I rented the whole unit of an apartment, is it right the the landlord claimed the CDC vouchers?

Kunkka

I believe the owner has the rights to the voucher as the tenants may just be temporary occupants of the apartments.

Likewise, when owners received rebateS for utility bills and town council monthly fees, the owner has the right to keep these and still charge tenants for their monthly utility usage accordingly.

Owners are liable to pay for income tax, property tax and also monthly maintenance fees/SCC fees which may amount to $300-500 per month depending on the type of property that tenants need not to bear.

If tenants want claim to CDC voucher, then they just have to be an owner to their own property.
Hi all, thought I will my experience here if it helps anyone in the same situation as me. My family (local Singaporean) rented a whole HDB unit as we're waiting for our BTO to complete. We had the same issue as our landlord has claimed the CDC vouchers, despite renting out the whole unit to us and not residing in this address entirely, but did not want to change his registered address. The agent also claimed that the CDC vouchers belong to the landlord. So, we tried to search for an answer online (including reading every message in this thread), which brought a lot of anxiety to us. Finally we decided to reach out to CDC directly (https://vouchers.cdc.gov.sg/contact-us) and confirmed 2 scenarios:

1. If the landlord and Singaporean tenant are both residing in the same unit, they are eligible to 1 household set of CDC vouchers each. If one party has claimed the vouchers, the other party can visit the CC to fill up the appeal form (bring NRIC and supporting documents e.g. tenancy agreement).

2. If the landlord is owning the unit but not residing there, they should not claim for the CDC vouchers, as every household can only claim for the CDC vouchers under one property they are residing in. You may get the landlord to update their registered residential address with the ICA.

I hope more people in this thread don't simply assume that all renters are foreigner, there are many young Singaporean renters in this market, which face the same issue and should not be discriminated.. it is very saddening. The people who asked the question here are probably Singaporean renters too..

xdivider

i thought last yr they actually can go ask in person for the vouchers if got more than 1 family using the same address and someone claim already. was quite a big hooha iirc........

yuppieboy

I guess if tenants keen on these vouchers can discussed with the owner to work things out or share between them.

But then owner do ultimately have the rights to terminate the tenancy or raise the rental based on terms written in the tenancy contract.

Whimsica

CDC vouchers are given to every Singaporean household.

For Singaporeans renting and the landlord or another tenant has claimed under the rental address, they can go to the nearest CC to apply.

If more than one households live under the same address, each household will get a set of the CDC vouchers.

And each household in SG can only get one set.

If the landlord makes a few claims under different property addresses, baotoh him and hor yi see.

ctstalin

Sinkie tenants renting the whole unit and have their residential address updated can claim, by right the landlord suppose to update their residential address also and would not be eligible to cdc voucher under their tenanted address.

Screw the misleading answers here

tomsss

see which thick skinned foreigner will ask their landlord to share the voucher with them

just a matter of time

coolhead

This kinda question is like when the king gives a gift to the baron of the land, the peasants claim the gift first.

swenson

https://vouchers.cdc.gov.sg/residents/faq/

I got this from the link:
  • What should I do if my household’s vouchers have already been claimed by someone else?
    If someone else has claimed the vouchers, the page will display the name of the family member who has claimed the vouchers on behalf of the household after you have completed the login with Singpass. You may wish to check with that household member.
    Should the individual belong to another household staying at the same address, please visit your nearest CC to apply for the CDC Vouchers. Please bring along the following supporting documents: your NRIC, and any one of the relevant documents to show proof of household (e.g proof of previous overseas employment / proof of overseas address / tenancy agreement / proof of new resident e.g. taking/handing over keys)

Hope it helps

Vanyel

Landlord still can withhold address when rented out whole unit? Who is entitle to the voucher?
ask the landlord give u 1k, arbo u report him nv change address and see who dies more jialat~

evildoer

if you rent the full unit .. the landlord should not be able to claim .... cause his residing address on ICA should have changed. if u fail to claim .. you should report to the authority .. he might be involved in tax evasion especially the property tax and other GST rebate peaks..

i really suggest you go to the police cause tax evading is cheating the whole nation .. cannot give chance... cause it's too easy to violate the law

Vanyel

TS fyi below:

https://www.ica.gov.sg/news-and-publications/newsroom/media-release/singaporean-man-fined-for-failing-to-report-change-of-residential-address#:~:text=ICA would like to remind,to five years, or both

Singaporean Man Fined for Failing To Report Change of Residential Address​

On 4 July 2023, 35-year-old Singaporean male, Muhammad Taufiq Hidayat bin Kamsin, was sentenced to a fine of $3,700 in default ten days imprisonment, for failing to report a change of residential address, an offence under the National Registration Act.

2. On 1 April 2022, Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) alerted the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) that Taufiq had failed to report the change of his residential address. Auxiliary police officers engaged by URA visited Taufiq’s registered place of residence to execute an outstanding warrant of arrest but were informed by the homeowner that Taufiq was no longer residing in the unit. The homeowner also informed the officers that she did not allow Taufiq to use her address as his registered place of residence. ICA tried to contact Taufiq but he remained uncontactable. At that time, Taufiq also had outstanding Police Gazettes issued by various law enforcement agencies, which included warrants of arrest.

3. In March 2023, Taufiq surrendered himself at the Traffic Police (TP) Headquarters to settle his outstanding matters with the agency. ICA subsequently followed up with him to investigate his failure to report change of address.

4. Investigations by ICA revealed that Taufiq had moved out of his previous residence in Canberra in December 2021. However, Taufiq did not report the change in his place of residence within 28 days to ICA, as he had outstanding matters with several law enforcement agencies then and wanted to avoid the authorities, including TP and ICA.
5. Under the National Registration Act, all identity card (IC) holders who change his/her place of residence must report the change to ICA within 28 days. ICA takes a firm stance against any person who fails to comply with the National Registration Act and its Regulations. ICA would like to remind all Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents that it is their responsibility to update their residential addresses with ICA. The penalty for failing to report a change of residential address is a fine of up to S$5,000 or imprisonment of up to five years, or both.

6. Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents who need to report a change of residential address can do so online via ICA’s change of address e-Service (https://go.gov.sg/ic-address). The updated addresses will facilitate their transactions with government agencies. Please refer to the Annex below on the steps to report a change of address.

IMMIGRATION & CHECKPOINTS AUTHORITY
4 JULY 2023

tell ur landlord pay 1k to u asap
very cheap liao

evildoer

huh of cos owner of the house is entitled to the vouchers la. why must give to tenants to use :s11:

i think you have to research more... CDC is given to 1 member in each household.. if one of your same house member already claim the voucher , you cannot claim again. And it disturbed by the IC address... If i am staying with my parents and renting my whole HDB out. I had already declared to ICA my address had changed. So i am not able to claim the voucher for the HDB under my name. My tenants if he/she is a Singaporean. then he/she can claim the CDC voucher using my HDB address.

sugaricing83

Interesting, apparently happen to a friend, not sure if it matter but is local couple.
was discussing and we have all kind of answer not sure which is correct ...some question why landlord retained rental address ... ...
Hope the authority look into it and give clear guidelines, seem like it quite ambiguous.
Owner is paying for all the related taxes on the home, so he should be eligible for the voucher

evildoer

actually you think about it.. if you are living with your parents and you don't have a property on your own.. why are you still able to claim ? (Provided no household members claim yet) , you are not the house owner.

wahkau

I believe the owner has the rights to the voucher as the tenants may just be temporary occupants of the apartments.

Likewise, when owners received rebates for utility bills and town council monthly fees, the owner has the right to keep these and still charge tenants for their monthly utility usage accordingly. High utilities directly corresponds to higher depreciation for equipment such as washing machine, air conditioner, oven/hob, television etc… which the owner may need to replace if faulty.

Owners are also liable to pay for income tax, property tax and also monthly maintenance fees/SCC fees which may amount to $300-500 per month depending on the type of property that tenants need not to bear.

If tenants want claim to CDC voucher, then they just have to be an owner to their own property.
This is the most like ren say the hua

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.