Recommendation: Reliable workshops in JB

xcore69

Cannot.. our IU unit is visible to them 😁 usually I'll park a distance away, walk to workshop ask the price and confirm the price.. and then drive my car to them hehhe
haha, and did you find any differences in pricing? need to have JB slang when asking them? :ROFLMAO:

galliano

Keen to change my 205/55/16 tires in Johor. And notice you guys recommend Hawk Tayar (Tyre) quite a bit.
I’m just looking for low-cost & reliable.
So how does this work?

1. I order via Hawk’s shopee page
(https://shopee.com.my/Goodyear-Tyre...10&xptdk=21946e6f-2e89-48bb-8fd4-6df77c7feb10)

2. Then just head down to the respective outlet for change

Is this what you guys do?

(Found Yokohama ES32 in SG for $100/pc)

funky05

haha, and did you find any differences in pricing? need to have JB slang when asking them? :ROFLMAO:
Yes definitely higher when they know you're a SG plate car... I don't stick to a regular workshop cos what I realize is that the regular workshops tend to "makan" you after a few months / years of regular visit... They know that watever price they quote us, we will pay cos of the trust and rapport build + we won't go to another workshop to counter check the price... So I kenna a few times like that - partly due to their greed or change of workshop management (dad retired, son takeover etc)

So nowadays, I'll just go to different workshops at whichever area I am for grocery or errands.

funky05

Keen to change my 205/55/16 tires in Johor. And notice you guys recommend Hawk Tayar (Tyre) quite a bit.
I’m just looking for low-cost & reliable.
So how does this work?

1. I order via Hawk’s shopee page
(https://shopee.com.my/Goodyear-Tyre...10&xptdk=21946e6f-2e89-48bb-8fd4-6df77c7feb10)

2. Then just head down to the respective outlet for change

Is this what you guys do?

(Found Yokohama ES32 in SG for $100/pc)

I ask for detailed prices from hawk (if includes new valve, installation, balancing, alignment, YOM, SST etc)

Sometimes the price differs within hawk branches

Once I'm comfy with the price, I'll tell them which date I'm coming and get my tyres installed.

PS: I've never ordered from hawk shopee before

galliano

I ask for detailed prices from hawk (if includes new valve, installation, balancing, alignment, YOM, SST etc)

Sometimes the price differs within hawk branches

Once I'm comfy with the price, I'll tell them which date I'm coming and get my tyres installed.

PS: I've never ordered from hawk shopee before

Thanks..
Anyway, figured since i‘m only looking for basic tires. Just swapped out 04 @ Alexandra.
Paid $110/pc for Hankook Kinergy ECO2.

xiaozhi86

Thanks..
Anyway, figured since i‘m only looking for basic tires. Just swapped out 04 @ Alexandra.
I just change at hawk tyre recently. Same size as you. I paid 1k RM for goodyear f1 sport which is only malaysia have. It's a 2021 manufacture tyre and it's a brand new tyre. come with free alignment too

xcore69

Yes definitely higher when they know you're a SG plate car... I don't stick to a regular workshop cos what I realize is that the regular workshops tend to "makan" you after a few months / years of regular visit... They know that watever price they quote us, we will pay cos of the trust and rapport build + we won't go to another workshop to counter check the price... So I kenna a few times like that - partly due to their greed or change of workshop management (dad retired, son takeover etc)

So nowadays, I'll just go to different workshops at whichever area I am for grocery or errands.
haha that's a good idea, I usually go in pretty late so my choices of workshop very limited.

On a side note, anyone knows if its better to install front and rear camera in Sg or Jb? Sometimes for wiring/electricals, heard that better to do in Sg?

myviowner

haha that's a good idea, I usually go in pretty late so my choices of workshop very limited.

On a side note, anyone knows if its better to install front and rear camera in Sg or Jb? Sometimes for wiring/electricals, heard that better to do in Sg?
I did most of electrical and servicing stuffs for cars in JB, only during MCO, LL do car cam in SG.
Since custom opened, always head in back to the usual workshops and audio shops. In SG, mostly done by Malaysians also, not much diff in terms of skills but price diff alot.
Buy your fav cam and get it installed in JB or just let them do up all the stuffs for you.

myviowner

Thanks..
Last changed a set of Tourado tires when AL bgt into sg. I think still one of the cheapest mah.

myviowner

As long as cheaper than SG, you saved liao. Unless is big ticket items, then do homework before on them. You change workshop to workshop for what repair/ servicing? Usually now, they have a price list before you on them also. How to they "makan" you sia..

My case into 4th ride, normal engine oil filter replacement, bring own parts and pay labour between RM 30 - RM50, non conti ride.
If feel lazy, go in JB, buy from stockist and head to workshop at Permas Jaya.

xcore69

I did most of electrical and servicing stuffs for cars in JB, only during MCO, LL do car cam in SG.
Since custom opened, always head in back to the usual workshops and audio shops. In SG, mostly done by Malaysians also, not much diff in terms of skills but price diff alot.
Buy your fav cam and get it installed in JB or just let them do up all the stuffs for you.
where would you recommend to get car cam installation?

TeddyYeo

Can check if I want change parts/repair car, do I need to go to separate workshop or is there any good workshop in Johore that can do the following

1. Tyres, maybe Rims as well
  2. Consider to repair some cracks and deep scratches with spray paint and also wrapping of entire car
    • For wrapping, do they help to repair existing deep scratches, crack before wrapping?
  3. Battery
  4. Parts, air filter, engine filter, wiper (got the parts)
  5. Body kit (front grill, not sure if can get inside or need to buy first then bring it in)
  6. Car plate

gnixer

Is it true that nowadays stone chip on car the workshop all tell people to resorts the whole panel?

this must be pretty insane if you got stone chip on different sides of the car

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.