drivers, on the other hand, are required by LTA guideline to pass cyclists with at least a 1.5 m gap.

Darth_Yang

My take is that the cyclist looking for trouble la... The overtake had ample space...

Ppl apologize then let go la.. not like there was impact...

That's not the place to confront also ba... Blocking the whole road...

See the face already can feel it's ** person le...

Kudos to the driver for taking 1 for the drivers la...

In some parts of the world.. drive off , jam break... Run over ... Reverse to confirm.. so no need to pay injury compensation...

R6exR6

her main point of arguing was 'you overtook me on the bend'.
I not sure why maybe she expecting the car to follow her behind until zebra crossing end then the car can overtake.
Yes, since the bend is single-lane, so not possible for car and bicycle to be abreast with a 1 metre gap between them; thus the expectation was to follow past the bend before either straddling lanes or shift over to the 2nd lane in order to complete the overtake.

R6exR6

agree

but the fug attitude road cyclists give to motorists
and the self entitlement they hold
they fugking think they LTA
unknowingly about what is keeping them fugking lives in tact to go home and have dinner with their families.
Not all la. Just as there are gracious and A--hole drivers, there are also gracious and A--hole cyclists. This particular one happens to be the "not-so-gracious" type ... 😅

white_prince

Nobody is graceful in this incident, everyone for themselves.
Both not willing to slow down…

iduncheckmail

Untitled.jpg

at this point everyone knows who is the siao lang.

feet on the ground already still hugging the wiper mouth open big big .
crazy woman. looks like badge woman .

wonglw24

Very common on road bet cars & motorcycles when lane filtering, almost at arm length from each other. Probably horn and move on, as everyone focus is still on making sure their work/business are uninterrupted.

We will hv issues if LTA allows more & more leisure space on road especially during peak/working hrs. Cyclists hv all the time to block cars at the expense of and also endangering other road users.

R6exR6

time for gov to implement COE for bicycles, more money into coffers why not?
better don't ... else cyclists will (i) have the right to ride on any lane, (ii) be more entitled and (iii) cause more traffic jam. at least now they only hog the left lane. lol

R6exR6

Very common on road bet cars & motorcycles when lane filtering, almost at arm length from each other. Probably horn and move on, as everyone focus is still on making sure their work/business are uninterrupted.

We will hv issues if LTA allows more & more leisure space on road especially during peak/working hrs. Cyclists hv all the time to block cars at the expense of and also endangering other road users.
I've only heard of drivers killing cyclists but never cyclists killing drivers ... 🤣

begintoend

👆
the lack of horn and proper speed and brakes is a not fit for road cyclists.
they dun even have fugking rear mirrors to check
seriously
there are many NOs for cyclists on road
but they are allowed on becos the gov and motorists are nice.
Cyclists jus dun fugking understand.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.