[GPGT] $160 for child's cough+fever: Parent complain & question clinic for overcharging...Wife had to reject some medication to lower fee to $104...

LoaGong12

I usually use company insurance for GP. Sometimes the doctor will consult and prescribe medications. Then when outside billing time, the missy will say oh, under panel, then she will go see the doctor then come back and changed all the medication. I can see all changed to the cheaper generic ones.

I don't know how they charge the insurer eventually, but you can see most GPs don't care whether you live or die, the medication will give the cheapest if under panel insurance.

some generics are identical eg paracetamol vs panadol

LoaGong12

I also want to say, Singapore is unique to have some many clinics with doctors. You try staying in US, Australia. You must have a well stocked first aid kit and medicines. The "first responders" will be the local pharmacy and pharmacist.
kids how? can be dangerous…

Bumblebee Man

These clinics have recently raised their prices a lot. I used to pay about 20-30 for common fever or flu. Now I'm paying close to 60 at the same clinic for same symptoms.

caterham7

Unethical profiteering ??... :unsure:

Posted by De Tan in Complaint Singapore FB
I want to complain about my daughter medical fee overcharged and doctor unethical conduct.

My wife brought my child to clinic for cough and little bit of fever. Based on my knowledge the doctor should be upfront about the charges before consultation especially the initial fee is $160 which is very high, this against doctor Professional conduct. The doctor only informed my wife the charges after the consultation. My wife had to return certain medicines which she didn't request for, then reduced to $104. My wife didn't agree the charges but the doctor didn't bother to explain. The doctor seem to be guilty as I called the clinic to inform him to return my call, he never call me back.

My daughter visited private clinics for this type of sickness is always between $30 to $45. Even on one Sunday, my wife brought my daughter went to see other private clinics on same sickness, the doctor upfront to inform my wife consultation plus medicines charges is $65 which is higher than their weekdays charges before he proceed to check my child temperature etc. In this case, my wife agreed as most the clinic closed on Sunday, the price is quite reasonable and the doctor was upfront.

My recent visit to another private clinic, I show my daughter medical bill, the doctor told me if she charge $50 per visit she will feel expensive. She told me a bottle of cough syrups cost about $5 or $6 and fever medicines all should be less than $50. My request for doctor to call but no call at all. They closed my case for sake closing my case right in beginning they not interested to communicate at all they want to "chop us" by overcharging.

I shared with others, others told me expensive charges for a child for minor sickness during weekday with 1 day MC. They told me if I have few kids fall sick in a month it will cost me about $500 medical fee alone in a month as the kids share toys etc, especially initial fee is $160.

432605984_2448198425384061_5275709161656531671_n.jpg

432624053_2448198445384059_3853280403467023276_n.jpg
for adults, recommend polyclinic telemedicine

cheap and no need to go down long queue
https://polyclinic.singhealth.com.sg/vc-general-medical-conditions

coutuser

I usually use company insurance for GP. Sometimes the doctor will consult and prescribe medications. Then when outside billing time, the missy will say oh, under panel, then she will go see the doctor then come back and changed all the medication. I can see all changed to the cheaper generic ones.

I don't know how they charge the insurer eventually, but you can see most GPs don't care whether you live or die, the medication will give the cheapest if under panel insurance.
I thought clinic see panel insurance will chop gao gao since company pay?
What's wrong with asking why I need to pay more money?

LKY is already dead. dead man gong wei boh pa kay liao.
Should tell that to the other countries that jelly taylor swift come here

drkcynic

I thought clinic see panel insurance will chop gao gao since company pay?

Should tell that to the other countries that jelly taylor swift come here
One of the nurse told me they had past instances where they prescribed certain medications liao then panel insurer don't allow them to claim. So they only prescribed "allowed" medications now which I assume are the cheaper ones.

coutuser

One of the nurse told me they had past instances where they prescribed certain medications liao then panel insurer don't allow them to claim. So they only prescribed "allowed" medications now which I assume are the cheaper ones.
but when registration already know patient is panel insured mah.

fortunecat

I feel that all medical clinics charged very differently. Dun seem to have some price standards to follow

fandango

Perhaps good to ask yourself, how would you react in such a scenario.

Sunday night. 9pm. Your wife tells you your 12month old son having fever 38.5 degrees.

Do you:

1. Drop everything and bring him see doctor straight away

Or

2. Tell wife to give him some dosage of infant paracetamol and monitor the fever for one night. If fever persist, next day Monday go polyclinic.

drkcynic

but when registration already know patient is panel insured mah.
Yeah my experience of them changing medications at checkout happened once, perhaps the nurse was new but the entire batch of medication was changed once they knew I was on the panel.

Most of the time they will know from the start and as the nurse stated, the medication differs.

muji4832

Sure anot ??? GP receipt got breakdown one meh ??? How come I only see 1 lump sum from my GP.

Happens quite often at my local clinic.
Most of the time, workers only want the MC. They don't want to pay for the overpriced paracetamol, which is basically just panadol. MOM regulations state that employers only have to cover your consultation fee, but don't have to cover your medication costs, so a lot of SME bosses won't reimburse medicine.

VisualC

in sickapore, pediatrician charge that kind of sky high price.
consultation fees alone is $70~100 or above :mad:

u can google and check to compare

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.