[BREAKING!] Minister Sim Ann: Singaporean Chinese Are Not Overseas Chinese

eno_lc

She stating a fact we can see many glass hearts cannot tahan riao!
Dun understand these glass hearts, even ccp own website already say 华侨 refer to chinese residing overseas but still holding China citizenship

uselessbum

This wasn't so much of a talking point decades ago because very few sinkies were originally from other countries. Fast forward to present day where a much more significant portion of our citizens are naturalized ones and that's why it's becoming more contentious. I wouldn't be surprised if 40% or more of each racial group were made up of naturalized citizens.

Fact is that most new citizens (in any country) will still hold a strong affinity for the place that were born in and grew up in. At the current rate, there will come a day where "sinkie" no longer exists and citizens here are all just in name only but split along the lines of the "motherland" that they originally came from and still support. It will also likely be the day that our constitution is amended to allow dual (or more) citizenship.

:(

TUV2008

It is their jobs as government to foster a sense of national identity no?

we are not HK and Taiwan, Our national identity has been crystal clear since 1965 for more than 50 years.

Why now then talk on national identity? we did not get independence just yesterday.

jerryl

Dun understand these glass hearts, even ccp own website already say 华侨 refer to chinese residing overseas but still holding China citizenship
Doesn't need them to understand, they can't accept or face the truth

cpuer

we are not HK and Taiwan, Our national identity has been crystal clear since 1965 for more than 50 years.

Why now then talk on national identity? we did not get independence just yesterday.
we are an immigrant society, this work of national identify cannot stop one. Old society that started off ethnically homogeneous also need to do that now,

mooseolly

Don't think so.
I checked on a few websites - @LoneTraveller is correct i.e. 华侨 hold PRC passports.
Correct. 侨 (qiáo), which means "guest" or "sojourner."

The term is typically used to refer to people who have emigrated from China and who have not yet obtained citizenship in their new country of residence.

tt88

We can simply distinguish:

华侨:Born in China, holds Chinese citizenship, resides in a foreign country, and still identifies as Chinese.

华人:Born in China, previously held Chinese citizenship, but has acquired foreign citizenship and is now considered a foreigner.

华裔:Descendant of Chinese people (either Huaren or Huaqiao), born in a foreign country, and has been a foreigner since birth.

我们可以简单区别:

华侨:生在中国,中国籍,旅居国外,还是中国人。

华人:生在中国,加入外国国籍,已经是外国人。

华裔:先辈是华人,出生在国外,生来就是外国人。

Sylar22

we are an immigrant society, this work of national identify cannot stop one. Old society that started off ethnically homogeneous also need to do that now,
how about Australia ?

kongbakpao71

The "chinese" 中华民族 race was invented in 1902 which brought NOTHING but DISASTERS 1 after another for O1 O2 O3 groups East Asians till today.

It's NOTHING but A FRANKENSTEIN MONSTER!!!🤬🤬🤬

不认同中华民族和炎黄子孙符号的闽南裔新加坡人路过。

Jurchen King

In before this GIF:
0zLwJMD.gif

luvbitez

After Lim Chin Siong, there wasnt any real CCP influenced agent until PSP Philip Chan. its natural to be vigilant now.

kongbakpao71

We can simply distinguish:

华侨:Born in China, holds Chinese citizenship, resides in a foreign country, and still identifies as Chinese.

华人:Born in China, previously held Chinese citizenship, but has acquired foreign citizenship and is now considered a foreigner.

华裔:Descendant of Chinese people (either Huaren or Huaqiao), born in a foreign country, and has been a foreigner since birth.

我们可以简单区别:

华侨:生在中国,中国籍,旅居国外,还是中国人。

华人:生在中国,加入外国国籍,已经是外国人。

华裔:先辈是华人,出生在国外,生来就是外国人。
问题是解释权并不在我们手里,它们可以仗着人多势众来打压我们,不然就没有文革了。

不认同中华民族和炎黄子孙符号的闽南裔新加坡人路过。

thekh21

they let south asian ft u know where in,and the ft often refer locals ch. as "china"don't they know

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.