Part of my gold coins collection

KPO_SAHM

Part of my gold coins collection bought at around US$1000/oz. Have China Panda, Canadian Maple, British Sovereign, French rooster, mexicon etc...

https://ibb.co/xHKdNrP
IMG-20240413-000350.jpg

I am also a gold collector.
Gold is gold basically when U sell off it is still based on purify of gold price. Why pay more for fanciful 999 coins?? Maybe next time U would wan to consider gold bar.

bigrooster

Anyone has credible and reasonable lobang to sell all these gold coins and bars?

I went before to Arcade 2nd level to ask but that fella like not interested, gave me some reluctant (non)answer.

KPO_SAHM

I have a gold necklace bought 28 years ago cost about $800, now should up price liao

My last purchase of gold bar was last month during my bd. It was a gift from my hubby. Till today , pricing of gold never down. I have been collecting gold since primary school. My First gold was about $18 per gram bought during the late 80s. Whenever I save up some money I would buy gold. 30 years of collecting gold, i feel happy of my collection. Never regretted rather than spending my money on watches n luxury bags

Zorroh

Nice collection! It’s actually quite addictive. Once you start, you can’t stop 😉

Actually I collect quite a bit of China Pandas and some American Eagles and Australian nuggets. Actually good to send to NGC for grading. Looks better and can appreciate the beauty of the coin 👍🏻

Too bad that the Gold price is too high that I have to stop collecting for a while. Used to buy at $2k a coin/Oz. Now it’s like $3k. Hopefully it can drop a bit, then can continue collecting.
Spot gold price dropped about $100 yesterday, you can quickly buy this weekend. Next week gold will be shooting to historic record high again. Now already $3300 per ounce.

https://www.bullionstar.com/buy/product/gold-coin-uk-britannia-1oz-2024

BTW I don't work for bullionstar, just that they are one of the biggest dealer here. Their price premium can be higher than other sellers.

KPO_SAHM

Zorroh

tS should buy simple gold bars with purity 999. Selling price still the same for china Panda, Canadian Maple, British Sovereign, French rooster, mexicon as compared to gold bars despite of purchasing pricing is more exp than gold bars
The advantage of simple gold bars is that they have slightly lower premium than sovereign gold coins.

It is better to buy gold coins than gold bars as gold coins are usually harder and less profitable to fake. Also gold coins are mostly sovereign money with legal tender. Gold bars can be minted by banks and mints and they can collapse like Credit Suisse although their gold value are still there.

Also gold coins like Pandas can increase their numismatic value over years. Coins can also be graded to increase their value.

https://www.businessinsider.com/tungsten-filled-gold-bars-found-in-new-york-2012-9

https://agmetals.com/techniques-for-identifying-fake-gold/

kwanster

Anyone has credible and reasonable lobang to sell all these gold coins and bars?

I went before to Arcade 2nd level to ask but that fella like not interested, gave me some reluctant (non)answer.
Sell to collectors. Now gold price high and volatile, shops don’t dare to take in too high from you. Risk is there

kwanster

tS should buy simple gold bars with purity 999. Selling price still the same for china Panda, Canadian Maple, British Sovereign, French rooster, mexicon as compared to gold bars despite of purchasing pricing is more exp than gold bars
It’s the beauty of coin, and rarity. When you buy gold, it’s just bullion. But if you buy coin, there is gold value and numismatic value. These 2 will surpass the gold value alone.

kwanster

Spot gold price dropped about $100 yesterday, you can quickly buy this weekend. Next week gold will be shooting to historic record high again. Now already $3300 per ounce.

BTW I don't work for bullionstar, just that they are one of the biggest dealer here. Their price premium can be higher than other sellers.
Want to buy, but too high liao. Need to wait a while. Think the Gaza war plays a part to the high gold price.

KPO_SAHM

It is better to buy gold coins than gold bars as gold coins are usually harder and less profitable to fake. Also gold coins are mostly sovereign money with legal tender. Gold bars can be minted by banks and mints and they can collapse like Credit Suisse although their gold value are still there.

Also gold coins like Pandas can increase their numismatic value over years. Coins can also be graded to increase their value.

https://www.businessinsider.com/tungsten-filled-gold-bars-found-in-new-york-2012-9

https://agmetals.com/techniques-for-identifying-fake-gold/

I only buy credit Suisse bars. Last time used to buy from jewellery shops before Bullion started their business here.

Just to share ..
I have quite a lot of gold coins inherited from my late grandpa. He collected gold coins since WW2. He passed away a decade ago. And he didn feel safe of having money in bank. In fact he never owned a bank account. Maybe he had gone through war. I got the influence from him and now my eldest is also a gold collector. Like me when I was young, son saved up from his school allowance to buy gold

qhong61

I bought gold ETF with my cpf OA because that is the only approved gold investment using OA. Another reason, keeping some physicals allow you to look at it and appreciates it. Also heard that when all papers default, it is only the physicals in hand counts.
During war can use to escape?

zi

Does bullionstar take in those old gold coins like ww2 era ? Or which other dealer can take ?

Zorroh

During war can use to escape?

There are also stories that during the Vietnam war, four gold coins will buy you a seat on a leaking junk to escape. Of course can also end up drowned at sea.

Zorroh

Does bullionstar take in those old gold coins like ww2 era ? Or which other dealer can take ?
Sure. old gold is still gold but Bullionstar will only pay you for the gold value. If your coin has great historical or numismatic value, they may not pay you fully for that. Then you have to sell to dealers or collectors that can appreciate the value.

focus1974

Got pro and cons one…

gold etf cannot admire.. and see the gold…

look at ur bank account digits is more satisfying.
ultimately, u buy gold not to admire, is to see the digits in the account grow.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.