Iconic Hobby Store, Stargek Tamiya, Closes Down In Singapore, Marks End Of An Era

gilcrest

Stargek took over tamiya from early 2000s, the boss got no daughters.
Strange, face look similar to old man, seen them from young from Victoria Street till now. Never went to the one at Peninsula Plaza. Namecard prominently there same surnames

gilcrest

They have such a big warehouse behind.
Store front is so prominent and easy to locate.

Yet still can up lorry. They totally deserved it.
Made no effort to make it sustainable.
How to make it sustainable ?hobby market is a niche market here; those that pushed on are already a miracle.
You ever read M-Workshop Bernard's long written lament on Facebook how tough it was even from a small outlet

menthol28

Strange, face look similar to old man, seen them from young from Victoria Street till now. Never went to the one at Peninsula Plaza. Namecard prominently there same surnames
I think you mistook stargek from another company... Anyway stargek got the distribution of tamiaya during early 2000s and the only shop or showroom is at the original ona at paya lebar from day one. Previous company that had the distribution was located near north bridge road , near the sultan mosque

menthol28

They have such a big warehouse behind.
Store front is so prominent and easy to locate.

Yet still can up lorry. They totally deserved it.
Made no effort to make it sustainable.
Talk is cheap... You think all businesses dun put it efforts? Where got ppl own businesses dun put in effort, many issues and problems unknown. Tamiya itself is alrdy not very popular and on a downward trend, would you pay more to stock up when stock is not moving?

gilcrest

I think you mistook stargek from another company... Anyway stargek got the distribution of tamiaya during early 2000s and the only shop or showroom is at the original ona at paya lebar from day one. Previous company that had the distribution was located near north bridge road , near the sultan mosque

Hua Hua was the first located at Peninsula Plaza before shifting to North Bridge Rd near mosque . Last time buy kits or paints from there , usually the old man fronts it and generous over small change issues. After Stargek was formed the same old man operates there. The last few years can see his face frail and hair white compare to late 90s. I was loyalled to the Tamiya brand since 76. Only start to shift after 96 when China brands came cheaper and better with their improve molding qualities

gilcrest

Talk is cheap... You think all businesses dun put it efforts? Where got ppl own businesses dun put in effort, many issues and problems unknown. Tamiya itself is alrdy not very popular and on a downward trend, would you pay more to stock up when stock is not moving?
For distributor, they are committed on regular quantity regardless their old stock turnover anot. guess they tanked . I seen the same for IPC Computer dealers

gilcrest

Good riddance.
before covid that year, i once entered the shop to ask for some stuffs and also some paints.

the fecking lao c.b gave 4 words reply.
Me: Do you have this xxxx ?
Lao C.b : No stock.
Me : Then when is the next availability?
Lao C.b : Not sure.

Serve you right. Should have up lorry ages ago.

Sell parts, models, kits all expensive than overseas (+ shipping).

Mast be the fat one; the face got attitude one, the younger one got better attitude. Duno which one is Mindy

coolad74

How to make it sustainable ?hobby market is a niche market here; those that pushed on are already a miracle.
You ever read M-Workshop Bernard's long written lament on Facebook how tough it was even from a small outlet
It’s a very weird inward community. Somewhat mirrored the popularly coined sinkie pawn sinkie.

menthol28

Hua Hua was the first located at Peninsula Plaza before shifting to North Bridge Rd near mosque . Last time buy kits or paints from there , usually the old man fronts it and generous over small change issues. After Stargek was formed the same old man operates there. The last few years can see his face frail and hair white compare to late 90s. I was loyalled to the Tamiya brand since 76. Only start to shift after 96 when China brands came cheaper and better with their improve molding qualities
Yes , stargek boss used to be working for Hua Hua. But then he started stargek aft getting distribution right for tamiya. I think it has it's glory days when Tamiya was still hot during 90s-2000s.

menthol28

For distributor, they are committed on regular quantity regardless their old stock turnover anot. guess they tanked . I seen the same for IPC Computer dealers
Not every business model is the same.

chiokcc

I used to visit Tai Sing Corporation frequently when it was along North Bridge Road .... quite a large collection of die cast models .... now they moves to Textile Center, very limited stuff .... pretty sad .....

coolad74

Guess u are not among the inclusive group of “elites” from m workshop. Early heydays started from miniature hobby at Marina Square. They made quite a name for themselves in the international arena.

GreatPumpkin

Good riddance.
before covid that year, i once entered the shop to ask for some stuffs and also some paints.

the fecking lao c.b gave 4 words reply.
Me: Do you have this xxxx ?
Lao C.b : No stock.
Me : Then when is the next availability?
Lao C.b : Not sure.

Serve you right. Should have up lorry ages ago.

Sell parts, models, kits all expensive than overseas (+ shipping).
I know what you mean. One of the aunties there is sibeh guailan. Very grumpy and impatient if you ask her anything.

Wanna sell at premium price at least be friendly and knowledgable.

chiokcc

Blanco Court or Golden Landmark there .....

I frequent Morgan at Katong more regularly in the past as I stayed East side .....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.