The C-Drama China/Chinese Drama Discussion...

yokine3a

Got any good historical dramas? Historical as in based on actual historical figures in Chinese history.

Recently watched 谋圣鬼谷子, middle part was good but ending was rubbish, plus found out that none of the events are historical at all.

:confused:
Even 3 kingdom is not based on actual history. Have you watched 大明王朝1556? This is good.

hardindex

this huan notch bad, can tahan a bit while waiting for better haun

2dead872f0744b88b22031151c8a9534.jpeg
i catch no ball about most of the mystery, very badly written. Not thrilling

Irenicus91

Even 3 kingdom is not based on actual history. Have you watched 大明王朝1556? This is good.
At least 3 kingdoms is 70% history 30% fiction which is ok for me. I dont mind if the history is embellished with additional stuff, but the historical records must be there in the first place.

I watched finish the guiguzi then go read the history. Turns out he is only mentioned in historical records as the teacher of several famous characters. The entire show is pretty much fictional, only the last few sentences by the narrator in the final ep is actual history.

Ok thanks for recommendation. Not familiar with Ming dynasty, will be good to watch.

:o

JohannSu1864

Yes. Same cast... The leggy female lead police also back.
Thanks for sharing! CNY they showed 唐人街探案3 movie on channel 8. At the very end got Andy Lau. Hopefully movie 4 got him. A pity lin mo wasn't in the movie. He only appears on 网剧。But even better, 网剧longer. Movie 2+ hours only.

yokine3a

If you are interested in those not hao siao drama, I recommend this 少爷和我, 20 mins each episode. Initially I laugh while watching, then realise storyline got meaning, some will make you feel sad when ending.

JohannSu1864

At least 3 kingdoms is 70% history 30% fiction which is ok for me. I dont mind if the history is embellished with additional stuff, but the historical records must be there in the first place.

I watched finish the guiguzi then go read the history. Turns out he is only mentioned in historical records as the teacher of several famous characters. The entire show is pretty much fictional, only the last few sentences by the narrator in the final ep is actual history.

Ok thanks for recommendation. Not familiar with Ming dynasty, will be good to watch.

I was thinking of 繁花 n 南来北往but these are not based on historical event. Then I remembered this really good one, 天下长河, based on the early years of kangxi n how they tried to contain flooding. Very touching drama. Quite funny too. Can cry n laugh.

JohannSu1864

Ming can watch 大明风华。Based on 靖难之役,how Judy fought his nephew, grandson of Zhu yuan zhang. It's funny too but don't watch after episode 30. Went downhill from there.

yokine3a

I was thinking of 繁花 n 南来北往but these are not based on historical event. Then I remembered this really good one, 天下长河, based on the early years of kangxi n how they tried to contain flooding. Very touching drama. Quite funny too. Can cry n laugh.
繁花 I haven't watched, intend to keep it till I really run out of show then watch. 天下长河 I can't remember why I stop halfway. 风起陇西 also good @Irenicus91

I watching 紫川 now, not bad I would say.

Calis_Yoda

Got any good historical dramas? Historical as in based on actual historical figures in Chinese history.

Recently watched 谋圣鬼谷子, middle part was good but ending was rubbish, plus found out that none of the events are historical at all.

:confused:
Do you like or mind military drama with intense war and brutal scenes? If you don't, 1 of the chinese dramas which is classical is 杨家将 (1991/2 CCTV version, 32 episodes total). Sadly, I can't find any chinese subtitles in the ones I searched via Google.

Links:
1. https://nnyy.in/dianshiju/19920521.html

2. 1st episode from this YT poster. You can search for more episodes.

Another is The 3 Kingdoms / 三国演义 (1994 CCTV version, 84 episodes total)
Links:
1. https://nnyy.in/dianshiju/19943616.html

fired0ll

繁花 I haven't watched, intend to keep it till I really run out of show then watch. 天下长河 I can't remember why I stop halfway. 风起陇西 also good @Irenicus91

I watching 紫川 now, not bad I would say.
Tia gong the story for 紫川 is the 败笔

yokine3a

Tia gong the story for 紫川 is the 败笔
I watch till episode 10, so far I would say quite ok, not those meaningless you fight I fight just to win.
But as usual, men are the heroes, women are vase role, no need brain just be pretty can liao.

Laneige

cant stand c-drama wuxia purely because the male leads all the same. skinny and pale look like some gu niangs.
then character wise, all of them are cold cold act cool kind. see liao also sian..

last time wuxia shows like tianlong, shediao, the male lead all hunky types, like 古天乐杨过,胡军乔峰, etc..

nowadays c-drama really cannot see liao..
Got ah
The hao Siao don’t know B or C grade drama the male leads more man

the more popular A the more guniang

Krabs.

saw this miniseries preview clips
授她以柄
male chauvinist theme , about the guy force his 嫂子 the Empress to kiss him and cuckold the emperor ... eventually is sad theme he get arrowed like porcupine

actress 明加加 , in many of these miniseries
this video 800k views in 12 days

full length

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.