[Starhub] iPhone 15 (Pro) availability and discussions [No Sales/Trades/Flip]

256 natural titanium.

$75.37 per month. $22 plan with caller id additional.

delivery expected 22september.

now my StarHub app showing 2 SIM card under the same number .why Ah? Will this new phone line enjoy any hub club or broadband combo discount?

kimsix

256 natural titanium.

$75.37 per month. $22 plan with caller id additional.

delivery expected 22september.

now my StarHub app showing 2 SIM card under the same number .why Ah? Will this new phone line enjoy any hub club or broadband combo discount?

all discounts and rewards gone for this stupid plan.

dont see any benefit for consumers

even the pay by instalments, will not counted as credit card spend rewards.

kimsix

Won’t count for Uob one $500 spent or Uob evol online spent ?

yes long time already instalment no longer counted. somemore this is under sh own paylater scheme, banks lagi wont entertain. :o

seems sh combined monthly fee and phone instalment into 1, so all gone.

hear say, if you have instalment plans with your cc, banks less likely to waive annual fees

Boiijek

Most of their 256GB variants are OOS. I wonder if thats all their stocks or if there will be a refresh on 22nd when 2yr plan customers try to order.

Imagine trying to order on 22nd and all you see is "out of stock" hahahaha loyal customers be damned

evoram

should have ah... if u watch their pattern past 2 years they always release more stocks after a few days of the pre order and will release more on launch day as well. maybe cancellations or receive more stocks via apple..

despair

Really terrible user experience with this Star Plan thing. So I pivoted my mum’s line into the $30 5G Star Plan from 4G postpaid (testing water) and managed to get the iP15PM model I was looking for, on launch day. But although the transition into Star Plan took place almost instantly, I had also checked the option to get a new 5G SIM card issued, and this is where the issue happened.

My parents are going on a one month cruise on Tuesday, and the 5G SIM card will only deliver on Friday. I thought I could just wait till my parents came back, but there is a 14 day activation window for the 5G SIM. And if you don’t activate the SIM card within this timeframe, THE ENTIRE PLAN IS CANCELLED. WTF. And he could not even tell me what happens to the line after that. I gather that it means not only will my mum have zero access to her mobile line overseas, she will also lose her phone number entirely once the plan is cancelled. And the best thing about the Star Plan is all the details are not accessible by the 1633 Helpdesk CS officers and also the StarHub Shop staff. Means the ONLY way to get support is via the live chat on the app. I had to wait more than half an hour in the chat before a live agent actually came in, and then I spent an hour chatting with the agent with zero ability to resolve my issue. He said there was no way they could cancel the SIM card request on their end, no way for them to separate and edit the sim and equipment delivery, and no way for them to edit the dates on their end. I was the only person that could do any of that, and because the SIM request and equipment purchase was in one order, there’s no way for them to separate it on their end either. So basically I was told the only solution was to delay the delivery until my parents’ return to Singapore was within the 14 day activation window.

This is unbelievably counterintuitive and coupled with the fact that this is essentially a prepaid plan disguised as a sim only plan, I absolutely don’t understand why StarHub is prioritising the iPhone purchase to this group of customers instead of the postpaid 2 year contract group. And while I had already bought the roaming package for her on the StarHub line, I ended up having to purchase an additional travel eSIM and roaming service for her so that she will continue to have access to data at least, when I am forced to activate the 5G sim locally and deactivate her active 4G sim in order to preserve her number.

lunar980

So thanks to the stupidity of myself... I thought Star plan was just another name of Mobile Plan that I was already using.... So without checking, I proceeded with the pre-order of the iPhone 15 Pro... Only to realise afterwards, it is a standalone plan and my number got ported out of Family Hub. When asked to convert back or cancel the deal, I was rejected... I'm not a Starhub user, I just used my mother's number to recontract.. Not only I paid the full amount but I no longer enjoy the discount and mobile plan... I'm so screwed... Spent entire afternoon talking to all channels of Starhub but to no avail... Only option is to port out to other telco then port back to the Family Hub... My goodness....

anhiuyon

i checked with starhub first n they say once u go to star plan, its not their business anymore.
everything u wanted to do is only through chat including change sim card and cant do anything even if u go down n ask/change anything etc.
cant switch back to easy go, cant retain number after cancel cant do anything.

even the staff said better to just come down on 22nd to reccontract be it 2years plan or easy go plan

u will be stuck n pay the price for 2 years
so decide carefully if u really tat desperate for the phone

even last year i just went down on launch day in the morning for iphone 14pm no q at all and they have all models/colours/sizes available n done in 10mins

lunar980

Something that I should have done before I pre-ordered the phone... But I can't do **** about it... All I can do is the porting out and in to the Starhub Plan.... I got to absorb everything....

anhiuyon

How is this benefit the starhub as a Telco?
i think its mainly aiming for new subscribers who is desperate for ip15 n dun mind paying extra $30 per mth for 2years on top of intallment for the phone.

in the end telco stil win

despair

i think its mainly aiming for new subscribers who is desperate for ip15 n dun mind paying extra $30 per mth for 2years on top of intallment for the phone.

in the end telco stil win
It isn't an extra $30 a month if the line is an actively used one though.

garychengjw

nani? star plan not under starhub? its not their business??
i checked with starhub first n they say once u go to star plan, its not their business anymore.
everything u wanted to do is only through chat including change sim card and cant do anything even if u go down n ask/change anything etc.
cant switch back to easy go, cant retain number after cancel cant do anything.

even the staff said better to just come down on 22nd to reccontract be it 2years plan or easy go plan

u will be stuck n pay the price for 2 years
so decide carefully if u really tat desperate for the phone

even last year i just went down on launch day in the morning for iphone 14pm no q at all and they have all models/colours/sizes available n done in 10mins

anhiuyon

It isn't an extra $30 a month if the line is an actively used one though.
oh tah i forget abt tat
but tat is also if u dun mind recontract to star plan n get kick out of starhub. quite a hassle to get back into starhub while retaining number after 2years

but i guess for desperate peeps paying extra $30 per mth for 2years to 100% secure phone is not a bog deal to them

anhiuyon

nani? star plan not under starhub? its not their business??
yah from wat the staff told me. once get in star plan is like tio kick out of starhub liao.
everything regarding line n charges n phone is not their problem. have to call in another hotline or chat liao.

despair

More accurately, I think they outsourced the entire operation of Star Plans to some third party. And because it's essentially a prepaid plan, the charges exist outside of Starhub's existing billing system as well. But the SH social team has finally given me the correct information after I KP on their FB page that the SIM activation requirement only applies to new plans, not switched plans. So my mum's line wouldn't be terminated simply because the 5G SIM wasn't activated.

naruto13

More accurately, I think they outsourced the entire operation of Star Plans to some third party. And because it's essentially a prepaid plan, the charges exist outside of Starhub's existing billing system as well. But the SH social team has finally given me the correct information after I KP on their FB page that the SIM activation requirement only applies to new plans, not switched plans. So my mum's line wouldn't be terminated simply because the 5G SIM wasn't activated.

phrase it as a 3rd party mvno using starhub brand and plan might sound more similar to what u explain

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.