Haizzz car breakdown in Cameron Highlands

hammerhammer

my c180 broke down at Taman sentosa, it was late at night 11pm+.
instead of towing back to half bridge and changing to sg tow truck, decided to park the car there and get a local contact for workshop which is more convenient.
the workshop arranged for a tow truck the next working day
How much you pay? Straight across or half bridge?

BlackStar00

I can imagine your sianness...... somemore urs is big daiji.

Tat day I went in JB for day trip with my family on xmas, I parked the car and went into Aeon Tebrau.

15mins later while eating lunch, received notification on app saying tyre pressure low. Walan knn, jitao no mood eat lunch.

My car no spare, so end up using tyre repair kit, inflate and go nearby autobacs. Luckily beside the mall got big Autobacs open. Managed to get it fixed while the kids are playing in indoor playground.

hammerhammer

Final leg home.

20240101-154646.jpg

20240101-155711.jpg

mp4005 help

isn't the root cause not doing preventive maintenance before going for such trips ?

normal long distance or up genting , Cameron highlands , check brake fluid or replace , brake pads / discs , engine oil , tyres, etc.

before most road trips beyond JB , people do send their cars to check everything.

oOsiMm

TS how far u walked up back to MIL house? like seriously in the dark and cold at Genting slopes.

yesman2978

Why kumgong rent sg car go msia?
S plate cannot pump cheap petrol, and attract unwanted attention from thieves and 'thirsty' polis. If car missing, hoseh, pay until pants drop.

Somemore rent atas car that few workshops can service.

Go jb rent proton, cheaper, can blend in, can pump 95, parts are cheap and plentiful.

hammerhammer

isn't the root cause not doing preventive maintenance before going for such trips ?

normal long distance or up genting , Cameron highlands , check brake fluid or replace , brake pads / discs , engine oil , tyres, etc.

before most road trips beyond JB , people do send their cars to check everything.

Brake booster how to check? Either it's working or not. Dun have any service interval like change oil. Fluid pads etc

hammerhammer

TS how far u walked up back to MIL house? like seriously in the dark and cold at Genting slopes.
Drive back up. Worst then genting road. Pitch dark and 2 lane only one up one down. 1 hour just to cover about 40km from down hill to the first town ringlet.

Screenshot-20240101-170554-Maps.jpg

hammerhammer

Why kumgong rent sg car go msia?
S plate cannot pump cheap petrol, and attract unwanted attention from thieves and 'thirsty' polis. If car missing, hoseh, pay until pants drop.

Somemore rent atas car that few workshops can service.

Go jb rent proton, cheaper, can blend in, can pump 95, parts are cheap and plentiful.
Mine is phv rental car. I rent car for earning not leisure.

oOsiMm

Drive back up. Worst then genting road. Pitch dark and 2 lane only one up one down. 1 hour just to cover about 40km from down hill to the first town ringlet.

Screenshot-20240101-170554-Maps.jpg
Wow ...really suay but new experience

kyokoto

After countdown decide to head back home. Halfway down hill suddenly brake failure. No phone signal so no choice have to climb back up to my mother in law house.

Managed to arrange tow truck from Ipoh to come in the morning to tow back to JB then JB back to Singapore.

Total cost RM1900 from Cameron Highlands to Johor and SGD 250 from Johor to Singapore.

Lesson learn. Always arrange a tow truck nearby to tow back Johor then get someone from Johor to tow back to Singapore as the local towing will be more familiar with your breakdown location and they usually dun do cross border towing services. Get a few quotes. 1st guy quote RM2500 2nd guy more honest quote RM1900. Also need to check price is nett inclusive of toll. And lastly important to speak melayu cos both guys are malay. Lucky my wife's Malaysian.

1st day of the year bad start. Haizzz....

OK rant finished. Wish everyone a happy new year.
If you frequent Malaysia, why dont consider signing up for Automobile Association of Singapore Membership? Anyway this is not a bad start to 2024, its how to view this incident. I might even dare to say this is a blessing in disguise and a good start! Your brake failure but you walked away unscathed, thats a very very good tradeoff. Maybe God helped you, force you to bring your car to workshop for inspection and change of necessary parts to prevent loss of life. $800 towing fee to save your life not worth it ah?
What special car need to tow back to SG? Ipoh no car workshop??
Wait go Msia workshop, strip the car, gone liao.

nachtsid.er

Brake booster how to check? Either it's working or not. Dun have any service interval like change oil. Fluid pads etc
Your workshop buaygan. Usually for hybrid they have specialised equipment to plug into vehicle to check for signs of premature failure .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.