Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

PaprikaSG

I never use my sc card, every year auto waive and after expiry they auto cancel. I didn’t even realise it
Because of this thread, I login to my SC app and check then realized how come auto-waive twice.

TBH, I totally forgot about this card :LOL:

The_Davis

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
Dbs best. Cancel my card also with the late payment fees 😂 want to pay also cannot

Roadster01

CC annual fee is for coming year de.

if want cancel, they will remove the card fee for next year as is not consumed yet, and cancel card.

Muscleman9968

This type is sure Lolan case the bank see no up cannot settle outstanding and also owe many banks jialat jialat kind.. sure they know cannot settle full lan lan after jijiwawa will let it roll over.

I have no problem auto waiver even I don’t often use..

XiaoJinLing

Actually I think all our credit cards bank "history" all can be seen/shared by all the credit cards banks u have up to certain level... so normally if u got bad history with one card all the banks may know... u hv any "bad" history? Some banks will pick on all these... jus suggesting only... I dunno anything la

reno77

That's why I just get SG bank credit cards now. 1 DBS visa and 1 OCBC master card is enough

Ye_Rongtian

U want to use CC, get those with no annual fee lah. CIMB cards all no annual fees. Standard Chartered Smart no annual fee. HSBC Revolution no annual fee. UOB-Singtel no annual fee if you charge recurring monthly singtel bill to the CC.

zuppeur

Dbs best. Cancel my card also with the late payment fees 😂 want to pay also cannot

yes dbs the best
i keep all my dbs card.
very easy to get wavier approval.
many time dbs will just auto approve the waiver.

Lchlch

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
This is too much.

winningeleven

Let say if the annual fee is $190 and the total credit bill is $300 due to some of the spending cost $110. Customer need to clear the $110 1st . They just want to make sure u clear your own bill 1st. Once bank aware u only left the annual fee bill. Then they will "waive" off the bill and cancel the card.

The_Davis

yes dbs the best
i keep all my dbs card.
very easy to get wavier approval.
many time dbs will just auto approve the waiver.
No leh, I kanna forced to cancel Yuu card this time round :(

DigDub

Last time I encountered also with stanchart. Say must pay the annual fees then can cancel. I called again another CSO picked up and waived. Immediately cancelled after that and no more stanchart for me. Lack of standards.

Ye_Rongtian

Last time I encountered also with stanchart. Say must pay the annual fees then can cancel. I called again another CSO picked up and waived. Immediately cancelled after that and no more stanchart for me. Lack of standards.
Any banks reserve the rights not to waive the annual fees. It is in the T&C.

Xenogade

My experience with HSBC was that my card has expired and they send me a new card which i never activated it. Bill come ask me to pay annual fee which i question them back. The officer told me never activate also need to pay annual fee. In the end, i escalated the matter and they cancel my card without the need to pay the annual fee

Kavairs

True. Diff CSO different standard. Some are reali dumb or they act blur/mean to give u more trouble.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.