Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

zuppeur

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.

PrinceY

Since when want to cancel still need to pay the annual fee one.. unless there’s some other story we don’t know of..

Just keep escalating not end of world, that person seems to be worrying too much..

probably is just some lousy customer service staff that she had encountered with.. but yea it’s a waste of time..

PaprikaSG

I have a SC credit card and never used for > 2 years and yet they auto waived off my annual fee which I had never asked to waive.

Weird.

zuppeur

Since when want to cancel still need to pay the annual fee one.. unless there’s some other story we don’t know of..

Just keep escalating not end of world, that person seems to be worrying too much..

probably is just some lousy customer service staff that she had encountered with.. but yea it’s a waste of time..

seem like not isolated case
two more people encounter same predicament . hopefully is because they unable to clear their outstanding bill and force to pay annual fee.

Standard Chartered Singapore I did contact your customer service. Their response is annual fee must be paid even I cancel the card. That is unfair and not industrial practice. Please tell me why I should pay for the service I intend to terminate.

Atomcular

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
I managed to call in and quarrel and the CS gave in and cancel card without me having to pay the annual fees

winningeleven

Last year I called them to cancel due to annual fee and they mentioned they couldn't cancel due to outstanding bills (annual fee) . what they did is to waive off the annual fee 1st and 1 day later the card get cancelled . This one I have to check the Internet banking app.

Where got such thing pay annual fee to cancel ? I never heard of any bank doing that until this.

Joseph12

Last year I called them to cancel due to annual fee and they mentioned they couldn't cancel due to outstanding bills (annual fee) . what they did is to waive off the annual fee 1st and 1 day later the card get cancelled . This one I have to check the Internet banking app.

Where got such thing pay annual fee to cancel ? I never heard of any bank doing that until this.
Good for you
Screw these idiots
You don't need to pay fee and they lose a customer

mp4005 help

you 100% need to clear outstanding bill before cancelling. so just pay the entire amount. once payment is in, cancel.

and annual fee is for next year , not past year. so don't need to pay. they will tell you how much to pay.

don't heat these stories. , I realized many people cannot pay the balance or have installment plans with them or monthly payments .. all one sided only.

1l92041H

Yes we experienced the same thing too.

fcking ridiculous, so the best part was after we paid the annual fees, then they allowed to cancel and waive the fees

but because the card is already cancelled the fees cannot credit to our bank account need to issue a cheque to us and triggered their compliance questioning.

fade_white

I have a SC credit card and never used for > 2 years and yet they auto waived off my annual fee which I had never asked to waive.

Weird.
I never use my sc card, every year auto waive and after expiry they auto cancel. I didn’t even realise it

zuppeur

Yes we experienced the same thing too.

fcking ridiculous, so the best part was after we paid the annual fees, then they allowed to cancel and waive the fees

but because the card is already cancelled the fees cannot credit to our bank account need to issue a cheque to us and triggered their compliance questioning.

huh kinda of stupid policy
first time i heard need to pay upfront to cancel.
go 1 big round to return money not only is extra work for the company.
worse it cause anxiety and anger to their customers. it like chase customers away.

liewhl

I had the same exp few year ago and got outstanding balance inside. The CS told me can cancel the card only if there no outstanding balance and I had to pay the annual fee in order to enable the card again and make the payment. Heng, I used the card for some of my spending that year can wavie.

Basically, the CS also cannot do anything, card kena disabled. They are low level staff following policy to ask you to pay and enable the cable.

XiaoJinLing

Normally they block (cancel, cannot use liao) the card then waive off the fees (not paying) and you have to clear all others remaining balances, then close fully lor... thats what I encounter for ocbc but should be all similar for all other banks lor...

Scb I didnt kanna b4.. if kanna if to pay fees to cancel, i will also quarrel with them for sure...

zuppeur

Normally they block (cancel, cannot use liao) the card then waive off the fees (not paying) and you have to clear all others remaining balances, then close fully lor... thats what I encounter for ocbc but should be all similar for all other banks lor...

Scb I didnt kanna b4.. if kanna if to pay fees to cancel, i will also quarrel with them for sure...

i see their fb reply is give u a link to the tnc. suppose dont clear the outstanding amount, card cannot cancel. either ganna late or/and finance charge.

like tio stuck in between, to pay or not to pay

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.