Mother and 3 week old baby found dead at the foot of a Housing Board flat on Sunday morning

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

qhong61

I suppose both are 90s ppl, 33yo. Maybe they weren't so prepared for wats coming, at least psychologically.
33yo not young
My niece 1992, her hubby 1991.
Have first child four years ago.
Second child two yrs ago.
Third child coming after cny soon.

Odessa

Happened at Block 29 Ghim Moh this morning (3 Dec). This is the 2nd case in a month. Mum has postnatal depression

20231203351585372m6a9606_0.jpg

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20231203-1453878?ref=sidebar-realtime
Post natal depression

My friend had it and almost wanted to jump down also.
This is terrible.

craybia

This is terrible.
Yah previously my friend said she didn’t understand why people would have depression and she thought you just have to be “strong” and “get over it”.
After her first child she said her hormones were all messed up and she couldn’t function and was so depressed and now she understands that it is not just a matter of “getting over it”.
mental health issues are real.

anonym

Boomer generation time totally no support from any organisations ley (don't think there are even any organisations then ), only among themselves, not strawberry generation where they only stretch out their hands to demand.

ps Boomers time, all the children and DIL will stay in the family, so people is always around to land their support and help, even their doors are open, neighbours will come in and out, so there are always人气。

Our current generation all wants privacy, all wanted their own apartment, at least some distance away from the parents. Moved into an area with strangers, so doors are mostly shut and all keeping to themselves. From here the emotionally is already significantly different from the past.

Thats why boomer gen dont have right support and education, bring up strawberry gen. Now strawberry gen have to correct it, dont make the same mistake. No money, no time, no support, better not have kids.

Many boomer gen probably jumped off with their babies but last time no Tiktok so nobody know.

When half the population is not Singaporeans, obviously no sense of home. Still think our national doors not wide open enough?

MegatonNev

Yah previously my friend said she didn’t understand why people would have depression and she thought you just have to be “strong” and “get over it”.
After her first child she said her hormones were all messed up and she couldn’t function and was so depressed and now she understands that it is not just a matter of “getting over it”.
mental health issues are real.

ah... this reminds me of the book I read...
Option B...
basically about a woman who had a rich husband and wrote an earlier book, Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead, to kpkb about why other women are failing in their career...

then her husband suddenly died and she went through a very tough period and realize that some women failed not because they don't work hard enough etc but because of their situation and came up with Option B to talk about how wrong she was and how to overcome grief....

still... she's relatively rich from her own career and her husband insurance money so she's way better than a lot of people who went through similar situations....

MegatonNev

Thats why boomer gen dont have right support and education, bring up strawberry gen. Now strawberry gen have to correct it, dont make the same mistake. No money, no time, no support, better not have kids.
Many boomer gen probably jumped off with their babies but last time no Tiktok so nobody know.
When half the population is not Singaporeans, obviously no sense of home. Still think our national doors not wide open enough?

I think the biggest thing is the shift in culture and behaviors of the society... we expect things to perfect, smooth running and without issues...

but parenting is all about making mistakes... and most of the kids grew up under mistakes that their parents made...

but as parents, as their experiences in managing kids increase, they allow certain mistakes to continue as it's something that they can live with and maybe help their kids in their future...

plus I believe in nature more than nuture....

Ambergris

No ley, strawberries are from the westerner wannbes Millennials:LOL:

qcubesg

So I just received a Warning with points from this forum on the comment I made. Does It not prove my point how fragile some people are?
Sympathise with you but i dunno what post u made. Can u quote it? I think singaporeans aka sinkies, known to be perfectionists as they all strive to achieve straight As in their academics!
Must get all A grades for everything. If they get D grade macham want to die cos this society in sg very competitive and about face value. Must get A grade and must stay minimum 4rm flat or else lose face type of false expectations.
People living in 2room hdb may even have assets worth over half a million$ , it is not about what house you live in , it is more on are you healthy and have a clean and warm home?

AndroidComa

i just wonder could it be mothers who give their 1st birth into their 30s are at higher risk of post natal depression?

any stats?

Canis Lupus

No mah. You said need War world 3 to reduce the among of human. So die is better than being enslaved?
To me it's best not to bring any more into existence to not experience death and neither being enslaved. :unsure:

V_for_Vanilla

Sympathise with you but i dunno what post u made. Can u quote it? I think singaporeans aka sinkies, known to be perfectionists as they all strive to achieve straight As in their academics!
Must get all A grades for everything. If they get D grade macham want to die cos this society in sg very competitive and about face value. Must get A grade and must stay minimum 4rm flat or else lose face type of false expectations.
People living in 2room hdb may even have assets worth over half a million$ , it is not about what house you live in , it is more on are you healthy and have a clean and warm home?
My post appears to be removed. But you can still see it under message number 229 by member energyi5's quoted reply.

sweetlife20

A case in 2021:

"SINGAPORE — A mother who could not cope with caring for her infant daughter and was worried about work died after a fall from height, taking her five-week-old daughter with her.

Prior to her death, she had mentioned quitting her account executive job while she was pregnant as she felt stressed. However, her husband told her that feeling stressed at work was normal and that she "should be thankful that she still had a job during the COVID-19 period", according to findings."

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/amphtml/m...ommitted-suicide-baby-state-coroner-070643452

Not saying all postpartum depression is caused by work stress.

It's usually too many factors building up.

Mummy physical pain at bottom (natural birth), tummy (c section), chest (for lactation), lack of sleep, hormones, lack of support, care-less hubby, etc.

If still got add on Work Stress..
You can imagine.

How many singles or youngsters nowadays study or work stress alone ald depression or wanna gg ald.

It is really no wonder chiobu or dinobu should marry richer generous hubby.
This is nature natural selection whether you like it or not.

Bbfa should wake up from endless jjww thread if you can't even work harder to be sustainable for family like a man.
Dating, marry is a a commitment that affects many ppl around you, it's not all about sexy sexy sexy. If you don't everyone around you also suffer (you, parents, inlaws, partner, baby, society) just because anyhow marry no planning etc.

Even anyhow marry if foundation is not stable, the baby and mummy Standard of Living SOL also lousy. Mummy need stress work and money etc. If not end up divorce, kid also won't be in complete home.

Milodrink

i just wonder could it be mothers who give their 1st birth into their 30s are at higher risk of post natal depression?

any stats?

Young mums 20+ u also can argue they too strawberry ownself also a kid no wonder cannot handle stress.

Plus hormones is hormones, u don't experience that preggy hormones drop so its hard to imagine. But can study what is hormones. Your horny hormones also cannot control etc.

Think the main thing is having good support.

It's the same why some ppl study or work also can depression suicide like some Korean celebrities etc. There are environmental factors and uncontrollable hormones. Age is just a number. If any, likely older ones usually also more life experience to neutralise stress abit more.

C_boliao

Honestly i do not know why it happens. Unless she receives no help from husband n family. If all the help is there and supportive husband, why depression?

Pearce

To me it's best not to bring any more into existence to not experience death and neither being enslaved. :unsure:
If people thinks like you, then more and more people won't give birth, population decreased. And then less and less people do different work (mining, farming, growing vegetables, growing fruits etc) and we won't have rice to eat, no vegetables to eat, no fruits to eat and many more.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.