Hi, is anyone going for the recent Suntec REIT perpetual 3.8% issue?
you are so rich? 250k 1 lot you can afford to buy?
Hi, is anyone going for the recent Suntec REIT perpetual 3.8% issue?
usually i buy perps and bonds, i hold till the cow comes home.
2.4% sounds like a reasonable yield. but look at the numbers closely. you put in 101.8k, you get back 102.4k two months later. only 600 profit in 2 months for a 100k investment is nothing to shout about in the stock market.
i have been playing dbs mother share. i played it right a number of time this year. my trading gain is 3k+ on a principal of 20k.
again i played it right. if you do not, then it is going to be bad. yes, with your style you will never lose.
another thing to note is 2.4% over 1 year is not bad yield. 2.4% over 2 months is not so great. i have to go find more idiots to trade foolishly to find a place to put my money for the other 10 months of the year.
it is not that i do not trust bonds and perps. i have $40k of dbs perps which i held from day 1. it is just that if i want to trade, i do not trade in bonds and perps. anyway,
everyone has their own strategy. there is no right or wrong answers, just opinions
cheap and good..last time me spend few Ks to buy computer from established brands....no more liao. ok sorry off topic hor.I suppose i play on a wider bandwidth. small profit or big profit in dollar terms, to me still profit.What guides me has always been yield.
Actually wholesale bond can also be traded. 2 months back me bought the NTUC Income bond and within 3 weeks exit at a profit of 8K. The trick is to know which wholesale bond will trade above water after IPO and which will sink or even keel.
for DBS NCPS play, Yep. is coffee money profit with money locked up for just 45 days nia. After 2 way costs, net profit is a miserly $300 but dont forget the same money if put in savings account at 1% for the same length of time gives about $125 nia. $175 profit not too shabby la for what is essentially the same level of near 0 risk.
i used most of my 'coffee money' profit to buy parts to build 3 computers for my kids......few hundred dollars for each comp can achieve Frame rates more than 100...
cheap and good..last time me spend few Ks to buy computer from established brands....no more liao. ok sorry off topic hor.
like i said not right or wrong, just opinions.
yes i know what it is like when you got a good deal. you just want to share your happiness. no problem to do it here

the comp parts were bought at normal prices...no special deal. but only few hundred bucks to combine all the parts into a playable machine compared to lower specs offered by established brands at higher prices.
last time me dont even dare to open up a CPU,...these days just tear it down la.![]()
the yield went to negative territory for dbs NCPS back then. also at that time bank have not announced call back. Volume was oso bigger. thats why me guessed market maker.
for temasek, yesterday the 1.06 only has 18000 shares transacted; most likely retail chap.
me picked up more DBS NCPS some 2 weeks back when it is giving about 2.4% yield to call...someone offloaded more than 1K shares at around 101.8....my fishing rod caught most of it.....u sold all liao or keeping some till call?

sold 30% for fun, balance coming home next month. And pick a bit back for tiny return![]()

yep. 'coffee money' bro...go Mcdonalds can upgrade to cappuccino instead of drinking regular.![]()

Sifu. Must kio at what price in order to make some kopi lui leh?![]()

depends on your platform fees...as long as
what u pay + interest cost < $10,235 u will have kopi money. The interest cost is what u would have gotten from bank savings had u not partake in this trade.
but i think no more stock liaoz sis. today got people buy at $102.39. imagine buy at $10,239 to get back 30 days later at $10,235 and this one haven even include trading cost yet.![]()

Nice! About time too! Can re-invest in T-bill!Matures tomorrow 25 October 2023.
It's called inflation. Many years ago S$100K was worth much more (in real purchasing power) than S$100K is worth today.Many years ago, I was able to buy only $100k of SGS bonds through stockbroker website....
But $10 K also can then. In 2004.It's called inflation. Many years ago S$100K was worth much more (in real purchasing power) than S$100K is worth today.
And you still can when it's a retail bond.But $10 K also can then. In 2004.
What's MBH?And you still can when it's a retail bond.
However, what you didn't have in 2004 (nearly 20 years ago) is low cost funds for Singapore dollar bonds. Now you do. You can invest as little as S$100 (2023 dollars) in MBH, for example.
Thanks.
Wait for new SGS in 2024 lor.Many years ago, I was able to buy only $100k of SGS bonds through stockbroker website.... and even able to sell $10k in 2004.
Now I see minimum of $250k
No money to buy.