[BREAKING!] Minister Sim Ann: Singaporean Chinese Are Not Overseas Chinese

erwinrommel

Quite disconcerting to see there's even a debate on this.

Imgaine if china and india fights a war (possible due to their border scuffle)... what will happen to our society when "some chinese" and "some indians" here decided to help both countries even though they are locally born here?

TUV2008

After Lim Chin Siong, there wasnt any real CCP influenced agent until PSP Philip Chan. its natural to be vigilant now.

Lim CS and this Philip Chan are of different era. Yes, during the Lim's era the threat is high, in today's context I honestly doubt with this Philip Chan one hand can do any miracle.

yew lun

Then chinese is a race or nationally ? Is Oxford dictionary can define it? Is is
We can simply distinguish:

华侨:Born in China, holds Chinese citizenship, resides in a foreign country, and still identifies as Chinese.

华人:Born in China, previously held Chinese citizenship, but has acquired foreign citizenship and is now considered a foreigner.

华裔:Descendant of Chinese people (either Huaren or Huaqiao), born in a foreign country, and has been a foreigner since birth.

我们可以简单区别:

华侨:生在中国,中国籍,旅居国外,还是中国人。

华人:生在中国,加入外国国籍,已经是外国人。

华裔:先辈是华人,出生在国外,生来就是外国人。
Can chu tell me in Oxford dictionary..wad is the word for 华侨 华人 华裔? All the same..if so..how we differential? Need to make big compose in sentences when telling others ? Like

foxer77

All the ft that converted and take pink ic don't think that..
Here is just a stepping stone

tt88

问题是解释权并不在我们手里,它们可以仗着人多势众来打压我们,不然就没有文革了。

不认同中华民族和炎黄子孙符号的闽南裔新加坡人路过。

谢谢你分享的观点。每个人都有权利选择自己的身份认同,包括是否认同中华民族和炎黄子孙。
我建议阅读一些相关材料,了解不同观点,形成自己的看法。

CaptchaCheebeh

This wasn't so much of a talking point decades ago because very few sinkies were originally from other countries. Fast forward to present day where a much more significant portion of our citizens are naturalized ones and that's why it's becoming more contentious. I wouldn't be surprised if 40% or more of each racial group were made up of naturalized citizens.

Fact is that most new citizens (in any country) will still hold a strong affinity for the place that were born in and grew up in. At the current rate, there will come a day where "sinkie" no longer exists and citizens here are all just in name only but split along the lines of the "motherland" that they originally came from and still support. It will also likely be the day that our constitution is amended to allow dual (or more) citizenship.

:(
Soon we can have Captain Singapura: GRC Wars

tt88

Then chinese is a race or nationally ? Is Oxford dictionary can define it? Is is

Can chu tell me in Oxford dictionary..wad is the word for 华侨 华人 华裔? All the same..if so..how we differential? Need to make big compose in sentences when telling others ? Like

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) doesn't have direct entries for 华侨 (huáqiáo), 华人 (huárén), and 华裔 (huàyì) because they are Chinese terms. However, it does have related entries that can help you understand the difference:

• Overseas Chinese: This is the closest equivalent to 华侨 (huáqiáo) and refers to someone of Chinese descent who lives in a foreign country but still holds Chinese citizenship.
  • Chinese descent: This can be used for both 华人 (huárén) and 华裔 (huàyì). It describes someone whose family originates from China.

pattanispirit

wow that's damn shiok. can earn CPF here and cash out when they want to return to India by giving up citizenship?

i also hope Taiwan can do the same thing, as long as you have grandparents who are from Taiwan you can return and get citizenship.

u can move to TW if u like, just like those HK protestors who moved to TW to set up new life there.

a few HK actors, actresses like Chapman To & his wife, Anthony Wong, etc have moved since the Yellow Umbrella protests.

2e23c61f5d66fcf7c48e922abaa2e063.jpg

Regular Application​

If you have spent at least five years in a row living legally in Taiwan (or three if you are married to a Taiwanese citizen), and have studied a bit of Chinese, you can apply for Taiwanese citizenship. You must renounce your existing citizenship as part of the process.

PROOF OF FUNDS OR ABILITY​

If you already have Permanent Residence (APRC) in Taiwan, you are exempt from proving your personal finances. For everyone else, you must gather documents such as tax records, pay slips and bank statements that show you have one of:

• A salary above twice the minimum wage (i.e. >NT$47,600 as of 2020)
  • Property or funds worth more than NT$5 million
  • A Taiwan-recognised professional/technical skill certificate or license
  • Proof you are employed in the high-tech industry
If you are married to a Taiwanese national or have Taiwanese children, requirements are lower.

https://citizenship.tw/regular-appl...l, you must be,married to a Taiwanese citizen.

Ambergris

https://www.8world.com/singapore/budget-2024-budget-and-you-sim-ann-2396966

沈颖:文化和国民认同是两回事 新加坡华人不是华侨​

如今网络上的资讯发达,国人在分析这些资讯时,该如何辨识一些会影响国人凝聚力的讯息?国家发展部兼外交部高级政务部长沈颖指出,国人要时刻都记住国民认同和文化认同是两回事, 例如我国的华族人士是新加坡华人,不是华侨。

国家发展部兼外交部高级政务部长沈颖在接受《点看预算案》访问时提及,国人每天从手机或互联网所获得的资讯非常多,不过国人时刻都记住国民认同和文化认同是两回事。

她以我国的华族人士举例解释:“我们既是新加坡公民,也是新加坡华人,但我们不是华侨。”

在手机上或互联网所获得的大量信息,沈颖希望国人思考这些信息是不是基于文化认同或是其他的身份,希望能争取读者去支持某一个立场,也必须深入思考这个立场是否符合我国作为多元种族国家的基本利益。

另外,对于那些利用比较煽情或用比较批判的字眼,吸引眼球的信息,沈颖呼吁国人深入思考作者是否想要引起读者比较强烈的情绪,以及背后是否有其他的意图。

“最重要的是,考虑这些信息是否符合我国作为一个多元种族社会的一个利益。”

Nowadays, information on the Internet is developed. When analyzing this information, how should Chinese people identify information that will affect the cohesion of Chinese people? Shen Ying, Senior Minister of State for the Ministry of National Development and Foreign Affairs, pointed out that Chinese people must always remember that national identity and cultural identity are two different things.

Shen Ying, Senior Minister of State for the Ministry of National Development and Foreign Affairs, mentioned in an interview with "Budget Point" that Chinese people get a lot of information from mobile phones or the Internet every day, but Chinese people always remember that national identity and cultural identity are two different things. .

She explained using the example of Chinese people in our country: "We are both Singapore citizens and Singaporean Chinese, but we are not overseas Chinese."

Shen Ying hopes that the Chinese people will think about whether this information is based on cultural identity or other identities. She hopes to win over readers to support a certain position. Shen Ying also needs to think deeply about whether this position is consistent with our country as a diverse country. fundamental interests of the racial state.

In addition, for information that uses more sensational or more critical words to attract attention, Shen Ying calls on Chinese people to think deeply about whether the author wants to arouse stronger emotions in readers, and whether there are other intentions behind it.

"Above all, consider whether this information is in the interest of our country as a multiracial society."

She is not wrong in the present interpretation, in the past 华侨 is often referred as overseas Chinese overseas (migrated or borned overseas) which made the difference, but the terminology had changed into Chinese nationals who are overseas, which I don't see why they need to call themselves 华侨, afterall they are still AT 中国人, calling themselves 华侨 sounds more satki?

luvbitez

Lim CS and this Philip Chan are of different era. Yes, during the Lim's era the threat is high, in today's context I honestly doubt with this Philip Chan one hand can do any miracle.

the two different era but having same objectives.
threat now higher with 70% sympathising ccp china, philip chan surely not alone but only the tip of a gigantic iceberg.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.