New 10Gbps/5Gbps/6Gbps/3Gbps XGS-PON based plans

Henry Ng

Starhub is not the only ISP in Singapore and many do not need the contents.

I maintain my prediction.
True that SH is not the only isp but honestly in business everyone will want to earn more for profit so such price is very very unlikely to happen. Just wait and See. If the ultra speed launch is further postponed to December 2024 then it is sure not happening to get such price of $45/mth. I think cheapest is $49.90 or $54.90 without router in 2026. $45/mth may be not possible as isp need to cover their cost and make money too. It will not be cheaper for consumer to get plan without router too. In order to save cost i will prefer to get plan with isp router.

Apparatus

Noob here. Looking at starhub’s FAQ page, assuming i get 2 units of EB810v from starhub one shot & they set up as EasyMesh for me using wired backhaul, would my set up be something like this?

LIVING ROOM
- ONT to first unit EB810.
- RJ45 cable from one 2.5G lan port to tv in living room.
- RJ45 cable from one 2.5G lan port to tv in bedroom.
- 10G lan out to second unit EB810 in bedroom.

BEDROOM
- RJ45 cable from living room’s EB810 to the 10G wan port in bedroom’s EB810.
- Lan cable from bedroom’s EB810 to my mac mini.

Is this correct? If so i presume my mac mini would have 10gbps connection right?
No need to get a 2nd router. Get a 5-port 10Gbps switch or those with 2x10Gbps + 3x2.5Gbps switch is cheaper. Those China brands sure are cheap

Unless you want whole house WiFi coverage then use another router

Apparatus

True that SH is not the only isp but honestly in business everyone will want to earn more for profit so such price is very very unlikely to happen. Just wait and See. If the ultra speed launch is further postponed to December 2024 then it is sure not happening to get such price of $45/mth. I think cheapest is $49.90 or $54.90 without router in 2026. $45/mth may be not possible as isp need to cover their cost and make money too. It will not be cheaper for consumer to get plan without router too.
I prefer postponement for 10Gbps is guaranteed. If 10Gbps not officially launch then it'll fall back to 2Gbps liao

Best to postpone for 2 yrs till my contract ends

:LOL:

Singrish

No need to get a 2nd router. Get a 5-port 10Gbps switch or those with 2x10Gbps + 3x2.5Gbps switch is cheaper. Those China brands sure are cheap

Unless you want whole house WiFi coverage then use another router
Actually i do need cos in my bedroom with door closed the wifi signal from living room can’t reach. So the second unit in bedroom is for both wifi signal for my phone & ipad & also to connect my mac mini via RJ45 cable.

Apparatus

Actually i do need cos in my bedroom with door closed the wifi signal from living room can’t reach. So the second unit in bedroom is for both wifi signal for my phone & ipad & also to connect my mac mini via RJ45 cable.

Then ok lor

Fellowes

10Gbps fibre plan with router bundled.
MR using TP LINK BE805
SH using TP LINK BE810v (VoIP)
Nowadays the WIFI 7 router all so big? Like a brick the design from TP Link

Fellowes

Mach3.2

I don't see 1Gig going away in the near term. ISPs will probably get rid of 500Mbps to streamline their offerings like what we're seeing with Starhub and Singtel already.

Fellowes

I don't see 1Gig going away in the near term. ISPs will probably get rid of 500Mbps to streamline their offerings like what we're seeing with Starhub and Singtel already.
Best is all 1Gbps free speed upgrade to 2.5Gbps 🤣🤣 Not those 2Gbps plan (1+1) type which sucks so all plan become 2.5Gbps or 10Gbps.

Fellowes

I predict that we will see no frills 10Gbps service (no bundled 10G capable wireless router) at about S$45 to S$50 in year 2025. And then S$60 to S$70 if bundled with a decent 10G enabled WiFi 7 router.

But I will go with decent true 2.5G service at S$30+ myself (ONT, public IPv4, IPv6).
So let’s hope main telco will start to offer true 2.5Gbps soon. Don’t see a point for a home to be using 10Gbps for the next 5 years, maybe by 2030 and beyond.

Henry Ng

So let’s hope main telco will start to offer true 2.5Gbps soon. Don’t see a point for a home to be using 10Gbps for the next 5 years, maybe by 2030 and beyond.
Please see Q9 and Q10 in Starhub FAQ below:

Q9 If I sign up for a StarHub 1Gbps or 2Gbps plan, would I be able to enjoy the benefit of the UltraSpeed Network immediately?
Currently, only the UltraSpeed 10Gbps plan offers the immediate benefit of being part of the UltraSpeed Network. Customers on 1Gbps and 2Gbps will be migrated to the StarHub UltraSpeed Network progressively. We recommend that you subscribe to UltraSpeed 10Gbps as your preferred choice of broadband plan to enjoy the immediate benefits.​

Q10 I am an existing StarHub Broadband customer, when will I be upgraded to StarHub UltraSpeed Network?
Migration of StarHub Broadband customers to the UltraSpeed Network will be conducted progressively and we will keep our customers updated.​

https://www.starhub.com/personal/support/article.html?id=Y6Vx0Oe45q7cpgxNkIJBx5

Humphrey5

Hello All

Read but still have some questions
I am upgrading from SH 1+1 gbps to the 10Gbps bundle for $87/$88

1) Based on the order confirmation below I did not select router. Do they still give me the ONR? I assume is the Nokia one

2) I currently have the Velop Mx4000 connected to LAN to my living room. The LAN connected to the black box which i assume is the ONT. after the 10 gbps installation. Does it mean my MX4000 be useless and now the WiFI will now come out from ONR? Can I still connect the ONR LAN ports and still get wired access through the HDB many network points? (4 room BTO)
My concern is my DB box is covered so afraid Wifi signal will be bad
Can I still connect my MX4000 to existing network point and use that to beam the signal? I assume this is what I read here as bridge?

3) If I get myself like the expensive TPlink Wifi 7 or equivalent to what SH giving out for $110 plan. Will the installer help set this up instead of ONR?
Devices​
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
You did not select any router device.
spacer.gif

Henry Ng

I prefer postponement for 10Gbps is guaranteed. If 10Gbps not officially launch then it'll fall back to 2Gbps liao

Best to postpone for 2 yrs till my contract ends

:LOL:
Do not need to wait till contract end also can upgrade to 10Gbps. Postpone to Dec 2024 or to June 2025 is best. Then more users can get good offer.

Henry Ng

Hello All

Read but still have some questions
I am upgrading from SH 1+1 gbps to the 10Gbps bundle for $87/$88

1) Based on the order confirmation below I did not select router. Do they still give me the ONR? I assume is the Nokia one

2) I currently have the Velop Mx4000 connected to LAN to my living room. The LAN connected to the black box which i assume is the ONT. after the 10 gbps installation. Does it mean my MX4000 be useless and now the WiFI will now come out from ONR? Can I still connect the ONR LAN ports and still get wired access through the HDB many network points? (4 room BTO)
My concern is my DB box is covered so afraid Wifi signal will be bad
Can I still connect my MX4000 to existing network point and use that to beam the signal? I assume this is what I read here as bridge?

3) If I get myself like the expensive TPlink Wifi 7 or equivalent to what SH giving out for $110 plan. Will the installer help set this up instead of ONR?
Devices​
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
spacer.gif
You did not select any router device.
spacer.gif
Actually you can still call Starhub sales hotline to tell them that you want TP-Link and ONT or Nokia ONR.
Yes the installer will set up what you selected. For this TP-Link Wifi 7 router, it has 4 years warranty under SH.

Humphrey5

Actually you can still call Starhub sales hotline to tell them that you want TP-Link and ONT or Nokia ONR.
Yes the installer will set up what you selected. For this TP-Link Wifi 7 router, it has 4 years warranty under SH.
I still can ah? Ok I will try. Call the sales or normal hotline?

I have to wait till April 3rd. It’s insane.

Henry Ng

I still can ah? Ok I will try. Call the sales or normal hotline?

I have to wait till April 3rd. It’s insane.
I think they allow you to select between the two routers so it show that you have not select your router. Better call their sales hotline. Can put router outside the store room with the help of a network contractor to pull a cat 6 LAN cable from the ONT location to the new router location and must have a power point there for the new router.

xiaofan

Please see Q9 and Q10 in Starhub FAQ below:

Q9 If I sign up for a StarHub 1Gbps or 2Gbps plan, would I be able to enjoy the benefit of the UltraSpeed Network immediately?
Currently, only the UltraSpeed 10Gbps plan offers the immediate benefit of being part of the UltraSpeed Network. Customers on 1Gbps and 2Gbps will be migrated to the StarHub UltraSpeed Network progressively. We recommend that you subscribe to UltraSpeed 10Gbps as your preferred choice of broadband plan to enjoy the immediate benefits.​

Q10 I am an existing StarHub Broadband customer, when will I be upgraded to StarHub UltraSpeed Network?
Migration of StarHub Broadband customers to the UltraSpeed Network will be conducted progressively and we will keep our customers updated.​

https://www.starhub.com/personal/support/article.html?id=Y6Vx0Oe45q7cpgxNkIJBx5

What is your point here?

As mentioned, Starhub is not th only ISP.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.