jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Got the discount code and signed up liao, not so sure if it's universal for everyone or not

I will probably use the drinks to cool myself down same as bizad charity run, especially if it's afternoon run.

As long as the route isn't like bizad, need to run up staircase and have a lot of hills, I am fine with it. 😂

A lot of xmm in my running club signed up for 2XU, even though the price not cheap. Trained 3 months+ for it liao.

I usually monitor lunch before my run days, make sure that I don't overeat. But quite normal to be like that considering my exercise regimen is heavy cardio.

Seen this guy run before, he is the China national record holder. Came in 4th for the Wuxi Marathon.

I think my biggest purchase is garmin watch. Feel like beating the race time predictor that updates after every run. My motivation more of personal self-improvement.

Found the discount code in my deleted mail. Apparently I just delete these advertisement mails without reading it. Just registered for $25.

2xU has alway been a popular race. Good entitlement in the race pack, with the 2XU logo on their singlet, Polo and finisher. I have stop joining due to the high price and also really just want to concentrate on my SCSM which I fail to achieve my Sub 4 goal for years. Only have rooms for cheap races, like Skechers, Eco run.

Jeremy1

A lot of xmm in my running club signed up for 2XU, even though the price not cheap. Trained 3 months+ for it liao.

Last Saturday saw them in Marina Square.

I tried to sign up but cannot go through. They told me full liao.

I asked them how much is the 21km one and they told me $85 😱 and I thought it's foc :s13:

Kuudere

Found the discount code in my deleted mail. Apparently I just delete these advertisement mails without reading it. Just registered for $25.

2xU has alway been a popular race. Good entitlement in the race pack, with the 2XU logo on their singlet, Polo and finisher. I have stop joining due to the high price and also really just want to concentrate on my SCSM which I fail to achieve my Sub 4 goal for years. Only have rooms for cheap races, like Skechers, Eco run.
I found mine under the promotions tab for email, could've gone unnoticed actually.

I usually avoid popular races since I don't really like the huge crowd. Remembered in AHM, I passed 6826 runners in the first 16km, 0 runner passed me based on their data. 😂 And I happened to start 7 minutes behind the gun time. Can't imagine the other more popular runs.

Entitlement, don't really think about it, since I am more focused on the race experience. Having been through bizad charity run, quite sure other 10k runs should be easier terrain to tackle.

Considering great green run or marina run, whenever this becomes available since both are supposedly afternoon/evening runs. Marina run 21km @ 7.30pm is actually perfect for me since I do my training runs around that time, but will most likely focus on the 10km this year.

https://www.justrunlah.com/race/great-green-run-2023/#google_vignette
https://www.marinarun.com.sg/
Last Saturday saw them in Marina Square.

I tried to sign up but cannot go through. They told me full liao.

I asked them how much is the 21km one and they told me $85 😱 and I thought it's foc :s13:
Pretty sure you catch them while they're giving out the race packs, since the run is next weekend.

Can go next year lorh if you want the experience.

sph777

Actually, if you understand the fundamentals of running, you'll realise that the easy runs from running can be substituted for swimming/cycling cross training. The important ones to do are: long run, intervals, threshold. Can alternate intervals and thresholds across the weeks. You'll end up running less but still able to sustain the running pace by doing swimming/cycling. With 20-30+ km, it's more than sufficient to run a HM, especially if coupled with cross training.

Yi Jun HM is fast, mostly because of Vo2max. His NS IPPT days can easily get 8.30, similar to Aaron. That's why both of them can do well without needing to run much. Aaron averages about 35-40km weeks of running throughout the year, can hit 1.20.

But ultimately, that mileage definitely not sufficient for the marathon. Yi Jun tried marathon but hit the wall, whereas Aaron did marathon but was more of a casual experience than try for times.

Got to train transitioning if not hard to do well in dual/triple athletic sports. That's the part I don't really like since I usually do training separately. Even for NS IPPT, I don't like to do push ups/sit ups then run. Prefer to do in separate time frames.

If it's a competition, people will tryhard and not overthink so much. Too much adrenaline liao, from start to end, just push through even if they feel tired.

Good advice, the korea ex military video I shared yesterday. That guy made his 3k pace become his 5k pace in 1 year of training. After hitting his 5k PB, ran the HM, with most runs being 12-13km at most. Run 1.22 😂 Working on short distances is very important to hit the pace for long distance running.

I am going for that too, haven't thought of a race strategy for the 10k yet. Will figure out in the weeks to come when I train more.
Yes I realised over the past few weeks with my calf injury that cross training with some swimming and spin helps to maintain stamina. The intervals, long runs and threshold are the key for me to sustain my pace through the pain. Hopefully can last whole half marathon with bearable pain

sph777

I found mine under the promotions tab for email, could've gone unnoticed actually.

I usually avoid popular races since I don't really like the huge crowd. Remembered in AHM, I passed 6826 runners in the first 16km, 0 runner passed me based on their data. 😂 And I happened to start 7 minutes behind the gun time. Can't imagine the other more popular runs.

Entitlement, don't really think about it, since I am more focused on the race experience. Having been through bizad charity run, quite sure other 10k runs should be easier terrain to tackle.

Considering great green run or marina run, whenever this becomes available since both are supposedly afternoon/evening runs. Marina run 21km @ 7.30pm is actually perfect for me since I do my training runs around that time, but will most likely focus on the 10km this year.

https://www.justrunlah.com/race/great-green-run-2023/#google_vignette
https://www.marinarun.com.sg/

Pretty sure you catch them while they're giving out the race packs, since the run is next weekend.

Can go next year lorh if you want the experience.
I think AHM has the highest crowd after SCSM. Have to overtake many many ppl at the start. Key is not letting it affect the pace. Can't go out too fast

Kuudere

Yes I realised over the past few weeks with my calf injury that cross training with some swimming and spin helps to maintain stamina. The intervals, long runs and threshold are the key for me to sustain my pace through the pain. Hopefully can last whole half marathon with bearable pain
I think your threshold run too long. Become somewhat of a time trial, so end up exerting too much. 15-16k @ MP feels better.

6k > faster than HMP/slower than 10k (I did this workout yesterday with first km warm up, last 5.65km @ 4.27/km)
8k > HMP
10k > HMP (if very kiasu)
12k > HMP (kiasi) >> might cause injury unless it's your only hard run in the week or very high mileage runner

I think AHM has the highest crowd after SCSM. Have to overtake many many ppl at the start. Key is not letting it affect the pace. Can't go out too fast
After the run, many people asked why I didn't start out in the front since I was the fastest in my unit. I usually prefer to start from behind but didn't expect the crowd to be that ridiculous.
@Kuudere What's your energy replenishment like? I know Rui Yong uses 30mg Caffeine energy gels every 30 mins
Don't really have it since I usually carbo load. I don't like carrying things when I run, might go with whenever the aid station provides it. I think it's usually around the middle of the race.

At the same time, I have more pressing issues for the HM.
  • Start time too early >> Used to evening running times. [Surprisingly the Marina Run is the best for me since it starts at 7.30 pm :crazy: ]
  • Hydration plan >> Have not even fixed this yet, I can try to improve on this if I join those morning FFRC long runs
  • Pacing strategy >> Started out too fast in my HM and hit the wall. Could've strategise before the run
  • Short long run >> My longest run at that time was 16km. Could've run longer
All of these didn't exist when I run 10-16km. If only Sg got 15km run in the evening, then I will jitao join liao!!

sph777

I think your threshold run too long. Become somewhat of a time trial, so end up exerting too much. 15-16k @ MP feels better.

6k > faster than HMP/slower than 10k (I did this workout yesterday with first km warm up, last 5.65km @ 4.27/km)
8k > HMP
10k > HMP (if very kiasu)
12k > HMP (kiasi) >> might cause injury unless it's your only hard run in the week or very high mileage runner

After the run, many people asked why I didn't start out in the front since I was the fastest in my unit. I usually prefer to start from behind but didn't expect the crowd to be that ridiculous.

Don't really have it since I usually carbo load. I don't like carrying things when I run, might go with whenever the aid station provides it. I think it's usually around the middle of the race.

At the same time, I have more pressing issues for the HM.
  • Start time too early >> Used to evening running times. [Surprisingly the Marina Run is the best for me since it starts at 7.30 pm :crazy: ]
  • Hydration plan >> Have not even fixed this yet, I can try to improve on this if I join those morning FFRC long runs
  • Pacing strategy >> Started out too fast in my HM and hit the wall. Could've strategise before the run
  • Short long run >> My longest run at that time was 16km. Could've run longer
All of these didn't exist when I run 10-16km. If only Sg got 15km run in the evening, then I will jitao join liao!!
Actually my watch thinks my threshold is 4:25 lol. 4:30 is MP but honestly not sure now as all my timings are weird from the injury.

I like running in the early mornings but I have problem with energy retention. Anything 15-17km has been ok. So far for HM I die around 17-21 cause start too fast. FM the only time I ran so far, I hit the wall at 30km

Ender

Just treat it as a tool that doesn't let you start out too fast. :ROFLMAO:. Should follow the 10miles/10miles/10km (divide by 2 for HM) rule. Start out slower than target pace. When crowd thins out, switch to target pace. And the last 5km, is chiong with whatever reserve you have left.

WussRedXLi

This one gotta post lah....... good info for those newer to the Marina Bay area or havent come across.

Not common, but I have come across once, one fella 6am+, shd be around 40-50kmh as he overtook my bike not at breakneck speeds. Runners would of course be at a larger speed difference + literally all do not put lights
At regular speeds and not speeding (not saying it is legal), quite a few times already, usually is after 10pm at Marina Bay areas including Fullerton/Esplanade/UOB/SG River.

edit - actually once just outside One Fullerton, iirc around 11pm, there was one behind me and the moment i heard him, i knew what i had to do, just moved to the sides and waved him to pass me, which he did so immediately. :ROFLMAO:
I guess ingrained habit, since car racing days....unless if you wanna race.

15apr2024 illegal & modified #ebike #pmd #pab going up to 140km/h at marina bay & changi coast road​

Kuudere

Actually my watch thinks my threshold is 4:25 lol. 4:30 is MP but honestly not sure now as all my timings are weird from the injury.

I like running in the early mornings but I have problem with energy retention. Anything 15-17km has been ok. So far for HM I die around 17-21 cause start too fast. FM the only time I ran so far, I hit the wall at 30km
Watch mostly features goal time, may or may not be able to hit those.

Let's just say your watch predicts 1.33 HM and your current time is 1.37.

Input all those into Macmillian calculator and you get 4.53 - 5.41 for long run.

Tempo is 4.20 - 4.30. 4.20 probably is 6km tempo which is faster than HM pace. 4.25 is 8km. 4.30 is 10km, since people have stated their HM race pace is usually faster than 10km tempo.

This is based on running w/ carbon plate shoes that you run with on race day.

Case close, problem solved. Now, can sleep well tonight after knowing this.

In case you still cannot sleep well, I'll use my example. Predicted 5km is 19.41, current time is 21.00 (just use this since it's close to my 21.30 I did for my 5k split in 6k run).

Long run: 4.54 - 5.42
Tempo: 4.21-4.31

My long run was 4.59/km for 13km. Did a 6.0km run (close to max effort), avg. HR 178, 4.21/km. Did another 6.65km run (tempo), avg. HR 164, 4.33 (1st km warm up, last 5.65km @ 4.27/km).

For my long run, I pushed the last 2km, but the rest was relatively relax. My 6.0km run was too fast for a tempo, which is correct. My second 6.0km was at tempo pace but I didn't run a straight route, quite hilly and have a lot of sharp turns.

This was done on non-carbon plate shoes. So, can effectively -0.05/km.
Just treat it as a tool that doesn't let you start out too fast. :ROFLMAO:. Should follow the 10miles/10miles/10km (divide by 2 for HM) rule. Start out slower than target pace. When crowd thins out, switch to target pace. And the last 5km, is chiong with whatever reserve you have left.
His long run training needs to change to adopt the strategy of 5/5/5. I used to be like him, like to run fast for long runs. And then struggle with the later part of the run in races. Only learnt this recently when I looked at other sg athletes long run pace and realised what I did was wrong.

Now, I changed to 5.00-5.05/km pace, sometimes dip a little below 4.58-4.59 still acceptable. I have 2 variants of long run: progressive run (start slow, finish strong) and consistent w/ 2km final surge (steady effort, finish strong). Did both and never sustained any injuries since I kept the pace 5.00/km for the former and 4.59/km for the latter.

sph777

Watch mostly features goal time, may or may not be able to hit those.

Let's just say your watch predicts 1.33 HM and your current time is 1.37.

Input all those into Macmillian calculator and you get 4.53 - 5.41 for long run.

Tempo is 4.20 - 4.30. 4.20 probably is 6km tempo which is faster than HM pace. 4.25 is 8km. 4.30 is 10km, since people have stated their HM race pace is usually faster than 10km tempo.

This is based on running w/ carbon plate shoes that you run with on race day.

Case close, problem solved. Now, can sleep well tonight after knowing this.

In case you still cannot sleep well, I'll use my example. Predicted 5km is 19.41, current time is 21.00 (just use this since it's close to my 21.30 I did for my 5k split in 6k run).

Long run: 4.54 - 5.42
Tempo: 4.21-4.31

My long run was 4.59/km for 13km. Did a 6.0km run (close to max effort), avg. HR 178, 4.21/km. Did another 6.65km run (tempo), avg. HR 164, 4.33 (1st km warm up, last 5.65km @ 4.27/km).

For my long run, I pushed the last 2km, but the rest was relatively relax. My 6.0km run was too fast for a tempo, which is correct. My second 6.0km was at tempo pace but I didn't run a straight route, quite hilly and have a lot of sharp turns.

This was done on non-carbon plate shoes. So, can effectively -0.05/km.

His long run training needs to change to adopt the strategy of 5/5/5. I used to be like him, like to run fast for long runs. And then struggle with the later part of the run in races. Only learnt this recently when I looked at other sg athletes long run pace and realised what I did was wrong.

Now, I changed to 5.00-5.05/km pace, sometimes dip a little below 4.58-4.59 still acceptable. I have 2 variants of long run: progressive run (start slow, finish strong) and consistent w/ 2km final surge (steady effort, finish strong). Did both and never sustained any injuries since I kept the pace 5.00/km for the former and 4.59/km for the latter.
Good breakdown. Thanks!

Ender

IzgushR.jpg

Organizer conducting investigation liao. Read the article to the end, many other cheaters cited.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/spo...n-he-jie-win-organisers-investigation-4265841

Beijing half marathon probes 'embarrassing' win by Chinese runner​

Footage shared widely online appeared to show three African runners deliberately allowing China's He Jie to win.

BEIJING: Organisers of the Beijing half marathon said on Monday (Apr 15) they were investigating after footage shared widely online appeared to show three African runners deliberately allowing China's He Jie to win.

Video clips of Sunday's race showed the Kenyans Robert Keter and Willy Mnangat, Dejene Hailu of Ethiopia and home runner He approaching the finish.

The three African runners can be seen pointing to the finish line and apparently waving He out in front, while appearing to slow down.

He, the 2023 Asian Games marathon gold medallist, won by one second.

The four had stuck together throughout the course of just over 21km, a broadcaster noted.

"We are investigating and will announce the results to the public once they are available," a person from the Beijing Sports Bureau, who wished to remain anonymous, told AFP.

The event's organiser - the Beijing Sports Competition Management and International Exchange Center - also said an investigation had been launched.

The incident received significant attention on Chinese social media site Weibo, with some users criticising what they saw as an "embarrassing" result.

"This will certainly be the most embarrassing championship in He Jie's career," one wrote.

"With such a major organiser and such a well-known event, this really pushes sportsmanship to the ground in shame," the post added.

Long-distance running has boomed in recent years among China's middle class, but there have been numerous instances of cheating and poor organisation.

In 2018, at a half-marathon in the southern city of Shenzhen, 258 runners were found to have cheated, including many who took shortcuts.

Traffic cameras caught them darting through trees to join a different part of the race.

In 2019 a woman was filmed riding a green-coloured rental bike in the Xuzhou International Marathon in eastern China.

She was ordered by race officials to dismount the bike, only to get back on again afterwards.

WussRedXLi

Traffic cameras caught them darting through trees to join a different part of the race.

In 2019 a woman was filmed riding a green-coloured rental bike in the Xuzhou International Marathon in eastern China.

She was ordered by race officials to dismount the bike, only to get back on again afterwards.

Wow....really joke sia.

Kuudere

Conditioning exercises for running

Upper body

Push ups (20x)
Bicep curl 5kg (10x)
Lateral raise 3kg (10x)

Core

Sit ups (20x)
Leg raise (20x)
Planks (1 min)

Legs

Lunges (20x)
Bridges (1 min)
Indoor Zanfit cycling at highest resistance (8) (10 min)

Completed the workouts back to back in 27.20 minutes.

Did another 7 minutes of stretching.

sph777

Today tried one last track intervals before Sunday but after warmup, tried to sprint and my calf was not having it. Probably will rest until Sunday race. If really cannot then just skip the race but that is last resort

Kuudere

Today tried one last track intervals before Sunday but after warmup, tried to sprint and my calf was not having it. Probably will rest until Sunday race. If really cannot then just skip the race but that is last resort
Can try getting muscle cream/spray and see whether it helps with your calf

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.