COE Car - Which Brand

focus1974

Waiting for the facelifted coe panamera to appear.

even then still a sizable outlay to fork out.
at least more worth it to repair and most people will not laugh at you for driving a COE car . Most people dont know new Porsche or old porsche... they just know it's porsche.

it's like u can buy used gucci or hermes. u will just choose the hermes.
coz gucci u can afford to buy the new ones and most people can.
but hermes is not.

madcampus

Toyota without a doubt!!! Cross to Malaysia tons of Vios running around also. Spare parts plenty. Mechanics all know how to service and repair.

ksapple

When driving you spend a lot of time staring or playing with the infotainment system? :o
tbh infotainment interest me more, i dun really care if the car speed 0-100 15 sec, me more interested in car gt tech anot.

I have license for so long but not interested in car cause me is not a petrolhead, i only recently interested in cars cause now more tech which gets me excited lol.

Mystyque

i only recently interested in cars cause now more tech which gets me excited lol.

I know right, the amount of tech now really make it exciting. Imagine you on cruise control at 90km/h then the electronics glitch, entire dash LCD blank out, anti collision not working, steering sluggish, brakes unresponsive and handbrake is just a button that has no effect, super exciting sia :crazy:

ksapple

I know right, the amount of tech now really make it exciting. Imagine you on cruise control at 90km/h then the electronics glitch, entire dash LCD blank out, anti collision not working, steering sluggish, brakes unresponsive and handbrake is just a button that has no effect, super exciting sia :crazy:
aiya dun need tech glitch, like what GM going to do liao, dun pay installment remote kill ur car.

swenson

tbh infotainment interest me more, i dun really care if the car speed 0-100 15 sec, me more interested in car gt tech anot.

I have license for so long but not interested in car cause me is not a petrolhead, i only recently interested in cars cause now more tech which gets me excited lol.
There are always aftermarket HU that can integrate well with existing car, some from taobao/aliexpress even better than stock units. Always good if u have a bit of DIY skills, otherwise ICE shops will give u face if u never buy from them...

kidz

if u buy a toyota, most prob there are 3rd party system to change to ba. my friend's 2006 camry also manage to change to those infiniti q50 looking screens w carplay

swenson

at least more worth it to repair and most people will not laugh at you for driving a COE car . Most people dont know new Porsche or old porsche... they just know it's porsche.

it's like u can buy used gucci or hermes. u will just choose the hermes.
coz gucci u can afford to buy the new ones and most people can.
but hermes is not.
Need to understand each individual's deep rooted reason for getting a car in the first place (COE or non-COE).

For show or for convenience? If latter, one don't really bother about other people laughing ya?

focus1974

Need to understand each individual's deep rooted reason for getting a car in the first place (COE or non-COE).

For show or for convenience? If latter, one don't really bother about other people laughing ya?

if for convenience, then you should go with the cheapest jap/kor car brand new type.

u know you will be INCONVIENCE when you buy a used COE car ? You will be going to the workshop more than a new car.

My own experience.. for the 2 years I renewed my Merc E. I went to outside workshop fix this and that... until i gave up. Lucky I fixed $20k, renewed at $37k. but can trade in at $70k++ coz of high COE now.

But the one who got my car is lucky.. It's swee swee already actually.

lifeisshort

i have been looking at different cars that fix into my budget......so far less than 10yrs, most cars dep are more than 12k or more (jap car).

For COE car, like merc.....dep is about 11k......that is why i am thinking of getting COE merc which is cheaper.....but concern about the maintenance and resale value.

As usual from time to time got such joker reply like this . U are the number 2 described as below

blah
Aug 25, 2007
Add bookmark
Once in a while, a forumer will appear with details about his salary and expenditure and seek the advice of fellow HWZers about whether he can afford a car.

The answers will predictably fall into four categories.

(1) "Wah, you earn so much, can afford any car you like" (for any salary above $2.5k)

This type of answer is usually posted by non-working forumers like students or those serving NS, who think that anything above $1k is a lot of money.

(2) "I like honda civic type r because chio. u shld buy"

This type of answer is useless for budgeting, but simply for +1 purposes. Again, this type of posting is usually by students or those serving NS.

(3) "I earn $5k/6k/7k per month but still take bus and eat rice + tau you"

This type of posting is usually by a forumer who earns a fair amount, but thinks he earns a lot and wants to show off how financially savvy he is.

(4) "Singapore cars so expensive if I go live in USA/Australia/Europe/Africa/North Pole the cars are so much cheaper, women more beautiful, jobs plentiful and food is tastier"

These are postings by 'politically aware' (i.e. PAP bashing) Singaporeans who seem to think that their job skills will allow them to migrate easily to other countries to work, when they don't realise that their skills can be done by a Chinese/Indian at twice the speed and half the price.
Moi not inside the categories
Jin emo

Mystyque

if for convenience, then you should go with the cheapest jap/kor car brand new type.

u know you will be INCONVIENCE when you buy a used COE car ? You will be going to the workshop more than a new car.

My own experience.. for the 2 years I renewed my Merc E. I went to outside workshop fix this and that... until i gave up. Lucky I fixed $20k, renewed at $37k. but can trade in at $70k++ coz of high COE now.

This helps to confirm those who cannot afford new European cars, more so cannot afford used European cars. :o

Mystyque

i have been looking at different cars that fix into my budget......so far less than 10yrs, most cars dep are more than 12k or more (jap car).

For COE car, like merc.....dep is about 11k......that is why i am thinking of getting COE merc which is cheaper.....but concern about the maintenance and resale value.

You go workshop one time for the COE Merc could bring your depre to more than $12K depending on how much COE left :o

focus1974

This helps to confirm those who cannot afford new European cars, more so cannot afford used European cars. :o

that was my 2nd car. I exchanged it for a new BMW X1.
my other car bought in 2019 ..is a new GLC coupe and i'm still owning it. I've got 2 cars.
My wife owns another BMW.

it's more of frugality.. it's like the car was doing all fine (just normal servicing for the 10yrs).. and car was very swee to me.. so i renewed.. but didnt expect swee swee.. all the wear and tear start coming in.

U never see landed properties.. got people drive very old toyotas also meh?

focus1974

Merc very good resale.
I think got a used car dealer here.. ratchiclite so something like that.
ask him.

For my CEO car , i traded in at $70-80k range as quoted by the ADs when i was buying my new car.

focus1974

Got, almost every day see :o
ya.. then i dont undderstand where your statement about unable to afford comes into play.

I also bought a set of AMG rims from a landed owner who also have a COE merc E ... while i was fixing my car.

swenson

Cheap jap/kor may not give the ride comfort or space utility that a person is looking for, everyone has different preference.

As for 'inconvenience' of COE car, that is the characteristics of all cars, regardless of make. The major parts will start to wear out at 80k, 120k, 150k etc
Based on average Singapore driving pattern of 12-15k/year, by 10 years, most parts would have needed replacement and most often than not, these car owners DO NOT maintain or change the essential parts and rather put off the servicing and/or sell it off by the 8th year or more.

Then it is up to the new owners (who buy the last 1-2 years and extend COE) to change it and then will complain the car here no good, there no good, everything need to replace etc.

Unfortunately not everyone is in a strong financial position to purchase a new or less than 10 years old ride and need to look into the COE market. The expenses that they 'saved' instead of getting a new ride would be spread over the COE 10 years in terms of servicing/maintenance, that the previous owner most probably did not go through with. At least it will be more manageable than higher upfront.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.