[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 9

calkel20

planning trip est 23rd Nov to 1st Dec 2024 (Kaohsuing -> Taichung -> Taipei)

but I got problem w air tickets, this is my input:

multi city search
1) 23rd Nov 2024 sg to kaohsiung
2) 1st Dec 2024 taipei to sg

Scoot
1) 23rd Nov 2024 sg to kaohsiung (no flights available)
2) 1st Dec 2024 taipei to sg (flights w various timing available)

China airlines
1) 23rd Nov 2024 sg to kaohsiung (only 1 flight evening time)
2) 1st Dec 2024 taipei to sg (early morning 8+ or night 8pm roll over to nxt day +1 day means pay extra?)

SQ airlines
1) 23rd Nov 2024 sg to kaohsiung (no flights available)
2) 1st Dec 2024 taipei to sg (afternoon 2+ & evening 5+ flight)

Cathay Pacific
1) 23rd Nov 2024 sg to kaohsiung (1am+ w stopover in hong kong, total close to 9 hrs to reach)
2) 1st Dec 2024 taipei to sg (morning 10+ flight w stopover in hong kong, total close to 8 hrs to reach)

is the above 4 only airlines available? for both scoot & sq, how many times they fly direct to kaohsiung? cause it seems like whole nov no flight schedule to there. pls help, thanks.
Seems like so many bottle neck.
You so many days, why you want to chiong every where? Got time meh?

freshvibes

Really need to look at their official schedule when they closed before and after cny.
No hard and fast rule.
This year, they are off starting on Thursday and typically one week or max like 9 days totally off.
I went to Taoyuan and Keelung during CNY.
Even the miaokou nm is not fully open on day 2.
So it is really up to you if you want to travel, hotels price might not be the cheapest, but flight cost almost as good as other day.

Oh I see.. Do you mind sharing your itinerary? How long were you there?

Tsoukalos

Seems like so many bottle neck.
You so many days, why you want to chiong every where? Got time meh?
cause my last trip was entirely in taipei due to family reason. got a friend in kaoshiung so wana go visit him. anyway, think will stay 1 night in Taipei before ghost up via HSR. wonder why internal flight also got stopover eg at penghu issit to boost internal tourism?

calkel20

Oh I see.. Do you mind sharing your itinerary? How long were you there?
Hi! All itinerary different.
You can even go tamshui and spend a whole day there with visits to the 天元宮 for sakura.
This really based on weather for that period.
Jiufen and keelung is a day.
Houtong. shifen is one day liao.
Not hard to plan.

Do plan it like any other day in Taiwan

calkel20

cause my last trip was entirely in taipei due to family reason. got a friend in kaoshiung so wana go visit him. anyway, think will stay 1 night in Taipei before ghost up via HSR. wonder why internal flight also got stopover eg at penghu issit to boost internal tourism?
Internal flight where?
Visit him in kaohsiung, then you are better off like 3-4 days there.
Put big bags in taipei and travel light lor.

freshvibes

Hi! All itinerary different.
You can even go tamshui and spend a whole day there with visits to the 天元宮 for sakura.
This really based on weather for that period.
Jiufen and keelung is a day.
Houtong. shifen is one day liao.
Not hard to plan.

Do plan it like any other day in Taiwan

Jiufen and Houtong are open during the first few days?

Just wondering how did you settle your meals when many places are closed? Did you stay in an airbnb or hotel?

calkel20

Jiufen and Houtong are open during the first few days?

Just wondering how did you settle your meals when many places are closed? Did you stay in an airbnb or hotel?
Will be opened but not necessary spoilt for choice.
For example says Keelung, those booths that sells sashimi at nm(day time) are not working, probably no fishing boats out there.
I will say like 70% are opened.
For food, major restaurants like DTF may be opened, but note on the closing hours.
If really no food, 7-11, family marts, Pizza huts will still be there for u.
Of course cannot say to be choosy or not.

Some ref for you
426188729_852401820018402_4020824245447522118_n.jpg

calkel20

Am sure my sharing give you some insight info.
No hard and fast rules, only one that I encounter after 6pm that even mcd closed is during typhoon time.

Tsoukalos

Internal flight where?
Visit him in kaohsiung, then you are better off like 3-4 days there.
Put big bags in taipei and travel light lor.
sure, will consider that option.

internal flight say taipei to kaohsiung eg. china airlines takes about 5 hrs with about 1 hr 45 min stopover in hong kong airport. why got stopover? isn't it like within same country sorry but i don't really understand why

calkel20

sure, will consider that option.

internal flight say taipei to kaohsiung eg. china airlines takes about 5 hrs with about 1 hr 45 min stopover in hong kong airport. why got stopover? isn't it like within same country sorry but i don't really understand why
Siao boh.
You not first time travel to Taiwan, people take HSR, u want to take flight.
Coz u chose Taoyuan to KHH ma.
Did u check songshan to KHH? Even that, I doubt u find any since now has HSR.

Thanatos_Wraiths

oh goodness. so no other airlines then other than those i mention? u from taipei fly kaohsiung fly which airline? & u book from sg? cause i no do before. but i gotta go kaoshiung as 1st stop
Was you thinking Taipei to Kaohsiung by air is easier since you are arriving Taiwan by air?

Save yourself the agony of figuring out the domestic flight and you will be saving time via HSR or flying direct to Kaohsiung from Singapore.

I think there is also no direct flight from Songshan to Kaohsiung. Usually at least a stop over and the flight time will be more than 2.5 hrs. HSR from Tayuan to Zuoying is about 1.5hrs only.

Your 2 best options are

CI SIN to KHH or
SIN to TPE, then Taoyuan to Zuoying via HSR

Tsoukalos

Was you thinking Taipei to Kaohsiung by air is easier since you are arriving Taiwan by air?

Save yourself the agony of figuring out the domestic flight and you will be saving time via HSR or flying direct to Kaohsiung from Singapore.

I think there is also no direct flight from Songshan to Kaohsiung. Usually at least a stop over and the flight time will be more than 2.5 hrs. HSR from Tayuan to Zuoying is about 1.5hrs only.

Your 2 best options are

CI SIN to KHH or
Ya u right cause I thought air to air be easier but seems like too long & ex. So I will most likely go w 2nd option liao.

noobzpro

booked a trip in april for a week to taiwan since scoot so cheap. any recommendations? looking at taichung coz taipei nothing much to do.

calkel20

Your 2 best options are

CI SIN to KHH or
Just checked with my taiwanese colleague. Told me such taipei-kaohsiung, stopped since HSR in service liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.