[BREAKING!] Minister Sim Ann: Singaporean Chinese Are Not Overseas Chinese

yew lun

Still not very clear. If put this sentence, very hard for ang mo to understand.. I am xxxxx chinese, chinese is my culture , I have chinese culture, but I am not chinese.

Thus chu think Oxford dictionary better create new English word to define 华侨 , 华人 , 华裔 .
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) doesn't have direct entries for 华侨 (huáqiáo), 华人 (huárén), and 华裔 (huàyì) because they are Chinese terms. However, it does have related entries that can help you understand the difference:

• Overseas Chinese: This is the closest equivalent to 华侨 (huáqiáo) and refers to someone of Chinese descent who lives in a foreign country but still holds Chinese citizenship.
  • Chinese descent: This can be used for both 华人 (huárén) and 华裔 (huàyì). It describes someone whose family originates from China.

Laneige

Guess all these just show how complicated ppl r
And the more we want to divide then the more divided we will be

like the woke lo
Or how everyone wants their voices heard
Then all become v messy liao
End up is humans or adults too complicated
they want to replace all english words to hypy to reduce western influence.. examples:

Fmbw1USXEAAYS9h

FmbwzYlWYAEL1-8

FmbwxyLWYAYb971
no nice leh but if I go there maybe my pinyin will 突飞猛进
😂

They have big logo
Maybe they hope it can replace the English words

BlackWing1977

we are not HK and Taiwan, Our national identity has been crystal clear since 1965 for more than 50 years.

Why now then talk on national identity? we did not get independence just yesterday.
You dunno we been importing new citizens?? So why shouldn't the job of fostering National Identity be a on-going thing... and this speech by her is the exact reasons why it has to be done.. despite getting citizenships in Singapore.. new citizens dun necessary feel loyal to Singapore.. or even identify with this national identity...

BlackWing1977

Still not very clear. If put this sentence, very hard for ang mo to understand.. I am xxxxx chinese, chinese is my culture , I have chinese culture, but I am not chinese.

Thus chu think Oxford dictionary better create new English word to define 华侨 , 华人 , 华裔 .
You talk like this nobody would understand you... :ROFLMAO:

Since you keep emphasizing on the word Chinese like the Chinese-ness of you overtake everything else.

There are words to say it that make it easy to understand.. I think LKY ever said it before when someone think he is chinese and ask him as a Chinese person about China. He said I am Singaporean of Chinese ethnic stock... or you can put it more simple like I am Singaporean who is of ethnic Chinese descent.

luvbitez

so what will happen to our 华侨银行Overseas Chinese Banking Corporation (OCBC)? must change name? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Maybe should change to 华裔银行 for sinkies chinese :s42:

if development bank of singapore could become DBS banking group 星展银行 without reference to sg then OCBC can just be OCBC Group n 欧希逼希银行 in chinese.

yew lun

if development bank of singapore could become DBS banking group 星展银行 without reference to sg then OCBC can just be OCBC Group n 欧希逼希银行 in chinese.
Change new name..need registration names again. Bank books need to reprints.. cheques books need to reprints. Very huat for suppliers. Lol.

luvbitez

Change new name..need registration names again. Bank books need to reprints.. cheques books need to reprints. Very huat for suppliers. Lol.
mybfd.
if a greater form of danger is looming around to sinicize everything, we must double down on de-sinicization.

shine0204

Downplaying SG Chinese racial and cultural identity is WRONG strategy to deter China influence on SG. Such a strategy stems from the mistaken erroneous belief that China represents authentic Chinese cultures and a lack of understanding what Chinese culture are.

The reality is that China doesn’t know and no longer practise many traditional Chinese cultures. They are actually less Chinese than some overseas Chinese. PRC are Chinese in the sense of nationality, but not Chinese in the cultural sense.

The correct way to deter China influence is to emphasise that China doesn’t represent authentic Chinese culture. PRC is not Chinese in the cultural sense. We should bring back dialect and discourage the use and learning of mandarin. It may make some sense to learn mandarin in the past on economic reasons. But, given the non-reversible decline China is on now, it makes sense to pivot back to learning dialects. This is how SG should cut off ourselves with China.
totally agree 100%. As posted earlier, "mandarin is FAKE mother-tounge imposed by MOE" for some Chinese families in Spore. Eg,1st gen in WW2 here spoke dialects ( hokkien, teochew, cantonese, hakka, hainanese) then 1950s-80s sent 2nd gen to English ( eg mission) schs, such Chinese families spoke ONLY DIALECTS+ENGLISH at homes (not mandarin). Suddenly MOE coerced mandarin CL2 syllabus onto all students. WORST-mega-hell-policy was MOE in past calculated "JC mandarin grades" as COMPULSORY for Nus/Ntu admission. Such absurd policies have now U-turned & today "JC-mandarin" is OPTIONAL for Uni-admssion. MOE owes a sincere apology to many Chinese children whose childhood was made HELL struggling with a "fake-mother-tounge until ADVANCED Jc level" when NONE of their parents/uncles/aunts/grandparents ever spoke a word of Mandarin at home.

orwell76

totally agree 100%. As posted earlier, "mandarin is FAKE mother-tounge imposed by MOE" for some Chinese families in Spore. Eg,1st gen in WW2 here spoke dialects ( hokkien, teochew, cantonese, hakka, hainanese) then 1950s-80s sent 2nd gen to English ( eg mission) schs, such Chinese families spoke ONLY DIALECTS+ENGLISH at homes (not mandarin). Suddenly MOE coerced mandarin CL2 syllabus1970s-90s to all students, WORST mother-of-hell-policy was MOE calculated "JC mandarin grades" as COMPULSORY for Nus/Ntu admission. Such an absurd policy has now U-turned & today "JC-mandarin" is OPTIONAL for Uni-admssion. MOE OWES a sincere apology to Chinese children whose childhood was made HELL for learning a "fake-mother-tounge" when NONE of their parents/uncles/aunts/grandparents had ever spoken a word of Mandarin at home.

PTH is a Bejing officialdom speak of northern origin

yew lun

totally agree 100%. As posted earlier, "mandarin is FAKE mother-tounge imposed by MOE" for some Chinese families in Spore. Eg,1st gen in WW2 here spoke dialects ( hokkien, teochew, cantonese, hakka, hainanese) then 1950s-80s sent 2nd gen to English ( eg mission) schs, such Chinese families spoke ONLY DIALECTS+ENGLISH at homes (not mandarin). Suddenly MOE coerced mandarin CL2 syllabus1970s-90s to all students, WORST mother-of-hell-policy was MOE calculated "JC mandarin grades" as COMPULSORY for Nus/Ntu admission. Such an absurd policy has now U-turned & today "JC-mandarin" is OPTIONAL for Uni-admssion. MOE OWES a sincere apology to Chinese children whose childhood was made HELL for learning a "fake-mother-tounge" when NONE of their parents/uncles/aunts/grandparents had ever spoken a word of Mandarin at home.
First ..as per logic..pls go bakc ask Yr parents..uncles aunts..why wan to speak only mandarin with u / kids while talked to each other with dialects. Secondly.. ask Yr self.. if u have kids..u spoke to them with mandarin or mixed English, mandarin or.. First 2 3 lines English then repeat the same sentences with mandarin again? And of so..why.. ps. My stand.is ask Yr parents..yrself First before asking moe policy.

TUV2008

I thought edwmer already have a good direct translation for OCBC?

TUV2008

You dunno we been importing new citizens?? So why shouldn't the job of fostering National Identity be a on-going thing... and this speech by her is the exact reasons why it has to be done.. despite getting citizenships in Singapore.. new citizens dun necessary feel loyal to Singapore.. or even identify with this national identity...

That mean there is a fraud in our system in admitting new citizen

eeLoyH

Never diagree with it before, it is just your suspicious nature that think otherwise.

Simple as it is , We/I am Singaporean Chinese/Indian/Malay, my ancestry is from China/India/Malaysia etc etc.

But there is always stirrer that want to play words game in language and as usual people tend to fall for it. Cheers
This is literally answer like no answer/no reply/no intent.. etc etc

the one that’s stirring is always you who want to pick out specific stuff to talk about.

that’s why wanted to make sure you have same colour IC as allegiance instead :)

Vegitto

I always proudly tell PRCs ''我是新加坡人!!!!!!!''

All will reply the same and asked ''您是什么祖籍?''

Back to square one

Answer back with 祖籍是中华民国的国民 :crazy:

Chocoz

华裔means of Chinese descent which is correct. 华侨by right should only refer to prc citizens that is away from China.

There is a difference and one should know the difference.
I am aware of that. What I meant is the subtext (ie nuances) implied by such terms. There is a subtle reminder of one's place of origin implied by both, no? (And depending on context, this can be manipulated, especially on the susceptible, to evoke a longing for the motherland, etc.) Correct me if I'm wrong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.