How much is your total expenditure for the year 2023?

LaiHam

I think Singaporean go overseas can earn more if is skilled and professional
true, that's what i get my kids to do. sg youth earning power is not encouraging at all. 20 years and the starting pay is not much better than my time. ridiculous.

LaiHam

It's sometimes quite easy right?
As you increase input, your output can stay the same. But you feel like you deserve it because you got a surplus rn and can afford it. This cycle of constantly thinking of increasing input to match your output will almost never end, I think.
So best is to live under your means. But say very easy, I also cannot.
har har you're right! I realise without the kids expenses, I can still live with $2K/month. Take MRT everyday and eat $5/day, no big trips. Tried and tested for 1 year. But sometimes you tell yourself, save so much for what? Tmr if die, too late to enjoy. So moderation is always the key my friend.

testart

true, that's what i get my kids to do. sg youth earning power is not encouraging at all. 20 years and the starting pay is not much better than my time. ridiculous.

The rate of property prices increases feel like much faster than salaries grow and incremental

How young gen salaries going increase faster than property prices

No data. But that's how I feel.

crimsontactics

Still got such price meh? I buy mine from cig distributor already 155/carton now wor. 7-11 already selling what I smoke for 17.xx liao
Have, but must change brand... :(

I'm now smoking a brand called Easy costing $12.60... :(

I will be changing to a brand called United costing $11.90... :(

Both reds... :(

Eliwood

Combined household expenses maybe 100k to 120k a year.

Kid - 30k
Parents - 24k
Insurance - 14k
Everything else maybe 40k to 50k.

Rathcycle

Have, but must change brand... :(

I'm now smoking a brand called Easy costing $12.60... :(

I will be changing to a brand called United costing $11.90... :(

Both reds... :(
Wah and you still can spend 5k on cigs. You smoke quite alot! Cut down abit. I smoke only 2 to 2.5 cartons a mth, trying to cut to a stable 2.

crimsontactics

Wah and you still can spend 5k on cigs. You smoke quite alot! Cut down abit. I smoke only 2 to 2.5 cartons a mth, trying to cut to a stable 2.
Last year is $12.60 per pack mah, so I smoke 1 pack a day, so its $4,599 a year... :(

I round up to $5k for easy calculation... :(

LaiHam

The rate of property prices increases feel like much faster than salaries grow and incremental

How young gen salaries going increase faster than property prices

No data. But that's how I feel.
It is lah. 25 years ago, $220K can get hdb 5room. I sold, made profits and finished my housing loan in 10 years. settled for something cheaper, scared to upgrade cause friends got burnt playing with property price.

Now hdb starting price more than doubled! But grads salary never double. I told my kids, get out since you're starting from ground zero anyway.

Eliwood

It is lah. 25 years ago, $220K can get hdb 5room. I sold, made profits and finished my housing loan in 10 years. settled for something cheaper, scared to upgrade cause friends got burnt playing with property price.

Now hdb starting price more than doubled! But grads salary never double. I told my kids, get out since you're starting from ground zero anyway.

So better to start in which country? Many countries struggling with youth unemployment i thot.

newborn1000

Nobody says medical bills , so i say i paid $4k last year
budget this year $6k

Dont say insurance , cos insurance dont cover lols

LaiHam

So better to start in which country? Many countries struggling with youth unemployment i thot.
Not true with youth unemployment. Lazy and less educated yes, so they're either not motivated to work or study further. Europe and even Aussie - too many free stuff, the youth lazy to even try cause get can get govt payout.

My 1st kid is in AU - 7 years already, they loved Singaporeans for our work ethic. Singapore is a brand actually, you say you from SG, people look up to you. Her friend and my niece also took on the working youth holiday visa to see if they like it there, they share apts to cut cost. Germany has free education policy for all foreign students, subject to minor registration fees - my son actually looked into that before deciding to follow his sister downunder. He also looked into Swiss and NZ, both offer youth working holiday visa or study there and can still work part-time to cover cost. Aiyah, everywhere is tough at the start, but you don't know until you try.

Like I told my kids, the world is your oyster. If your intention is strong, you will find the will to make it happen.

I find Indians, Vietnamese and Cambodian youth very resourceful - they really research to find where they can go with the least cost & go apply all kind of sponsorships and bursaries. Maybe they're from 3rd world countries, so the drive to get out is strong. SG youth maybe too comfortable to move elsewhere, but in the end, the youth may lose out with all the foreign talents (who are more resilient) coming in.

testart

There was a time when people say that Singapore can't make it. But we did.

All these properties driven up by failed MBT policy and increased of foreigners.

Last time no FT want come Sg. They see Sg no up. Now everyone wants to come Sg because Sg is rich now.

Overseas is competitive right?

I see this harvard graduate LinkedIn in work many years still only manager. Wee Shu Min that girl...get out of my uncaring elite face.

One example only haha. But I think is very competitive. Even if the graduate is from good uni, doesn't mean is high flyer.

NeonX

har har you're right! I realise without the kids expenses, I can still live with $2K/month. Take MRT everyday and eat $5/day, no big trips. Tried and tested for 1 year. But sometimes you tell yourself, save so much for what? Tmr if die, too late to enjoy. So moderation is always the key my friend.
wha must learn from you, need to start saving up. My problem is once i start spending I can't stop sia.

My 2023 expense don't even include household and family expenses, all purely personal expense nia. Next month onwards I should try to start saving (cause this month spend like mad already lol)

beano

Mortgage alone over 80k, the rest don't bother to check

mocax

never keep track... :frown:

based on posb app, moi on average every month save about 3k... :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.