[GPGT] Overseas Travel Discussion and Chit Chat Thread

Whirling_Dervish

yea u can try the one i recommended in my edited post here

Wow, that looks really good!

Okay, I have totally marked it down on my to-do list, and I'll let you know if the standard is still there! :s13:

Cityinn III ar?? Yea, nice clean place and not expensive..Wonder if they still have hourly rates..

Last time go there, wife, me and my friend taking lift up then friend press wrong level, door open can hear moaning sound damn loud.. :s13:

They have adult videos one(Not sure bout now)..

Hmmm I booked mine on Booking(dot)com because it was the same price as the hotel's website! There was only a nightly rate then and no hourly rates.

I didn't really hear any noises of that nature, but probably because I was knocked out cold when I laid on the bed due to sheer exhaustion! :s13:

Hmmmm the only adult videos I saw in the hotel were just adults arguing with each other on the numerous political talk shows :s13:

I found it quite interesting to see so many political debates and talkshows on Taiwanese television. I'm not sure if I pressed the wrong buttons, but out of 10 television channels, 7 or 8 were political talkshows arguing about some egg crisis/scandal or local news channels talking about some weird local happenings. I could not find any channels with movies or the like.

canteen0101

Whirling_Dervish

don't restrict yourself to night markets. u can try the 虱目鱼 (milkfish) soup at various places in tw like Kaohsiung's cijin island

https://ksdelicacy.pixnet.net/blog/post/70181808

location: https://maps.google.com/maps/contrib/104329544843815936217

I'll try that the next time I'm in the area!

I didnt visit the south of Taiwan because of the risk of Typhoons during the dates that I was travelling.

But what is there to do in Kaohsiung? I would like to visit, but I'm not sure what is there to do.

Quite surprised u never tried smelly tofu, or u dun like?

I'm not a fan of that.

It's quite tasteless to me.

Gixxerfied

Wow, that looks really good!

Okay, I have totally marked it down on my to-do list, and I'll let you know if the standard is still there! :s13:

Hmmm I booked mine on Booking.com because it was the same price as the hotel's website! There was only a nightly rate then and no hourly rates.

I didn't really hear any noises of that nature, but probably because I was knocked out cold when I laid on the bed due to sheer exhaustion! :s13:

Hmmmm the only adult videos I saw in the hotel were just adults arguing with each other on the numerous political talk shows :s13:

I found it quite interesting to see so many political debates and talkshows on Taiwanese television. I'm not sure if I pressed the wrong buttons, but out of 10 television channels, 7 or 8 were political talkshows arguing about some egg crisis/scandal or local news channels talking about some weird local happenings. I could not find any channels with movies or the like.

Last time i go, is book direct on their site, no see hourly also..But at front desk, got sign and also on the digital/LED signboard outside..Maybe they clean up their image liao, last trip there was 9 years ago.

I use to watch Taiwanese news on tv at home, sometimes more interesting than SG news.. :s13:

Cityinn II/III side by side..Cityinn Plus over at XMD..Cityinn I i think also around Taipei Main Station area..

Next time can consider Eastern Side...Quite chill place..

Edit: Found old picture from my travel album.. :s13:
2HORd4m.jpg

canteen0101

I'll try that the next time I'm in the area!

I didnt visit the south of Taiwan because of the risk of Typhoons during the dates that I was travelling.

But what is there to do in Kaohsiung? I would like to visit, but I'm not sure what is there to do.

I'm not a fan of that.

It's quite tasteless to me.
eh during Typhoon season Taipei will also be affected leh... tw is not that big, a medium-sized tropical storm will cover the entire island's length+breadth...

anw, there are loads to do in Kaohsiung, like climbing the hill at Foguangshan to see the scenery from above, and climbing up a slope to reach Kaohsiung Lighthouse, can see a sea view of Cijin harbor. Idw to upload photos to 跟你抢风头 in your thread but trust me, these 2 places in Kaohsiung have the best sceneries.

Whirling_Dervish

Still living :s13:

How are you doing? Been a while since I saw you here!

Are you hunting for tw hawker food? :s13:

Enjoy your Taiwan trip!

I'm well, thank you!

Hmmmm I had to adapt to many changes in my life, like relocating to a whole new city (where I had neither kin or kith) for work, and travelling between Singapore and Perth to spend time with my Family Friend's son and his family, as part of the agreement.

It is physically very tiring to fly almost every other fortnight.

On the other hand, I'm working more humane hours now (about 40 hours a week), but that almost means that my salary has been effectively halved. So I have to actually tighten my purse strings nowadays :s13:

Hmmm I'm actually back in Perth, but yes, I tried a bit of their local street food, but I actually spent more time in their eateries and restaurants!

Last time i go, is book direct on their site, no see hourly also..But at front desk, got sign and also on the digital/LED signboard outside..Maybe they clean up their image liao, last trip there was 9 years ago.

I use to watch Taiwanese news on tv at home, sometimes more interesting than SG news.. :s13:

Cityinn II/III side by side..Cityinn Plus over at XMD..Cityinn I i think also around Taipei Main Station area..

You still there??

Hmmmm...I didn't see any signs like this outside or inside the hotel. Maybe they have cleaned up their act! :s13:

I think Taiwanese news is more interesting than Singaporean news because they love to sensationalise it. Like I remember watching a news segment on how a local grandmother fell on the ground because the road was made too steep or something, and this was replayed over a few days by several news outlets in almost every city I had been to. :s13:

Yes, there are like at least 3 CityInn Branches, and honestly, I was very impressed by their service and amenities, for the price I paid.

Nah, I'm back in Perth now :s13:

Gixxerfied

I'm well, thank you!

Hmmmm I had to adapt to many changes in my life, like relocating to a whole new city (where I had neither kin or kith) for work, and travelling between Singapore and Perth to spend time with my Family Friend's son and his family, as part of the agreement.

It is physically very tiring to fly almost every other fortnight.

On the other hand, I'm working more humane hours now (about 40 hours a week), but that almost means that my salary has been effectively halved. So I have to actually tighten my purse strings nowadays :s13:

Hmmm I'm actually back in Perth, but yes, I tried a bit of their local street food, but I actually spent more time in their eateries and restaurants!

Hmmmm...I didn't see any signs like this outside or inside the hotel. Maybe they have cleaned up their act! :s13:

I think Taiwanese news is more interesting than Singaporean news because they love to sensationalise it. Like I remember watching a news segment on how a local grandmother fell on the ground because the road was made too steep or something, and this was replayed over a few days by several news outlets in almost every city I had been to. :s13:

Yes, there are like at least 3 CityInn Branches, and honestly, I was very impressed by their service and amenities, for the price I paid.

Nah, I'm back in Perth now :s13:

Yup, their service is very good.. See my edited post, found the led board picture from my album.Front desk last time can take condoms so i guess they clean up liao.. :s13:

Their news can repeat many times one until it can become abit boring.

Whirling_Dervish

Next time can consider Eastern Side...Quite chill place..

Edit: Found old picture from my travel album.. :s13:
2HORd4m.jpg

Hmmmmm I can't remember seeing this message, but is NTD530 cheap for an hour's stay?

eh during Typhoon season Taipei will also be affected leh... tw is not that big, a medium-sized tropical storm will cover the entire island's length+breadth...

anw, there are loads to do in Kaohsiung, like climbing the hill at Foguangshan to see the scenery from above, and climbing up a slope to reach Kaohsiung Lighthouse, can see a sea view of Cijin harbor. Idw to upload photos to 跟你抢风头 in your thread but trust me, these 2 places in Kaohsiung have the best sceneries.

Oh, I heard that normally the southern parts will be affected, and normally the northern parts would be spared!

Ah I see, how long do you recommend staying in Kaohsiong?

Oh and please feel free to share your experiences and photos here! This thread isn't about me, and I'm really keen to learn from your sharings, and to live vicariously through your photos and experiences :s13:

If their comment are of admiration just thank them for their kind comments I suppose.

Thank you for your kind comment! :s13:

canteen0101

not just news but all taiwanese entertainment in general are sensationalised. i think i'll remember these 3 taiwanese phrases even when i'm on my deathbed with alzheimers: 超大,超夸张,超好吃的

Gixxerfied

Hmmmmm I can't remember seeing this message, but is NTD530 cheap for an hour's stay?

Oh, I heard that normally the southern parts will be affected, and normally the northern parts would be spared!

Oh and please feel free to share your experiences and photos here! This thread isn't about me, and I'm really keen to learn from your sharings, and to live vicariously through your photos and experiences :s13:

NT530 hourly yes but that was in 2011 thou..

Hualien's 七星潭 but dont go during summer, friend went = chao tar come back..

SfIIpa4.jpg

Tony.Manero

Learn fast. Will check in for further updates and pics.

Whirling_Dervish

not just news but all taiwanese entertainment in general are sensationalised. i think i'll remember these 3 taiwanese phrases even when i'm on my deathbed with alzheimers: 超大,超夸张,超好吃的

Exactly! What were these phrases pertaining to?

I usually like to watch the content of the local television of the countries which I travel to, but I really felt that it was too boring to watch the same old news segments over and over again, so I just watched Netflix most of the time :s13:

NT530 hourly yes but that was in 2011 thou..

Ah I see.

Personally, if I was an office worker and wanted to sleep for an hour, I would just go to a cinema and book a movie and just sleep there for an hour instead. And it is much cheaper (probably half of that?), and you just need to bring your own eyeshade and noise-cancelling headphones :s13:

thank you zehzeh for sharing!!

It's my pleasure, and thank you for reading it! :s13:

alfonsoyy

As long as overall u r happy & contented with it can liao.

canteen0101

how long ah.. hmm depends how many places u wanna cram in your itinerary lo. for me i did a 4-night stay at a boutique hotel in KH but one of the day, i took a HSR all the way to taichung and changed to a coach to travel up hehuanshan + cingjing... highly NOT recommended to follow my way if u wanna visit these 2 highland places cos the amt of time spent on the journey would take up about half your day or more... maybe can stay a night or 2 in taichung if u wanna go hehuanshan + cingjing

kaohsiung also has some night markets like liuhe and ruifeng. ruifeng was closed when i was there but it doesnt look as big and happening as liuhe. the Shinkuchan Shopping District used to be more vibrant back during pre-covid times but nowadays still can buy some youth fashion stuff there la. surprisingly i bought the most wu hua and trendy clothes/shoes at Taipei's wufenpu and shilin night market.

nah, really dun feel like stealing limelight from EDMW's no.1 goddess. later ppl hantum me how

Jiakholiao

can check out Shida Night Market in Taipei - popular with the uni students/young adults crowd

can try Fengjia Night Market for wide variety of food if you are going to Taichung

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.