[GVGT] Camcar video of Katong incident

Zappalapa

driver already going towards her but she still jumped onto the bonnet thinking the driver will stop, and then taken for a wild ride. what an adrenaline pump experience!

driver did something that most ppl are tempted to do. u act siao lang people also can act siao lang.

KnyghtRyder

U forgot to quote the earlier preclause for the overtaking rule where it does not apply since driver Is filtering to the left at a junction.

Overtaking on the Right
61. This rule does not apply —
(a)when the driver in front has signalled his intention to turn right, in which case you can overtake him on his left;
(b)when you are filtering to the left before a junction; or
(c)when there is slow-moving congested traffic and the vehicles on your right are moving more slowly than your vehicle.

Also in the same act, the cyclist have infringe the following

35B. Avoid staying close to the rear of a turning motor vehicle or squeezing between the turning vehicle and the road kerb.

43. Always use the safest route, and keep out of heavy traffic as much as possible.
44. Always obey the law and observe all traffic rules. Never ignore road signs.

There are many instances where she squeeze between cars and road kerb.
Not applicable since this was not overtaking but turning..

begintoend

Not quite.. based on the relative speeds the car would have cut in to the path of the cyclist..
The bike wasn't going that slowly to have let the car enter comfortably.
Not quite. The car on mentioned "relative speed" shld have passed the cyclist by a bike length. The bike wasn't as fast and allowed the car could enter comfy comfy with the given berth for the cyclist.

ChinTuaKi

For what? One lane cannot have 1 bicycle + 1 car + 1.5 m gap between them. Obviously not wide enough!

when the car past the cyclist , the car and cyclist was turning left, the cyclist already in the slip lane.

so you are very sure there isn't a 1.5 m gap? u measured? obviously? so no doubt in there?

i didn't say there isn't a 1.5 m gap. But i also will not say there is obviously a 1.5 m gap.

so....YOU MEASURED???

TopGun

Not quite.. based on the relative speeds the car would have cut in to the path of the cyclist..
The bike wasn't going that slowly to have let the car enter comfortably.

No. The driver would had been considerably ahead of the cyclist given their relative speed, and to the side of the cyclist while making thar turn.

I would had done the same thing as the driver and pass the cyclist this way.

keenklee

when the car past the cyclist , the car and cyclist was turning left, the cyclist already in the slip lane.

so you are very sure there isn't a 1.5 m gap? u measured? obviously? so no doubt in there?

i didn't say there isn't a 1.5 m gap. But i also will not say there is obviously a 1.5 m gap.

so....YOU MEASURED???
IMHO.
The cyclist in question wants to be LTA enforcer.

begintoend

This 1.5m is abused by cyclist.
When coming to a stop, cyclist will have 0 qualms to come next to vehicle. When moving off, they demand 1.5m.
When they overtake a slow vehicle, they dun exercise 1.5m.
But when motorist overtake them, they take out their imaginary ruler that measures right down to the mm. :s13:

Ev0d3vil

This 1.5m is abused by cyclist.
When coming to a stop, cyclist will have 0 qualms to come next to vehicle. When moving off, they demand 1.5m.
When they overtake a slow vehicle, they dun exercise 1.5m.
But when motorist overtake them, they take out their imaginary ruler that measures right down to the mm. :s13:

Because drivers are protected in a metal box, they have no risk if a cyclist hits them.

R6exR6

Yeah, this is call Defensive Cycling.
May not be the middle of the lane, but at least stay off the double-yellow lines coz (i) inviting fast-zooming cars to squeeze past you and (ii) no time or space to react when an unsuspecting rock or drain grating appear on the lines.

moonlighter_sg

Your ang mo friend taught you this?
Now I remember my ang mo friend was talking about motocyclist. He was not talking about cyclist. It was a conversation very long time ago. Don't think he laughed at my back. He was an honest Catholic that I repect very much.

Defensive driving:

bike-armor.jpg

Xilangtao

Lucky Nicolette Tan is a lawyer, so she can waive her own fees. Which is probably why she’s so arrogant. Even after the lady apologised to Nicolette Tan for Nicolette Tan’s mistake, Nicolette Tan Shi-en still created a scene.
She lawyer meh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.