FIRE (Financial Independence, Retire Early) Movement

DevilPlate

I've been contemplating this issue recently. Toxicity within an organization is often a result of the individuals we interact with, and it can have a significant emotional impact on us. Many times, we endure these situations primarily because of financial or career advancement considerations. There's also the fear of the unknown, as we may worry that the grass won't be greener on the other side or that starting anew elsewhere will be challenging.

However, once you've achieved Financial Independence (F.I.), these concerns no longer hold the same sway. Ideally, we should be able to shift our mindset regarding toxicity because we should no longer be emotionally affected. While the people may still exhibit toxic behavior, it's as if you've built a protective shield around yourself, rendering their actions irrelevant to your emotional state. Consequently, you can cultivate a more pleasant work environment even when dealing with toxic individuals.

What do you'll think?
Actually come to think about…it really depends on one’s job scope and the size of the team (And also % of toxic members)

If yr job requires alot of human interaction and balls carrying to get things done, then still goto continue wearing mask and fake it till u retire/quit.

wira

Actually come to think about…it really depends on one’s job scope and the size of the team (And also % of toxic members)

If yr job requires alot of human interaction and balls carrying to get things done, then still goto continue wearing mask and fake it till u retire/quit.
actually largely depends on your boss.
if your boss is not toxic and supportive of you, can just ignore those toxic colleagues and focus on your work

revhappy

if your boss is not toxic and supportive of you, can just ignore those toxic colleagues and focus on your work
My company is the typical Asian style management. They don't care about actual output, but they want people to come to office on time, be in office 3 days a week, sometimes even 4 days a week and then we have to work on stuff which don't add value, but we just need to show the management that we have achieved some new stretch KPI, just to get promotion and good hike. So in my company you can be mediocre and rise to great heights, if you are a yes man and if you do exactly what your manager says, without questioning.

My skills are poor and most people in my company skills are poor, so they put up with this bull$hit. Really talented people won't stay in my company.

I am not really good in technical skills and I don't want to keep upskilling, so I have to also put up with this $hit.

DevilPlate

Job scope…..

If u only got yr boss to answer to…easy life….js need to carry their balls well hahahaha
If u need to work with various depts or doing client servicing role, endless toxic possibilities whahahaha

chong18

That's why I chose the FIRE path and made this conscious decision that I would rather stay here, relax and not upskill and become outdated but as a hedge I accumulate enough that I can afford to quit and retire early. I know very few people will choose my path, so this makes us the exception and part of the FIRE community.
We are very similar, I didn't put in much effort to build my career or upskill probably because subconsciously I didn't want to make it too difficult to leave my career when I have to return home to care for my elderly parents. So I'm kinda stuck in my current job and either wait till I'm ready to FIRE or get retrenched, whichever comes first.

DevilPlate

We are very similar, I didn't put in much effort to build my career or upskill probably because subconsciously I didn't want to make it too difficult to leave my career when I have to return home to care for my elderly parents. So I'm kinda stuck in my current job and either wait till I'm ready to FIRE or get retrenched, whichever comes first.
"Lie flat" syndrome is nothing new actually whahaha.

It has always been around for centuries :ROFLMAO:

kickass22

My company is the typical Asian style management. They don't care about actual output, but they want people to come to office on time, be in office 3 days a week, sometimes even 4 days a week and then we have to work on stuff which don't add value, but we just need to show the management that we have achieved some new stretch KPI, just to get promotion and good hike. So in my company you can be mediocre and rise to great heights, if you are a yes man and if you do exactly what your manager says, without questioning.

My skills are poor and most people in my company skills are poor, so they put up with this bull$hit. Really talented people won't stay in my company.

I am not really good in technical skills and I don't want to keep upskilling, so I have to also put up with this $hit.
"so they put up with this bull$hit."

Putting up with "********" from different parties becomes easier when you know you have hit F.I.

Is that true for you?

kickass22

Job scope…..

If u only got yr boss to answer to…easy life….js need to carry their balls well hahahaha
If u need to work with various depts or doing client servicing role, endless toxic possibilities whahahaha
That is the env. I come from, global and local toxicity heh. But putting up with them, whoever they are becomes easy when you know you have reached your F.I.?

DevilPlate

That is the env. I come from, global and local toxicity heh. But putting up with them, whoever they are becomes easy when you know you have reached your F.I.?
The key is u still need to put up with all the shyt no matter how ridiculous or petty they are.

As long one can tahan and don't bring back those emotions back to home, then OK regardless u have reached FI anot.

I can imagine if someone already amass enough f u money, likely they would js resign, take a break and decide what to do next. Restore mental health is utmost importance especially it is affecting their personal life as well.

elloz123

The key is u still need to put up with all the shyt no matter how ridiculous or petty they are.

As long one can tahan and don't bring back those emotions back to home, then OK regardless u have reached FI anot.

I can imagine if someone already amass enough f u money, likely they would js resign, take a break and decide what to do next. Restore mental health is utmost importance especially it is affecting their personal life as well.

yea lol. How someone puts up with toxicity over boredom is beyond me.

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

What role and which company you are in? Are they hiring? :o

boroangel

That's why the race towards financial independence is so important when you are a salaried worker, once you have reached that and the FU money is secure, you can stop being political at work to a certain extent, mind your own business, and can say no to your colleagues and boss without needing to fear anything.

The freedom to speak up for what you believe in at work without this fear of losing your job, will greatly reduce the repressed feelings of toxicity at work. Say what you want, and if people don't want to listen, just document it and wait for things to degenerate if they don't listen.

My main concern now is when T-bills and Fed interest rates start decreasing over the next years, need to react and have an alternative strategy to generate constant cashflow (like the 3 local banks, some Reits etc, hence am going to research deeper into reits and gain knowledge as part of the transition).

sohguanh

Financial independence to me is simple. I no need to feed and support ppl. I only need to feed and support myself period. Govt just raise the CPF contribution cap means I get lesser take home pay but employer will find me much more expensive as they need contribute on their end too. So everyday I pray when can I no need to feed/support other ppl? Once that hurdle is crossed, I will throw letter liao since my monthly spending so little and with all the monies saved/invested over the years I can handle the inflation no problem.

highsulphur

Financial independence to me is simple. I no need to feed and support ppl. I only need to feed and support myself period. Govt just raise the CPF contribution cap means I get lesser take home pay but employer will find me much more expensive as they need contribute on their end too. So everyday I pray when can I no need to feed/support other ppl? Once that hurdle is crossed, I will throw letter liao since my monthly spending so little and with all the monies saved/invested over the years I can handle the inflation no problem.
Need to at least feed your wife

revhappy

That's why the race towards financial independence is so important when you are a salaried worker, once you have reached that and the FU money is secure, you can stop being political at work to a certain extent, mind your own business, and can say no to your colleagues and boss without needing to fear anything.

The freedom to speak up for what you believe in at work without this fear of losing your job, will greatly reduce the repressed feelings of toxicity at work. Say what you want, and if people don't want to listen, just document it and wait for things to degenerate if they don't listen.
In my experience it is not so binary. You need a lot of luck also. I have been in my company for 8 years. Ist 4 years the boss was chill, he never troubled me. I used to slack, go home for lunch and spend 2 hrs and then leave office at 5AM. I used to come to office at 8:40-50AM and people thought I come it at 8Am lol. So the manager was chill and my work life was chill, but I didnt get any hikes or promotion.

Then my manager quit for greener pastures and my colleague who was super political and ambitious guy became my manager. I hated him, because he gave me a lot of work. He used to call me at time of the day or evening, during covid wfh and then put pressure of me to deliver. So I went from slacker to a slogger. But this manager also pushed me for promotion and got me good hikes in 2 years. Then this manager also quit for greener pastures.

Now my manager is also another colleague, but this guy is relatively okay doesnt trouble me much, I still do the same amount of work, but since I did it for the last 3 years, so it has become easy for me. Also my profile and dignity in my company has improved because I now interact with so many people. This new manager also has promised to give me promotion and hike and he really needs me because I am doing stuff which he is responsible for, but he also doesnt no to do.

The people in my company are all nice people there is no toxicity. But the boss higher up is the typical Asian mentality, wants to see the office full of people, he becomes very happy. I still reach office at 8:40-8:50Am and then leave at 5PM, lol.

I've been contemplating this issue recently. Toxicity within an organization is often a result of the individuals we interact with, and it can have a significant emotional impact on us. Many times, we endure these situations primarily because of financial or career advancement considerations. There's also the fear of the unknown, as we may worry that the grass won't be greener on the other side or that starting anew elsewhere will be challenging.
However, once you've achieved Financial Independence (F.I.), these concerns no longer hold the same sway. Ideally, we should be able to shift our mindset regarding toxicity because we should no longer be emotionally affected. While the people may still exhibit toxic behavior, it's as if you've built a protective shield around yourself, rendering their actions irrelevant to your emotional state. Consequently, you can cultivate a more pleasant work environment even when dealing with toxic individuals.
What do you'll think?
Once I did my sums, and realised that I have set aside enough to jump ship if I really want to, there isn't the same pull to stay on any longer. I am only putting it off for now because of the fear of cognitive decline if I retire too early. Many of my retired acquaintances shared about the boredom that they feel on most days, so I am still contemplating my next move. Thanks for your sharing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.