Life is over after you start work, turn 30, get married and have kid(s)

think_too_much

Anyone agree with the following?

Once you start work, if you get into one that demands more than 14h of your day, you may get consumed by it that you practically have no time after work during the weekdays for anything else. With that, it seems like you only have some semblance of a "life" during the weekends. Such behaviour repeats itself day after day, week after week. You simply lose interest in the things you used to love and lose your sense of individuality.

Then this goes on till your 30s, you realised that you have wasted your youth at work. You realise that there's new 20 over years old who are way more motivated than you at work. You get jaded but you still need that income to survive. Hence, you simply go into zombie mode at work, dragging yourself to a workplace that you probably do not enjoy anymore.

Maybe to some, you might get married along the way and that's when you realised that you are no longer simply living for just yourself. Your wife may need your attention and some of your time needs to be committed towards her and to the home you are building. Thus, you lose more of yourself and fall into a routine of doing the things you need to do than the things you want to do. Sometimes, you may even confuse both your needs and wants, homologating them together.

And lastly, your wife wants kid(s). You don't want to disappoint her. Neither do you know well enough if you want kid(s) either, so you just "move along" and go about making love for procreation. With kid(s) coming along, you realise that all your attention is on the kid(s) and wife who had her body and emotions greatly affected after having a kid. Maybe that's what we all call regrets. But you just don't have the courage to admit so, knowing that it is not socially acceptable to think so.

vangug

when i was single, work was part of my life... it blends seamlessly in... as a single male without any dependents... i'm either at work or off work chasing tail....time spent at home is sleeping or watching shows and playing games... once you get attached your time spent chasing tail converts into time spent with the tail you got together with... work was still very much part of "life"... things only change when you start a family and get dependents... work is no longer a priority and takes a back seat... so i'm not sure why life is over for TS when he starts working and do other adult things... was there anything else besides all that to begin with?

Not.banned.yet

Once you start work, if you get into one that demands more than 14h of your day, you may get consumed by it that you practically have no time after work during the weekdays for anything else. With that, it seems like you only have some semblance of a "life" during the weekends. Such behaviour repeats itself day after day, week after week. You simply lose interest in the things you used to love and lose your sense of individuality.

Then this goes on till your 30s, you realised that you have wasted your youth at work. You realise that there's new 20 over years old who are way more motivated that you at work. You get jaded but you still need that income to survive. Hence, you simply go into zombie mode at work, dragging yourself to a workplace that you probably do not enjoy anymore.

Maybe to some, you might get married along the way and that's when you realised that you are no longer simply living for just yourself. Your wife may need your attention and some of your time needs to be committed towards her and to the home you are building. Thus, you lose more of yourself and fall into a routine of doing the things you need to do than the things you want to do. Sometimes, you may even confuse both your needs and wants, homologating them together.

And lastly, your wife wants kid(s). You don't want to disappoint her. Neither do you know well enough if you want kid(s) either, so you just "move along" and go about making love for procreation. With kid(s) coming along, you realise that all your attention is on the kid(s) and wife who has her body and emotions greatly affected after having a kid. Maybe that's what we all call regrets. But you just don't have the courage to admit so, knowing that it is not socially acceptable to think so.
Age faster la. Not necessary over. U will get the freedom back as they grow up. U think they want u around as they reach their teens? Ur full freedom back when they turn 21, when u willing to hands off, when they are not JLB and not in trouble.

Advance Aging 3 stages: get married. Get a house (debt). Get a pregnant (1 or more)

CHINAUSA

so depressing.. People in their 40s 50s 60s how... dun get suck into negativity...

Go exercise have healthy hobbies, have 1 or 2 ur community good frds helps a lot!

think_too_much

Age faster la. Not necessary over. U will get the freedom back as they grow up. U think they want u around as they reach their teens? Ur full freedom back when they turn 21, when u willing to hands off, when they are not JLB and not in trouble.

Advance Aging 3 stages: get married. Get a house (debt). Get a pregnant (1 or more)
TBH, all these 3 gave me more problems than joy.

zeebrugge

I was feeling quite upset and depressed about this morning's boredom, then suddenly after reading this thread I feel so thankful that I am still alive. Don't sweat the small things, it's a blessing simply being able to wake up this morning and have breakfast. I am grateful that my mother came by my place this morning and bought me lunch, it's so sweet to have my parents still alive. I live each day as if it were my last, I am thankful for all the little things. Thank you TS for reminding me of what I still have, instead of what I lost.

spinning_quirK

Brother, you may be in depression. There are people with as many as 6 or 8 kids and they are loving God, life, and their kids. Life always has its ups and downs, but life is not about resigning yourself cynically to being pummeled by these ups and downs as if they're Saenchai, Buakaw, Pacquiao or Tyson. Life is about permitting yourself to soar with Jesus through the vicissitudes of life.

Alone, you will be pummeled into TKO. With Jesus, you'll soar like those eagles.

Edit: and if your condition is real, others sharing that their lives are getting better and better will depress you even more. Somehow you can't "make it" while they seemingly can. It probably means you seek something deeper and better than what this world offers. You've reached this stage at this age, don't ignore what your soul needs.

HumJiBeng

Then this goes on till your 30s, you realised that you have wasted your youth at work. You realise that there's new 20 over years old who are way more motivated that you at work. You get jaded but you still need that income to survive. Hence, you simply go into zombie mode at work, dragging yourself to a workplace that you probably do not enjoy anymore.

And lastly, your wife wants kid(s). You don't want to disappoint her. Neither do you know well enough if you want kid(s) either, so you just "move along" and go about making love for procreation. With kid(s) coming along, you realise that all your attention is on the kid(s) and wife who has her body and emotions greatly affected after having a kid. Maybe that's what we all call regrets. But you just don't have the courage to admit so, knowing that it is not socially acceptable to think so.
I agree the work part is boring. I used to work 15 hours a day 6.5 days a week in big4 audit. Life is jin sian. Got $ but no time to spend. Every day drag feet to work

Until I started my own accounting firm and other side businesses. It is much more motivating and fun to run own business. No more money blues type of nonsense. Enjoy running my own business. Won't retire (close business) even if I strike toto 12mil.

Wife part. I got a good wife. So no issue yet

nyvrem

No leh. Life just started for me

38 turning 39, kids taking o level next year, after that going Uni in US

kinda nice life for me. A lot free time to do stuff now.

randomph

In edmw got bbfa that emo about no wife no kids. Also got nonbbfa that emo about got wife got kids.

this called “grass is greener on the other side”

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.