Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

TLCTLC88

I am currently at giant. They have eggs best before from 5april to 21 april. All same price.

Your expectations too high.

For me msia eggs are about half price of sg. Clearance 50% off means 1/4 price.

30eggs, as long as consume at least 10, it's alrdy savings liao. Dunnid care so much.

Oh ya and im comparing msia grade a/b vs sg grade b/c/equivalent
I think u misunderstood me. I bought my eggs from JB too. Supermarkets refer to those in JB like lotus and I have never seen any 50% discount yet. Maybe Aeon has which I didn't go.

Anyway thanks.

rrr2015

To qualify mm2h, one nid to have min rm40k mthly income. Crazy!
IIRC it wasn't like that in early days. much less & simpler for those under 50. above 50 just place deposit, a year later can withdraw half to buy property, car insurance

i think they might have learn from thailand & start to change rules, hopefully to attract more valuable (READ high value) MM2Hers :LOL:

so recently they promise to revamp to make it easier. not sure new changes have been finalized or still flipping prata 🤷‍♂️

rrr2015

I am currently at giant. They have eggs best before from 5april to 21 april. All same price.

Your expectations too high.

For me msia eggs are about half price of sg. Clearance 50% off means 1/4 price.

30eggs, as long as consume at least 10, it's alrdy savings liao. Dunnid care so much.

Oh ya and im comparing msia grade a/b vs sg grade b/c/equivalent
so do u know those eggs from which farm? or just no brand eggs from any farm?

SantyBalls

I think u misunderstood me. I bought my eggs from JB too. Supermarkets refer to those in JB like lotus and I have never seen any 50% discount yet. Maybe Aeon has which I didn't go.

Anyway thanks.
i saying your 1mth expiry expectation too high. popular supermarkets like ksl lotus shouldnt have need for clearance. their shelves cleared by afternoon. their restock by pallets, often times pallet just left on ground. their egg section is literally right outside their storeroom.

for aeon sutera need wait their staff go tag 1. usually 4pm+ they start. now fasting, is after break fast.

SantyBalls

so do u know those eggs from which farm? or just no brand eggs from any farm?
curious why you wanna know which farm or brand?
most of the time i buy CP brand. the same 1 known here for their dumplings.

if ur concern is quality control, this is aeon. a jap multinational retailer whose revenue is the top few in the world, and iirc top in japan. safe to say they have the proper sop and safety standards as a retailer.
i have more concerns about the regulars here buying eggs from noname neighbourhood shops lol.

yobyella

IIRC it wasn't like that in early days. much less & simpler for those under 50. above 50 just place deposit, a year later can withdraw half to buy property, car insurance

i think they might have learn from thailand & start to change rules, hopefully to attract more valuable (READ high value) MM2Hers :LOL:

so recently they promise to revamp to make it easier. not sure new changes have been finalized or still flipping prata 🤷‍♂️

One of several reasons mm2h not as popular or in demand is the mthly Rm40k passive income. Threshold for landed properties Rm2 mil. :rolleyes: During Jib kor time it was only Rm10k. Threshold for landed above Rm500k. So affordable for boomers and retirees.

rrr2015

One of several reasons mm2h not as popular or in demand is the mthly Rm40k passive income. Threshold for landed properties Rm2 mil. :rolleyes: During Jib kor time it was only Rm10k. Threshold for landed above Rm500k. So affordable for boomers and retirees.
my point is when decide to apply MM2H or buy property in MY, just remember that rules can change anytime.

rrr2015

curious why you wanna know which farm or brand?
most of the time i buy CP brand. the same 1 known here for their dumplings.
yes important for me to know which farm or brand. so those 30 eggs tray discount were from CP brand & not no frills?

CP is a thai company that produce all sort of frozen processed food. didn't know they are well known for dumplings
if ur concern is quality control, this is aeon. a jap multinational retailer whose revenue is the top few in the world, and iirc top in japan. safe to say they have the proper sop and safety standards as a retailer.
i have more concerns about the regulars here buying eggs from noname neighbourhood shops lol.
huh aeon does QC check for eggs? thought that's responsibility of agriculture & food security ministry? :LOL:

Andrew833

Is true if u can afford the living costs in sg. I also find it a hassle to go there just to buy daily essentials or eat.

I won't buy eggs or whatever from the supermarket just because it is more affordable. It's a hassle to carry back.

That's why i dun go often. I treat it as a holiday break and go in as a tourist. To feel a different vibe from Singapore.
We don't drive no point to go Jb for daily essentials.
I buy those stuffs in watson, usually cheaper and easier to carry back.

Elon Jobs

Usually those I bought from supermarkets are about 1 month. 1 tray of 30 eggs takes me 6 weeks to finish. I kept them in fridge so last longer.

Yeah for me I usually buy the largest available kampung egg from the distributor at Johor Jaya, sometimes it’s AAA sometimes AA, and 2 trays can last me a month on the counter top, but by the last week the egg yolk will get runnier and harder to make over easy as it will break easily.

And yes, putting it in the fridge can extend shelf life by 2-3 weeks.

I’ve bought from them for about 2 years since lockdown over and so far no rotten eggs, but have a few double yolk eggs before. Anyway eggs is very easy to tell when they are rotten.

TLCTLC88

Yeah for me I usually buy the largest available kampung egg from the distributor at Johor Jaya, sometimes it’s AAA sometimes AA, and 2 trays can last me a month on the counter top, but by the last week the egg yolk will get runnier and harder to make over easy as it will break easily.

And yes, putting it in the fridge can extend shelf life by 2-3 weeks.

I’ve bought from them for about 2 years since lockdown over and so far no rotten eggs, but have a few double yolk eggs be Anyway eggs is very easy to tell when they are rotten.

Never have a chance to get eggs from distributor. I'm so jealous 😆

Elon Jobs

You don't have to purposely go over just to pick up one thing. With careful planning, can achieve many tasks on the same day or few hours. Like you said, go for a break. Then think about picking up stuff along the way.

I 100% agree. When I do grocery run at Lotus’s, it’s usually for the next 2-3 weeks. Your mentality cannot be oh today I want to cook fishball soup, so I drive into Johor Bahru to buy noodles and fishball the way you walk to NTUC or SS in Singapore.

It has a be a planned thing, like those people in Australia outback or rural America during winter, they have a shopping list of what they need for the next 30 days and stock up on it. And also, you need to learn how to store fruits and vegetables to prolong their shelf lives- like strawberries has to be kept in air tight containers laced with paper towel, while blueberries can be stored in its original plastic box with holes. Cut onion in cling wrap can last up to a month etc etc.

You will also need a pantry with all the essentials and checklist which items are running out and need stocking up.

If all these is a hassle to you and/or you’re someone who doesn’t do grocery shopping because you have a wife/helper/mother who does it for you or you stay next door to a supermarket, then it’s perfectly fine not to buy any groceries from Johor Bahru. To each his own, you can treat Malaysia like a holiday destination, nothing wrong with that. Massage and good food alone are enough reasons for a lot of Singaporeans to head into Johor Bahru on a weekly basis.

Andrew833

I 100% agree. When I do grocery run at Lotus’s, it’s usually for the next 2-3 weeks. Your mentality cannot be oh today I want to cook fishball soup, so I drive into Johor Bahru to buy noodles and fishball the way you walk to NTUC or SS in Singapore.

It has a be a planned thing, like those people in Australia outback or rural America during winter, they have a shopping list of what they need for the next 30 days and stock up on it. And also, you need to learn how to store fruits and vegetables to prolong their shelf lives- like strawberries has to be kept in air tight containers laced with paper towel, while blueberries can be stored in its original plastic box with holes. Cut onion in cling wrap can last up to a month etc etc.

You will also need a pantry with all the essentials and checklist which items are running out and need stocking up.

If all these is a hassle to you and/or you’re someone who doesn’t do grocery shopping because you have a wife/helper/mother who does it for you or you stay next door to a supermarket, then it’s perfectly fine not to buy any groceries from Johor Bahru. To each his own, you can treat Malaysia like a holiday destination, nothing wrong with that. Massage and good food alone are enough reasons for a lot of Singaporeans to head into Johor Bahru on a weekly basis.

Very well said.

Coffeelix

Over in jb, you can go to shops like the following that sells veggie fruits n poultry at affordable prices.
Most of all, you can buy in the small quantity you desire like 1 lemon or onion etc
Over at Bukit indah, there are several of these shops in the same row.

this one is at Japan rawa rawa / perling

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.