Bedok chwee kueh will go back using previous smaller size mould after numerous complaints

andyhtc

wait long long, even when raw food material price have been dropping, no business has adjusted down their prices to reflect that. Profiteering at best! Of course they will give you other excuses other costs increase.

I buy my home cook food ingredients directly from the wet market. The prices only have one direction which is up. Hence, for hawkers, there is no way their raw costs come down.

Hawker food is very competitive. I don't think many are out to profit a lot. If hawker prices are up, I have to accept that their costs have gone up.

koster

They're just lazy not wanting to spend more time and effort digging the chwee kueh out of the metal moulds therefore they make a big one instead.

This tradition (chwee kueh) has been around for decades. My take is, if you want to make it big size then dont call it chwee kueh. Call it Wah Kueh instead.

Lazy max. Might as well make it pail size. 1 pail sell $100.

Kiwi8

"We will soon be changing the size of the BIG bowl to the previous SMALLER size once the moulds are ready. Thank you for the support!"
This is the classic case of kiang jiu ho mai kay kiang. :s22::s22::s22::s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:

The old small mould worked just fine. Most people do not want big mould zhwee kueh. If want to eat more can order more of the small sized kueh.

amekago

think the move to big one make economical sense. Being this kind of container is difficult to wash because it sticky and starchy after scrapping out the kueh.
For every 5 small now wash 3 big one instead. For the person washing its also easier and wash less.
They no iron in them to stick to 3 big one. Actually if their taste remain the small 3 big one or 5 small one doesnt make much difference la.

obviously they lost a lot of biz if not y would they spend money to revert back again

as pointed out by some, changing the size changes the 口感 , so there is a difference

spinex

use a big rectangle tray. cut it like yam cake. less headache

of cos can but its more extreme already and likely more unacceptable to most customers.

See 5 small change to 3 big (price remain same i suppose) sinkies for a $2 food also can kpkb citing flour is cheap. Yes the cost is low but the manpower cost and low price mean they make money base on huge turnover.

Say their manpower cost plus food, rental cost ..etc only $0.70 . They make $1.30 per $2. Base on percentage and margin indeed very high.

But to make good money they need to sell a lot. Imagine 1 day sell 100 set only .. $130.

Anyway free market force decide. People feel too ex not worth it just dont buy or go buy from shops they deem cheaper and better. Kpkb for a mere $2 food for what.

thyler_koh

Please lah , listening to customers complaints is the last thing all the owners will do nowadays . Most likely they will make it smaller to increase the price and profit margins. Now where got integrity ? What is integrity? Can eat ?

tortoise18

Just charge more la. Chwee Kueh suppose to be small, so big hard to eat.
End up become Chwee Cake size.

2s7a1341.jpg

u3vz0k2e1zla1.jpg
Wtf is this. Following the croissant trend??
I like the chwee kueh at jurong hawker. I tried bedok cw is hard the small version.

iceblendedchoc

I buy my home cook food ingredients directly from the wet market. The prices only have one direction which is up. Hence, for hawkers, there is no way their raw costs come down.

Hawker food is very competitive. I don't think many are out to profit a lot. If hawker prices are up, I have to accept that their costs have gone up.
dunno what you eat but my home cook food ingredients got cheaper

Monstruo^

Just charge more la. Chwee Kueh suppose to be small, so big hard to eat.
End up become Chwee Cake size.

2s7a1341.jpg

u3vz0k2e1zla1.jpg
Hahahah. So big until become not so appetizing riaos imo :o
Small small cute cute then nice

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.