YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

d9_lives

I have been told by many raging parents that I am selfish for living a childfree life.

When asked the reason of them having kids, one of the popular answers has always been.....to have their kids to take care of them.
But yeah....I am the selfish one 🥴

Velton

Like that means selfish? It is just a personal choice. Can have kids if you like them. But for the dream of them taking care of you next time, don't depend on it.

revhappy

We need to view this parent vs child thing in an open perspective. Many would have argued both husband and wife enjoyed the child making process but wanted a child to complete the family. Unfortunately, the child couldn’t get to choose. Well, some turned out well and in the end, the child provides for the parents as they aged. Personally I think it is prudent and reasonable to plan for our future without relying on anyone. No one owns each other anything. Although olden Chinese would believe child is here to pay for their debts. Well, up to you to believe

I dont think we should expect for the child to provide for us, in this day and age. Having kid(s) is a huge responsibility and parenting needs to right. People who are up for this challenge should have kids. If in doubt have only 1 kid or 0 kids to minimize risk. For example, having 1 badly broughtup kid is better than having 3 badly brought up kids, lol.

After parenting is done right, then at the max we can expect our kid(s) to be there for us for emotional support at old age. Not really financial support. We should make sure we have plenty of wealth. But even with all the wealth in the old age, if you have to rely on the goodwill of strangers, then that is a bit of risk.

The ideal scenario is where you make plenty of wealth and you do proper upbringining so that kids are there to take care of you because it is right thing to do, and not because of some obligation or for inheritance.

It is a very tough challenge and luck plays a big part too.

elvintay07

I dont think we should expect for the child to provide for us, in this day and age. Having kid(s) is a huge responsibility and parenting needs to right. People who are up for this challenge should have kids. If in doubt have only 1 kid or 0 kids to minimize risk. For example, having 1 badly broughtup kid is better than having 3 badly brought up kids, lol.

After parenting is done right, then at the max we can expect our kid(s) to be there for us for emotional support at old age. Not really financial support. We should make sure we have plenty of wealth. But even with all the wealth in the old age, if you have to rely on the goodwill of strangers, then that is a bit of risk.

The ideal scenario is where you make plenty of wealth and you do proper upbringining so that kids are there to take care of you because it is right thing to do, and not because of some obligation or for inheritance.

It is a very tough challenge and luck plays a big part too.
I see 2 sides of the coin.
Example 1: Poor uncle
He once taught me. Just give birth to 5 children. Each of them eventually buy 1 BTO. Their family becomes multi millionaire

Example 2: Rich uncle
Ask aunt to stop working and try their best to nurture all children. Every day taught them values and all the good things.

30 years down the road, who will take care of parents remains unknown

revhappy

I see 2 sides of the coin.
Example 1: Poor uncle
He once taught me. Just give birth to 5 children. Each of them eventually buy 1 BTO. Their family becomes multi millionaire

Example 2: Rich uncle
Ask aunt to stop working and try their best to nurture all children. Every day taught them values and all the good things.

30 years down the road, who will take care of parents remains unknown
Bringing up 5 children is not easy. We need to spend time with them. Each of the will have their own passion and hobby and we as parents will have to accommpany them. Then there is chances of sibling rivalry developing between them, so you have to ensure that you are not comparing one against another and at the same time your attention will be focussed on the weakest one. It is a very complicated equation to manage. I really salute people who have like 3/4/5 kids and playing the balancing act.

In the past the logic was that if there are siblings they will play with each other and be there for each other. But now, everyone is glued to their own mobile phone/tablet. Since I have only 1 daughter, there is noone to compare her with. We kind of let her pursue her own passions and buy small stuffs which she wants. She like skating, badminton, chess etc, so we kind of try to support her in these activities.

elvintay07

Bringing up 5 children is not easy. We need to spend time with them. Each of the will have their own passion and hobby and we as parents will have to accommpany them. Then there is chances of sibling rivalry developing between them, so you have to ensure that you are not comparing one against another and at the same time your attention will be focussed on the weakest one. It is a very complicated equation to manage. I really salute people who have like 3/4/5 kids and playing the balancing act.

In the past the logic was that if there are siblings they will play with each other and be there for each other. But now, everyone is glued to their own mobile phone/tablet. Since I have only 1 daughter, there is noone to compare her with. We kind of let her pursue her own passions and buy small stuffs which she wants. She like skating, badminton, chess etc, so we kind of try to support her in these activities.
Actually my uncle theory is no need to take care one. Just like olden days. Just let elder take care of the younger. All go to neighbourhood school etc..expenses not high since no need to bring them for extra lessons. Just try their best

sohguanh

Actually my uncle theory is no need to take care one. Just like olden days. Just let elder take care of the younger. All go to neighbourhood school etc..expenses not high since no need to bring them for extra lessons. Just try their best
His theory is similar to my grandfather theory. And he say ger no need study so high. Time ripe go marry give birth kids. Boy if cannot study then no need study go work earn monies. If can study see got monies no monies also same go work.

Those theories actually work but disadvantage those who really can study but forces to terminate and go work earn monies asap.

elvintay07

His theory is similar to my grandfather theory. And he say ger no need study so high. Time ripe go marry give birth kids. Boy if cannot study then no need study go work earn monies. If can study see got monies no monies also same go work.

Those theories actually work but disadvantage those who really can study but forces to terminate and go work earn monies asap.
Agree. many of them sign on, join public sector so still ok. Like peaceful peaceful work, buy BTO, give birth and the cycle continues. As long as one is willing to give birth, got chance to have a scholar.

wira

Just calculated, realized it's true.. if I refunded OA the amount I used for housing +accrued interest, will reach 1M by 50 too. That's total of all 3 CPF accs though. However I have no intention to refund CPF OA, also may retire before 50, so I won't have 1M50 anyway
yeah only way to get 1M50 in CPF is provided you do not use your OA for housing.
Else most ppl OA is quite low in order to purchase property

d9_lives

yeah only way to get 1M50 in CPF is provided you do not use your OA for housing.
Else most ppl OA is quite low in order to purchase property
Only way? Nah....
Using my OA for housing, I still on track to hit 1M before 50y.

Oldnerd79

Only way? Nah....
Using my OA for housing, I still on track to hit 1M before 50y.
You must be good at investing or made money from flipping property? I wish I can be better at stock picking, till now my net p/l is still negative for my CPF OA investments...

d9_lives

You must be good at investing or made money from flipping property? I wish I can be better at stock picking, till now my net p/l is still negative for my CPF OA investments...
No and no.
Just got myself out of the deep meme hole and I'm still living in my 1st hdb.

wira

No and no.
Just got myself out of the deep meme hole and I'm still living in my 1st hdb.
wow care to advice how you reach 1M50 ? did you top up $8K every year since you start working ?

i add up all my SA + OA + OA used for housing ...still long way to go. only start topping up yearly in my 40s

hwmook

wow care to advice how you reach 1M50 ? did you top up $8K every year since you start working ?

i add up all my SA + OA + OA used for housing ...still long way to go. only start topping up yearly in my 40s

I tally all my OA including those used for housing, SA and MA. I got 550k at 40 without any top up so 1M50 is definitely possible especially with top up.

wira

I tally all my OA including those used for housing, SA and MA. I got 550k at 40 without any top up so 1M50 is definitely possible especially with top up.
D9 can achieve 1M50 excluding his OA used for housing.
thats impressive i think as housing OA would at least amount to $200K-$300K

hwmook

If he bought a BTO many years back at 300k with his wife and used only 150k for OA for housing then I don't see why not.

creatrixnator

Smh at parents who gave birth with hope that their kids will take care of them when they're old.
I dun think I want my son or daughter in law to carry me to toilet or to change my bedpan if I need that kind of care. I think it will be more of “oversight” that I’m not being poisoned by the help or assisted living

d9_lives

Yes, bto many years ago.
Been paying 5xx/month each.

We're in our late 30's, both my wife and I have >400k each in cpf, NOT considering amount used for loan.
Just add ave. 50k/y to cpf (cont. + Interest - loan) for 10y.

Unless my math is wrong, how can 1M50 be difficult?

limster

Yes, bto many years ago.
Been paying 5xx/month each.

We're in our late 30's, both my wife and I have >400k each in cpf, NOT considering amount used for loan.
Just add ave. 50k/y to cpf (cont. + Interest - loan) for 10y.

Unless my math is wrong, how can 1M50 be difficult?

probably those jobs where there is zero employer contributions - like Grab drivers/delivery.

In 2024 Grab and others will be forced to make CPF contributions for those under 30. But platforms can give with one hand and take away with the other, so end up those under 30 will be less 'favoured' by the platform in terms of incentives etc- the less they earn, the less CPF contributions Grab has to make.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.