is it stupid to go korea for holiday for 2 weeks?

ipaq4444

I find this time of the year (ie winter) is too cold and daylight hours too short to fully enjoy Korea unless you’re going there to ski.

Would rather go to countries in the southern hemisphere now when the weather is nice and the daylight hours are long (eg Tasmania, New Zealand).

Korea is best enjoyed during spring and autumn

where will be your go to holidays for march, june and sep?

doratch

Next time shall try these too!
Lots of it heard before but not tried before.
Some never heard, shall go find out more and try next time there!

Sound delicious!! - Bingsu, soybean noodles, walnut cream cheesecake!
And miss the marinated crabs quite a lot, but we tried marinated raw prawns and actually liked it more than crabs!!

I love the GongCha in Korea too.

They have lots more varieties too.

I will drink one every day, which is something that I don't do in SG. I hardly had any BBT in sg.

BlackStar00

Dunno why all friends who travelled there complaint about the food. Me hear liao quite hesitant to go. My purpose of travel is to enjoy wide variety of nice food.

If go there and the food sucks, 2 weeks will be a torture.

I'm there now, coming back in a couple of days.

All I can say is their food is actually really good. But u need mix and match also la, esp their jap food also good and their western fusion is also good.

If not keep eating also sian. But ur at a disadvantage if u don't eat spicy stuff.

samloi

Seoul then move south to Busan then move across to fukuoka

Yes... I struggle with Korean food too

shaff12

I love the GongCha in Korea too.

They have lots more varieties too.

I will drink one every day, which is something that I don't do in SG. I hardly had any BBT in sg.

wow! din know they have differnt varieties there!
next time will go check it out if i visit again! ;)

indeed, their flavors are quite unique sometimes!
last trip there, i tried their peanut butter latte. really surprised with the taste! very nice!

shaff12

Seoul then move south to Busan then move across to fukuoka

Yes... I struggle with Korean food too

whats with korea food that people struggle with... :s13:
i am a fussy eater, but i enjoyed every meal there so far when we were there!

BlackStar00

As actually what I'm amazed is the density of the FnB.....it's crazy.

It's like the entire map is populated with food. Siao one.....if in SG, confirm compete then close down liao.

iammole

What I am confused with is the amber flashing traffic light, even after we came back already, we still not sure if we were supposed to move or stop on amber flashing lights...

omg!! :cautious: :cautious: :cautious: :s22: :s22:

But southern is the more crowded area right? Since near airport.
Ya, I find there starbucks merchadise really quite nice, too bad also not cheap.

How's the airbnb experience?
Is it those high rise apartment or like those like on ground floor kind of villa?
I just googled. Flashing amber means can still go but proceed with caution. I wonder after I comes back, will kenna how many tickets.

Airbnb quite ok, but do note the price is in USD. Just don't put expectations too high then will be ok. Pros is Airbnb usually has washing m/c. And I look specifically has dryer + free parking. SE I stayed at Ocean Star (condo style), whole unit sunset view. I prefer high-rise.

Starbucks bobian expensive i just buy, coz don't think will go again. It's the speed limit that deters me from going back. The place 50km away but takes u 1.5hrs to drive.... Pui saliva at their endless speed camera at 30km, 50km, 70km.

Kakaomap also abit puke blood. Search always can't find. Coz e.g "hand-soap" versus "handsoap" makes a difference. Had to frequently cross reference with Googlemap... But it's super accurate on the endless road humps.

samloi

A couple of things. I have problems digesting the rice there, end up constipation. I don't see much salad or fried vege, so have to rely on the little bits of vege or preserved food for fibre. Some of the ulu place I go have no english, end up ordering some raw meat dish...... I solo most of the time, so fried chicken and bbq is a no go....

ParkJinYoung

I'm there now, coming back in a couple of days.

All I can say is their food is actually really good. But u need mix and match also la, esp their jap food also good and their western fusion is also good.

If not keep eating also sian. But ur at a disadvantage if u don't eat spicy stuff.
Finally someone who knows.
In Korean, their kor, Jap, western, bakes/pastries are all very good

shaff12

It's really really good.
If u try their salt shio pan, puts the Japanese to shame

feel like korea really outdo japan in many areas these few years!
simple things like instant coffee... i tried japan brand i bought from donki, taste like ****...
but the korean brand kanu maxim etc, i tried in korea, really much better than jap brand blendy!

ParkJinYoung

feel like korea really outdo japan in many areas these few years!
simple things like instant coffee... i tried japan brand i bought from donki, taste like ****...
but the korean brand kanu maxim etc, i tried in korea, really much better than jap brand blendy!
Even shopping is more fashionable in Korea

Mystyque

I chose 2 places to stay via Airbnb, NE and SE area.

After 7days fly TW.

Self drive. But it's really painful to drive in Jeju. City speed 30-50km/h. Outskirt 70km/h. I only seen once 80km/h in mountain....

Black pork is over rated. Almost every meal I was served grilled mackerel. So far I only liked their traditional rice cake and some unknown BBQ stuff. I don't know why they LOVED to torch your food before serving.

Maybe because you picked places that torch your food? :s13:

I was in Jeju for a week last year and IIRC only one of the meals at a BBQ place had torched food and grilled mackerel.

Mystyque

Kakaomap also abit puke blood. Search always can't find. Coz e.g "hand-soap" versus "handsoap" makes a difference. Had to frequently cross reference with Googlemap... But it's super accurate on the endless road humps.

I remember the endless warning on Kaokao Map :s13:

Mystyque

Wow.

This is out for me. This kind of packed schedule is so tiring until when I was back in SG, I felt that I was not rested at all. I was even more tired traveling than while I was working.

Same, I don't enjoy those packed schedule one. To me, holiday should be go relax and chill. Every day wake naturally, maybe have only one specific location to hit but not compulsory. if along the way see something interesting, just divert and try. After dinner, go back hotel, piak and sleep :love:

Sadly, my waifu has different preferences :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.