Chelabela: Korean father-daughter hawkers serve homemade Korean food like army stew and tteokpokki in Ang Mo Kio

wat do u think?

• looks nice to me!

Votes: 16 57.1%
  • definitely a no for me.

Votes: 13 46.4%

• Total voters

iam7377

i once spoke to a korean client...

he invited me over for drinks.

said he got KR daughter, but daughter here in SG got Citizenship liao... daughter got SG bf. he like not happy with the BF said he dont like to hear english at home (that time he was abit tipsy liao)

makes me wonder if KR are like JP people, like abit inherently racist
Then how u communicate with him?
In Korean?

yokine3a

but if we say we are proud of our culture.. certain ppl will say we xenophobic
You will realise these ppl stop saying that during national day. When they need our votes, they will say sinkies are best, after they won the election, they won't see us up till next 5 years.

justln

This place is nearer to Yio Chu Kang MRT than Ang Mo Kio MRT and it's not even close. :s13:

Nearest MRT is Lentor and it's still 13 mins walk away. Only for nearby residents or if you drive.

zheng

looks nice?!

5e5d17f874a570e74d8d3f03e192bfcf

https://sg.yahoo.com/style/chelabela-korean-father-daughter-hawkers-050008731.html

It’s rare to find authentic Korean food in Singapore, especially in the hawker scene, but Chelabela changed the game in 2017 when the Suh family, who were born and raised in Korea, opened their hawker stall in Marsiling.

The Suh family made the move to migrate from Seoul to Singapore in 2006. While the family’s two children, Chela and Lino, enrolled in the local education system, the patriarch of the family, Chin Won, decided to embark on a career in the hawker trade.

Chin Won had no experience in the F&B business— back in Seoul, he was a logistics manager for a printing company. “He was wondering what he could offer to Singaporeans, and faced with a language barrier, he felt that being a hawker was the best thing he could do at that time,” shared Chela.

Chelabela - storefront

After seven to eight years of intensive R&D, which included patronising Korean eateries in Singapore, coupled with help from his family, Chin Won developed his recipes from scratch and finally opened his first Korean stall in a food court in Tiong Bahru.

The stall has made several moves since then— Yew Tee, its well-loved two-unit stall at Marsiling, and finally its present location at 603 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5.

What I tried at Chelabela

While Chelabela is most known for its expanded menu in Marsiling, with over 22 authentic Korean dishes ranging from bibimbap to budaejjigae, you might notice that its menu in Ang Mo Kio is much smaller.

Despite the occasional help from his family (such as Chela, who helps out as a cashier on weekends when she’s not in school), Chin Won is the only one manning the stall. Thus, to cater to the lack of manpower, its Ang Mo Kio menu features only six main dishes and four side dishes.

Chelabela - army stew

The first thing that I got was Chelabela’s Army Stew (S$18), which came in a large silver bowl and was accompanied by two bowls of white rice.

Chelabela - army stew broth

Don’t belittle its simple and no-fuss appearance.

This Army Stew tastes like home-cooked comfort food— it was relatively light on the salt with a light, velvety and drinkable texture, but it was packed with a good depth of savouriness from the beef bone broth. I could taste a hint of gochujang and a pleasant milkiness from the melted cheese.
future of sinkie hawker food are all this nonsense liao

SquallLH

CCP Wang Yi say liao, "Don't forget where you came from".:whistle:

KRs say they got Genghis bloodline which conquered Han chinese, not the other way round hor :s13: That's why KR men so manly and KR bus so good at horse riding

rtfm38

i once spoke to a korean client...

he invited me over for drinks.

said he got KR daughter, but daughter here in SG got Citizenship liao... daughter got SG bf. he like not happy with the BF said he dont like to hear english at home (that time he was abit tipsy liao)

makes me wonder if KR are like JP people, like abit inherently racist
Common knowledge leh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.