COE Car - Which Brand

buy porsche ba, they have the highest renewal rate
As usual from time to time got such joker reply like this . U are the number 2 described as below

blah
Aug 25, 2007
Add bookmark
Once in a while, a forumer will appear with details about his salary and expenditure and seek the advice of fellow HWZers about whether he can afford a car.

The answers will predictably fall into four categories.

(1) "Wah, you earn so much, can afford any car you like" (for any salary above $2.5k)

This type of answer is usually posted by non-working forumers like students or those serving NS, who think that anything above $1k is a lot of money.

(2) "I like honda civic type r because chio. u shld buy"

This type of answer is useless for budgeting, but simply for +1 purposes. Again, this type of posting is usually by students or those serving NS.

(3) "I earn $5k/6k/7k per month but still take bus and eat rice + tau you"

This type of posting is usually by a forumer who earns a fair amount, but thinks he earns a lot and wants to show off how financially savvy he is.

(4) "Singapore cars so expensive if I go live in USA/Australia/Europe/Africa/North Pole the cars are so much cheaper, women more beautiful, jobs plentiful and food is tastier"

These are postings by 'politically aware' (i.e. PAP bashing) Singaporeans who seem to think that their job skills will allow them to migrate easily to other countries to work, when they don't realise that their skills can be done by a Chinese/Indian at twice the speed and half the price.

peterchan75

Seriously, if want to own COE car, it's best to get common and popular cars e.g. Toyota. Based on my personal experience even Mazda will have spare parts issues after 10 years. E.g. Mazda back light water leak and service guy said no more spare part. I had to transparent silicon to plug the leak.

Thats why nobody should take up >7 years loan tenure. The interest is just too heavy. Car coys don't care about whether you can afford the loan or whether you can tahan for 10 years etc, they just want the sales.
After that is the finance coy's and your problem.

You will be lucky if by the time you want to sell, the COE would have gone up much higher than TODAY's $100k, then no problem. If the COE then have dropped, then you will be in trouble
Coe hard to drop unless suddenly govt come out and press on off Button to reset

Seriously, if want to own COE car, it's best to get common and popular cars e.g. Toyota. Based on my personal experience even Mazda will have spare parts issues after 10 years. E.g. Mazda back light water leak and service guy said no more spare part. I had to transparent silicon to plug the leak.
Is it true mazda drink petrol like mad? Curious

ksapple

As usual from time to time got such joker reply like this . U are the number 2 described as below

blah
Aug 25, 2007
Add bookmark
Once in a while, a forumer will appear with details about his salary and expenditure and seek the advice of fellow HWZers about whether he can afford a car.

(1) "Wah, you earn so much, can afford any car you like" (for any salary above $2.5k)

This type of answer is usually posted by non-working forumers like students or those serving NS, who think that anything above $1k is a lot of money.

This type of answer is useless for budgeting, but simply for +1 purposes. Again, this type of posting is usually by students or those serving NS.

This type of posting is usually by a forumer who earns a fair amount, but thinks he earns a lot and wants to show off how financially savvy he is.

(4) "Singapore cars so expensive if I go live in USA/Australia/Europe/Africa/North Pole the cars are so much cheaper, women more beautiful, jobs plentiful and food is tastier"

These are postings by 'politically aware' (i.e. PAP bashing) Singaporeans who seem to think that their job skills will allow them to migrate easily to other countries to work, when they don't realise that their skills can be done by a Chinese/Indian at twice the speed and half the price.

Gt type 5 anot ?

kidz

blah
Aug 25, 2007
Add bookmark

Coz TS only say which brand is reliable and good for renewal.

Nemesis_lane123

i see JHK car can drive for more than 10yrs and working well......if i want to buy a COE car, which brand/model can i consider? my friend told me Merc is the best option as very reliable even after 10 yrs.

anyone can share your thoughts on this? thank you
You can consider Honda. I am into 16th year. Also already standby another Coe honda from a relative to transfer to me at the 20th year mark of my current car.

Toyota also v gd. Mercs the former E200 were long lasting. Hard to say the present ones can last or not ?

But to note whatever car you get, best to do earlier maintenance and have a good maintenance schedule.

kidz

Is it true mazda drink petrol like mad? Curious
FC is definitely not in the same bracket as a Honda or Toyota.
As much as they try to say skyactive is great, as compared to a 2016 Mazda 3 vs an Altis or a Civic. FC is all around the same and Altis might be the best among the 3.

FC is definitely not in the same bracket as a Honda or Toyota.
As much as they try to say skyactive is great, as compared to a 2016 Mazda 3 vs an Altis or a Civic. FC is all around the same and Altis might be the best among the 3.
Ya..altis seems very good FC

ChenHoNam

If really want to get mazda. FC is the least of your concern.

A decent and entry mazda3 handling is much better than altis , vios, jazz etc.

focus1974

i see JHK car can drive for more than 10yrs and working well......if i want to buy a COE car, which brand/model can i consider? my friend told me Merc is the best option as very reliable even after 10 yrs.

anyone can share your thoughts on this? thank you

want to buy COE car.. better go for the atas brand.
at least you fix .. u feel more worth it.

So i would say go for at least a Porsche.

If cannot, then the lowest level you can go is ... Merc E, BMW 5.

ChenHoNam

want to buy COE car.. better go for the atas brand.
at least you fix .. u feel more worth it.

So i would say go for at least a Porsche.

If cannot, then the lowest level you can go is ... Merc E, BMW 5.
Waiting for the facelifted coe panamera to appear.

even then still a sizable outlay to fork out.

Ambergris

If you want safety and not to extravagant maintenance cost, go mercerlee or wolwo. Many siao lang driver out there, you don't langgah them, they more than happy to langgah you, need a cage for protection.

If on budget, toyota, the COE cars are using still using the well tested and highly reliable 20-30 yrs old technology, many say no innovations, but then, if not broken and proven reliable for decades, then why replace?Also easy spare parts and at reasonable costs.

Always standby at least $5k for some replacement parts for COE cars.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.