[?] Own Car for 10 years or 500 PHV/Taxi rides per year "for life"?

tomsss

why sinkies like to count lidat in order to decide how to life their lives

if numbers not sui sui, oh cannot. numbers nice nice, ok all in. anything in between.... err when happen then talk la, hor? :s13:

Tyrian

no im not.

i'm bleeding da life bro.

my wallet bleeds everytime i go workshop

:( :( :(
Well. True. Go pump petrol also bleed more. :) at least u YOLO. Maybe it’s time to change your ride since u got it for 17 years already.

torque6

cars is a flex item

grab of cos cheaper , 500 rides is way too much for me

weekend 52 * 4= 208 only
Yes agree.
Especially for someone like me. Not tall , not handsome like Kpop beng on their pMDs :cry:.

If want SYT lians, event models then need to flex. If not, this calibre of girls wouldn't even bat you an eyelid.

Buying a car has never been about convenience for me since I only live a few bus stop from office. So many years already. And I don't just buy any B&B car.

Besides, keep so much money for what? Let someone else benefit ah?

COE price, increase cost of standard of living is what it is today is because 70% gave the go ahead.
I still remember my first convertible COE was 5k nia.

A short few months ago COE 120K - 140k. Now is 80k++. Buy high sell low. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

nyvrem

Well. True. Go pump petrol also bleed more. :) at least u YOLO. Maybe it’s time to change your ride since u got it for 17 years already.

no la. i use 95 nia. combine with $6 esso voucher + PHV card, everytime pump $70 pay $40+

i dont think there's anything else out there that's old school manual liao

i tested the FK8, bo hand brake, feels different.

Uramasa

With the cost of car + operation costs for 10 years ~S$250,000, would you consider investing the money in stocks and using 5% of the real return to take PHV/Taxi?

S$250,000 * 5% = S$12,500. Assuming an average ride costs S$25, you could take 500 rides/year. This would last at least 20 years and could potentially be "for life".
please factor in convenience and time.
saving money is good move, however there are things beyond dollar and cents.

specially when you have kid(s) and parents to ferry around.

torque6

If I have spare 250k to spend. I won’t even look at that 125000 peanut dollars.
Ppl who spent 250k on a car means they are rich and is nothing to them .
Instalments of the car is paid fully by a portion of my investments. Apart for the upfront 40% downpayment, I don't have to fork out any thing else. But then again, I have no other "needs". I just work most of the time. My holiday was a few weeks ago, and I haven't gone on vacation since 1984. Fine dinning, shopping, LV gucci rolex, expensive hobbies doesn't appeal to me. I wear uniqlo, giodarno, home cook etc. It's a life style choice.

My start pay was only 1800$ decades ago. But compare to what I make now vs what most eDMW BBFA here with their 50k per month, my income is still a joke though. So I wouldn't use the word "rich" here because every cents counts in my humble opinion.

Car has always been a huge expenditure for me. Huge expenditure means careful choice and consideration in it's procurement, so it's not like "nothing". I anticipated that COE will sky rocked to >90k again this year, so I started looking for my next ride mid 2022. It's a good 7 months search considering most people buy SUVs now and new hardtop convertibles are no longer in production.

zeozoe

If u take ride, will be two-way (go and return) so is a minimum 250 rides with two-way. Normal working days is 260 days per year.
And the price now is no longer $25 average.

really? I check just grab at around 5:45pm from my work to home, only S$13.40. Besides my job is 4 day WFH, so 250 rides is actually much more than I can take for work purposes. Carpark in office city area also not cheap nowadays.

zeozoe

Same

cannot count like that one bro.

give and take.
Family= car better
Single just take grab since u got a lot of time to lose.
Otherwise, u go rent one car for 2 months. And a baby .You will get what I meant

then u come and tell me grab or car better.

just to let u know kids below 1.3m cannot take grab. Must be grab family which is limited or taxi.
if you have 2-3 kids then grab family is totally out. U left with taxi only
I have young children, usually we just go nearby coffeeshop, markets or shopping malls. All within walking distance or a few bus stops.

Yes, young kids can only take taxi.

zeozoe

life is never about numbers.

you never include qualitative aspects that cannot be measured.

if life is all about numbers , everything is damm easy. even relationships.
I think that because people don't consider numbers enough, they fail to plan for the future.

zeozoe

please factor in convenience and time.
saving money is good move, however there are things beyond dollar and cents.

specially when you have kid(s) and parents to ferry around.
$S250,000 is also = to alot of extra time spent working?

zeozoe

How abt sending kids to school, to and fro office, 500 trips enough to cover 1 year?
Primary school, can take school bus. Save energy, don't have to drive them everyday, less than 2km away.
Secondary school, my old sec school is walking distance, less than 1km away.
Office, only go once a week usually.

Tyrian

no la. i use 95 nia. combine with $6 esso voucher + PHV card, everytime pump $70 pay $40+

i dont think there's anything else out there that's old school manual liao

i tested the FK8, bo hand brake, feels different.
FD2K PHV? How to get the PHV card?

Atrina_Boy

The freedom and flexibility of your own personal transport extends far beyond just being able to get from point to point.

I'm sure we all know how frustrating it can be to get a phv/taxi during peak hours.
ya
this.
Controlling your time way better than the other way round

sAVaGEmP5

No money dun but car. Formula so simple but noobs do logic with emotions. 1+1=1 to 10 based on stupidity

randomph

Personally don’t like driving. Rather sit PHV and let someone else do the driving, parking, being chauffeur, car repairman and petrol attendant.

those that say save time. Sitting in a car I can accomplish something else, at least can kpkb on edmw. Driving requires attention and usually a cause for frustration and bad mood with all the bad drivers around.

but of course if have family and want to be the family chauffeur then mybfd

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.