Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

testerjp

I thought I saw somewhere about maximum stay of 180 days a year for those without formal working or MM2H visas etc.

How do these Singaporeans without such formal immigration passes "stay in JB/Malaysia"? If it is a case of returning to Singapore every so often, that would necessitate a semi-permanent residence in Singapore still, right?
They are trying their luck. Their luck can run out one day.

The mm2h take up rate is also very low among Singaporeans. Cannot be sinkies are not applying, most likely Malaysian govt are playing punk.

Can apply for mm2h don't mean that sure you can get it 100pct approved.

In the meantime, she added that the couple will continue commuting from Singapore to Johor Bahru via social visit pass to visit their home.

However, Alter Domus’ Mr Ch’ng warned that foreigners who stay in Malaysian property for long stretches without a long-term visa risk running afoul of Malaysian immigration laws and could get their identities blacklisted and barred from entry.

He explained that under Malaysia immigration laws, foreigners with no long-term visas are not permitted to stay in Malaysia for longer stretches than the duration they stay outside of Malaysia.

“For example if (a person on social visit pass) stays (for) 28 days in Malaysia, you have to stay outside the country for 29 or 30 days before you can come back in. If not, your travel pattern might raise alarm bells and you might be barred from entry,” said Mr Ch’ng.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asi...oreigners-residency-properties-delays-4006451

zensushi

They are trying their luck. Their luck can run out one day.

In the meantime, she added that the couple will continue commuting from Singapore to Johor Bahru via social visit pass to visit their home.

However, Alter Domus’ Mr Ch’ng warned that foreigners who stay in Malaysian property for long stretches without a long-term visa risk running afoul of Malaysian immigration laws and could get their identities blacklisted and barred from entry.

He explained that under Malaysia immigration laws, foreigners with no long-term visas are not permitted to stay in Malaysia for longer stretches than the duration they stay outside of Malaysia.

“For example if (a person on social visit pass) stays (for) 28 days in Malaysia, you have to stay outside the country for 29 or 30 days before you can come back in. If not, your travel pattern might raise alarm bells and you might be barred from entry,” said Mr Ch’ng.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asi...oreigners-residency-properties-delays-4006451

Then what would be the "proper" way to stay in Malaysia apart from work/spouse or MM2H visas?

Would love to know as we are seriously considering a purchase in the near future...

testerjp

Then what would be the "proper" way to stay in Malaysia apart from work/spouse or MM2H visas?

Would love to know as we are seriously considering a purchase in the near future...

No other proper way. Most countries outside are hard to get PR. Singapore is an exception.

Any particular reason why must it be Malaysia other than it's near?
I suggest that you compare with Thailand and Taiwan first.

Malaysia is hostile towards us, they won't welcome us. The present Malaysia govt is imo very unstable.

zensushi

No other proper way. Most countries outside are hard to get PR. Singapore is an exception.

Any particular reason why must it be Malaysia other than it's near?
I suggest that you compare with Thailand and Taiwan first.

Malaysia is hostile towards us, they won't welcome us. The present Malaysia govt is imo very unstable.

My gals are into ice-skating. Thought of buying a unit at the attached residences for a "home base" whenever we visit the mall.

Aaagogo

there's the official MM2H that you can try apply, or you can do the NS method.

previously before these 2 dumb dumbs, there was also this

i think CNA also cover before, so it's an open secret...

my and sg, all just wayang wayang only, all former colonies, so we know better to stick together and just poke each other.

there is actually significant improvements in their process for doing business in JB, ease of obtaining a bank account being one. also it's much easier and smoother process to get a business license.

not to mention that #therotisatthetop because I can still buy authentic fake driver license in JB, hologram sticker and all, just cannot buy the record inside Singpass.

here in jb, still can enjoy paying for time; ie, i went to do my paperwork for buying car, i didn't have to wait a whole day in there, i can pay to skip the queue? should that be allowed? is that corruption? it's a building full of people doing the same thing, and they have to wait there for the number to be called...

or is that like disney, i can buy the fast track pass on top of my admission ticket? Heck, i can even pay even more for a disney employee to just bring me to the front of the line.

they have gone from being about 30 years behind singapore, to about 10... so it's an improvement.

rrr2015

My gals are into ice-skating. Thought of buying a unit at the attached residences for a "home base" whenever we visit the mall.
better rent, anything can change at a stroke of the pen. just look at MM2H

Aaagogo

JB and SG linked by blood, so dun worry too much

most malay and chinese singaporeans still can trace back 1 or 2 gen to a at least distant relative in JB. not that hard to find crossborder couples too

SantyBalls

~rm5 for 30 grade a/b eggs

~90rm for 4plate rice + 1 whole hainanese chicken

Where else can find? So cheap!

Coffeelix

I won’t recommend anyone to buy unless u have tried staying long term and is double sure you and your offspring will stay long long term

The cost to own is very high.

To sell will be big loss to sg…

only my will sell at gain..

my friends have been trying to sell for more than 2 years of their 2 condo to no avail…

TLCTLC88

What's the typical shelvelife of eggs?
Their clearance is usually 2-3weeks.

U buy off the shelve on the same day also same best b4 date.
Usually those I bought from supermarkets are about 1 month. 1 tray of 30 eggs takes me 6 weeks to finish. I kept them in fridge so last longer.

SantyBalls

Usually those I bought from supermarkets are about 1 month. 1 tray of 30 eggs takes me 6 weeks to finish. I kept them in fridge so last longer.
I am currently at giant. They have eggs best before from 5april to 21 april. All same price.

Your expectations too high.

For me msia eggs are about half price of sg. Clearance 50% off means 1/4 price.

30eggs, as long as consume at least 10, it's alrdy savings liao. Dunnid care so much.

Oh ya and im comparing msia grade a/b vs sg grade b/c/equivalent

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.