Iphone photo numbering is a mess!

cet87

Decide to copy the photos from iphone to backup HDD.
opened the folders and notice the photos are not in order. some is recently and some older photos but all displayed side by side.

View from iphone is in order sequence. never have this problem with android phone.

zueinder

Any iphone fanatic can enlighten if there's any good way that IOS has to organize the photos?

eno_lc

I usually just copy from the phone to my pc and it’s sorted by date within the individual folders

mooseolly

I pull all the files out of all the folders then sort by date. I also don't understand why they keep creating new folders.

Monstruo^

Another problem ish the photos and date and time all is created based on the day you imported the photos. How to resolve this issue?

Meaning your photo ish taken on Jan 1 2023, then let’s say today Dec 26 2023, you import in today, the photo’s created date ish also today, not Jan 1 2023.

eno_lc

Another problem ish the photos and date and time all is created based on the day you imported the photos. How to resolve this issue?

Meaning your photo ish taken on Jan 1 2023, then let’s say today Dec 26 2023, you import in today, the photo’s created date ish also today, not Jan 1 2023.
You use windows import? Just do a normal copy paste better I think

kebinu

just use photos?

Monstruo^

You use windows import? Just do a normal copy paste better I think
Same thing happened for windows and mac

Found a lot people asking the same when I did a google search about this

eno_lc

Same thing happened for windows and mac

Found a lot people asking the same when I did a google search about this
For windows dun use the import function. I had issues when using it, instead just do a normal copy and paste, jus like copying any other files

Monstruo^

For windows dun use the import function. I had issues when using it, instead just do a normal copy and paste, jus like copying any other files
Hmm I remember I tried so many ways until exhausted liaos :o I will try again with the method you mentioned in the next import.

LIN_JOEL

Got another powerful issue, not sure izzit I copy halfway hang or simi.

A file can be named eg. 111 when u copied over and I copied again in another folder after it failed, file named 111 is another photo with different file size....

I always double check when I copy and if failed, I will delete the whole folder and copy from iPhone again.....

I realized this when I run properties to show the total number of files and size, it does not match....

Monstruo^

did a test, date created = added.

so I just organize my photos via the app, or rather, I don't organise my photos at all.
I cannot leh, I organize my photos and videos into folders nice nice one. If iPhone like that, it is very hard to organize as every import = the date itself :s13: You wouldn’t know when is the original date the photos and videos were created.

ghregular

iphone also can haolian auto image video slides with wonderful music for u but cant avoid the toilet scene you captured!

Monstruo^

yah the date created ish an issue~~~~~~~
I went to google search many many results, SO many people have this problem; even until now year 2023 still haven’t resolved :o :s13: Apple their staff ownself sometimes got reply on Quora or what they also replied people and said mybf, it is set that way. I also went to research on YouTube all these also mybf. :o

So I just 认命,when I import photos, after import liao I quickly created new folders on external hard disk with the original dates (check the original dates of the photos on phone), before I completely deleted them off from the phone. Very mafan lah. I use huawei their naming convention nice nice one YYYYMMDD + time, no such problem. Can even import entire month of photos and videos. iPhone one must manual manual.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.