Ur trading account kana suspended because they found ur name on some world wide search and you name appears in the list?

BMWguy

it is a "false negative hit" on the assumption you are really not that person on the adverse list. they have the right to suspend your TA but they would have reached out to you to seek clarification and for you to provide corrobrative evidence to prove you are not that person.

they suspend your TA is highly likely you did not respond to their outreach.

check with your trader who will definitely know what's going on.

I only know about it when i see my trading limit becomes $0 so i called my broker to find out then he says the credit department suspended my account becos they found my NAME on world wide search list

KNS la.. just becos my name same as some criminal then suspect me ???? sibei suay...

They search by name, they shd try to match the the NRIC too ma.. same name as criminal = kana suspected as criminal???

Next time some rapist name same as mine, dun tell me they going to suspect me again ?

oldchanggold

It'll take a while to clear up for sure. You better keep some ready cash in case the problem spreads to your bank accounts as well. Might be wise to have a chat with a MAS agent.

This is a serious problem. I don't suggest you wait too long.
Better follow this advice. If it's world check, then very mafan. all sorts of financial related stuff you cannot do but suspect honest mistake la. They don't match just by name, got nationality, DOB, some AML expert can share some expert opinion ba

BMWguy

Better follow this advice. If it's world check, then very mafan. all sorts of financial related stuff you cannot do but suspect honest mistake la. They don't match just by name, got nationality, DOB, some AML expert can share some expert opinion ba

that why i thinking of making a police report soon

mskate88

wow liao.. my share trading account kana suspended becos the credit department found my name on some "world wide search".. must be my name matches with the name on the money laundering list.

They can anyhow suspend my account one ?? maybe the suspect got same name as me , like tat i kana?

I'm not involved in any illegal activities and I dun owe any bank any money.. like tat they can suka suka suspend me becos my name same as those in the list? kns

wth, anyone kana b4?
My colleague's sister has the exact same name with some criminals on the wanted list. Everytime cross the border, she was always pull aside for further checking.

Not related to trading, but I'm just pointing out, yes, same name can cause that.

Agree with the other edmwers that you need to keep some cash on hand in case your bank account will get frozen or something.

Have you ever try to google your own name? Which criminal is same with yours?

Ever have difficulty in job search? Cause nowadays companies do background checks too

oldchanggold

that why i thinking of making a police report soon
Can write in to MAS to check and appeal but you won't get any information from MAS or brokerage form or whatever what databases are you in. However, you can appeal to MAS and copy the broker contact also, to ask broker double check la. Want even faster is find MP. Don't need police.

BMWguy

Can write in to MAS to check and appeal but you won't get any information from MAS or brokerage form or whatever what databases are you in. However, you can appeal to MAS and copy the broker contact also, to ask broker double check la. Want even faster is find MP. Don't need police.
thanks...

claudiusje

only a 100% name match? or got other matching criteria like nationality, occupation, domicile. basically need to give evidence to help them disqualify this match

maomee

I only know about it when i see my trading limit becomes $0 so i called my broker to find out then he says the credit department suspended my account becos they found my NAME on world wide search list

KNS la.. just becos my name same as some criminal then suspect me ???? sibei suay...

They search by name, they shd try to match the the NRIC too ma.. same name as criminal = kana suspected as criminal???

Next time some rapist name same as mine, dun tell me they going to suspect me again ?
sorry to hear. I can only tell you, while there are clearly defined SOPs in handling suspected adverse news accounts, they are expected under fair dealing to be well, fair to you and, humans being humans, they cock up.

if you can prove no one reach out to you prior to this suspension, you have the right to pursue losses.

and, my humble opinion, don't take their word for it. to have an account suspended can have tonnes of reasons. not just an adverse new hit. it can be due to account conduct, abnormality in trading pattern, margin position. just to name a few.

batuchka

heng limbeh name only appears on "independent think tank" www search then!

BMWguy

only a 100% name match? or got other matching criteria like nationality, occupation, domicile. basically need to give evidence to help them disqualify this match
My broker only says my name match one name in the world wide search... really suay

Hope my account will be reinstated after I provide my pay slip , income tax etc..

TitanSmall

They based on their suspicion on name only. like tat all the decent ppl with same name as criminal sibei suay..
they should based on their search on name + NRIC ma
You think news when they report, they also put the national identity number of the criminal?

BMWguy

what brokerage? alot of common name like tan wei jie tan ah kow etc leh

I'm not going to expose them yet.. see how they handle my case. If they guai lan still insists on suspending my account even if i prove i am using my decent salary as source of funds, then i will expose gao gao together with all the communications

BMWguy

You think news when they report, they also put the national identity number of the criminal?
ya la.. so if criminal has same name as u, then u really suay lo

U go apply job or open a trading account, they go a search for ur name and found out "you" a bankrupt or rapist then they deny u , how?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.