jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

Basket......Skechers last year the distance only slightly over 9k hor. That's most most probably significantly worse than my Huawei GT Runner's GPS accuracy, even with MBS exhibition hall (i compared before Google maps vs GPS, pretty ok quite zhun).

But if $20-25 can just run lah.

At least way cheaper than the coming 2XU run next week at $85 😱

binbinpon

3:45 impressive for someone whose running is not his main exercise. I am still trying to get my sub4 goal with various training plan now. This year is using TAO with more shorter back to back long runs under 27km instead on one super long run of >32km.

I am pretty sure my training regime is not what a typical runner adopts.

2 heavy whole body gym work a week.
1 crossfit style metabolic circuit training
2 runs a week - usu a long run and hitt style.
2 rest days.

Even the long runs ( more like sub-threshold runs) take 1 to 1. 5hrs max due to time commitments. Only last year for the FM, did some 2hr runs.

But I feel the circuit training helps a lot.

Jeremy1

Heh i used to exercise just for health, now dont know why get serious in sports.

Im trying to poison my wife into cycling. She did not get hooked into running, but been brisk walking since 2020. She quite into the "fashion" side of sports, she likes the look of those women cyclists. So we shall see how.

But cycling not as much impact to the joints, came across studies before......osteoporosis etc. So best to mix if possible. Even brisk walking is better than nothing, best is to racewalk coz the capacity to go faster/push and even hit zone 5 is there.

I cfm exercise for health but participating in running events just for fun 🤩

WussRedXLi

IzgushR.jpg

Ender

These african runners are pro. i.e paid to run.. in this case to lose. :ROFLMAO:
Watched the video to the end, they suddenly switch mode to zone 2. Some more at 0:32, they can look back to make sure the china guy is on track.

WussRedXLi

Exercise for health not cutting for me liao. Neither is passion.. need goals and challenges to sustain. Would have given up running if without the challenges that ownself set.

Im still at the part where the buy buy buy enjoyment still can cut it.
So i also partially understand why some cyclists buy buy buy...... more things to buy than running actually.

Kuudere

The run was still considered decently organized, with ample drinks stations. Though most us wouldn't be using it for 10k, coz it chiong to finish.
I will wait if they sent me a discount code before deciding to join.
Got the discount code and signed up liao, not so sure if it's universal for everyone or not

I will probably use the drinks to cool myself down same as bizad charity run, especially if it's afternoon run.

As long as the route isn't like bizad, need to run up staircase and have a lot of hills, I am fine with it. 😂
At least way cheaper than the coming 2XU run next week at $85 😱
A lot of xmm in my running club signed up for 2XU, even though the price not cheap. Trained 3 months+ for it liao.
I will be too miserable at 9%... Lol
I usually monitor lunch before my run days, make sure that I don't overeat. But quite normal to be like that considering my exercise regimen is heavy cardio.
Satki pro pacers. :s13:

Seen this guy run before, he is the China national record holder. Came in 4th for the Wuxi Marathon.
Im still at the part where the buy buy buy enjoyment still can cut it.
So i also partially understand why some cyclists buy buy buy...... more things to buy than running actually.
I think my biggest purchase is garmin watch. Feel like beating the race time predictor that updates after every run. My motivation more of personal self-improvement.

Ender

Got the discount code and signed up liao, not so sure if it's universal for everyone or not

I will probably use the drinks to cool myself down same as bizad charity run, especially if it's afternoon run.

As long as the route isn't like bizad, need to run up staircase and have a lot of hills, I am fine with it. 😂

A lot of xmm in my running club signed up for 2XU, even though the price not cheap. Trained 3 months+ for it liao.

I usually monitor lunch before my run days, make sure that I don't overeat. But quite normal to be like that considering my exercise regimen is heavy cardio.

Seen this guy run before, he is the China national record holder. Came in 4th for the Wuxi Marathon.

I think my biggest purchase is garmin watch. Feel like beating the race time predictor that updates after every run. My motivation more of personal self-improvement.

Found the discount code in my deleted mail. Apparently I just delete these advertisement mails without reading it. Just registered for $25.

2xU has alway been a popular race. Good entitlement in the race pack, with the 2XU logo on their singlet, Polo and finisher. I have stop joining due to the high price and also really just want to concentrate on my SCSM which I fail to achieve my Sub 4 goal for years. Only have rooms for cheap races, like Skechers, Eco run.

Jeremy1

Last Saturday saw them in Marina Square.

I tried to sign up but cannot go through. They told me full liao.

I asked them how much is the 21km one and they told me $85 😱 and I thought it's foc :s13:

Kuudere

Found the discount code in my deleted mail. Apparently I just delete these advertisement mails without reading it. Just registered for $25.

2xU has alway been a popular race. Good entitlement in the race pack, with the 2XU logo on their singlet, Polo and finisher. I have stop joining due to the high price and also really just want to concentrate on my SCSM which I fail to achieve my Sub 4 goal for years. Only have rooms for cheap races, like Skechers, Eco run.
I found mine under the promotions tab for email, could've gone unnoticed actually.

I usually avoid popular races since I don't really like the huge crowd. Remembered in AHM, I passed 6826 runners in the first 16km, 0 runner passed me based on their data. 😂 And I happened to start 7 minutes behind the gun time. Can't imagine the other more popular runs.

Entitlement, don't really think about it, since I am more focused on the race experience. Having been through bizad charity run, quite sure other 10k runs should be easier terrain to tackle.

Considering great green run or marina run, whenever this becomes available since both are supposedly afternoon/evening runs. Marina run 21km @ 7.30pm is actually perfect for me since I do my training runs around that time, but will most likely focus on the 10km this year.

https://www.justrunlah.com/race/great-green-run-2023/#google_vignette
https://www.marinarun.com.sg/
Last Saturday saw them in Marina Square.

I tried to sign up but cannot go through. They told me full liao.

I asked them how much is the 21km one and they told me $85 😱 and I thought it's foc :s13:
Pretty sure you catch them while they're giving out the race packs, since the run is next weekend.

Can go next year lorh if you want the experience.

sph777

Actually, if you understand the fundamentals of running, you'll realise that the easy runs from running can be substituted for swimming/cycling cross training. The important ones to do are: long run, intervals, threshold. Can alternate intervals and thresholds across the weeks. You'll end up running less but still able to sustain the running pace by doing swimming/cycling. With 20-30+ km, it's more than sufficient to run a HM, especially if coupled with cross training.

Yi Jun HM is fast, mostly because of Vo2max. His NS IPPT days can easily get 8.30, similar to Aaron. That's why both of them can do well without needing to run much. Aaron averages about 35-40km weeks of running throughout the year, can hit 1.20.

But ultimately, that mileage definitely not sufficient for the marathon. Yi Jun tried marathon but hit the wall, whereas Aaron did marathon but was more of a casual experience than try for times.

Got to train transitioning if not hard to do well in dual/triple athletic sports. That's the part I don't really like since I usually do training separately. Even for NS IPPT, I don't like to do push ups/sit ups then run. Prefer to do in separate time frames.

If it's a competition, people will tryhard and not overthink so much. Too much adrenaline liao, from start to end, just push through even if they feel tired.

Good advice, the korea ex military video I shared yesterday. That guy made his 3k pace become his 5k pace in 1 year of training. After hitting his 5k PB, ran the HM, with most runs being 12-13km at most. Run 1.22 😂 Working on short distances is very important to hit the pace for long distance running.

I am going for that too, haven't thought of a race strategy for the 10k yet. Will figure out in the weeks to come when I train more.
Yes I realised over the past few weeks with my calf injury that cross training with some swimming and spin helps to maintain stamina. The intervals, long runs and threshold are the key for me to sustain my pace through the pain. Hopefully can last whole half marathon with bearable pain

sph777

I found mine under the promotions tab for email, could've gone unnoticed actually.

I usually avoid popular races since I don't really like the huge crowd. Remembered in AHM, I passed 6826 runners in the first 16km, 0 runner passed me based on their data. 😂 And I happened to start 7 minutes behind the gun time. Can't imagine the other more popular runs.

Entitlement, don't really think about it, since I am more focused on the race experience. Having been through bizad charity run, quite sure other 10k runs should be easier terrain to tackle.

Considering great green run or marina run, whenever this becomes available since both are supposedly afternoon/evening runs. Marina run 21km @ 7.30pm is actually perfect for me since I do my training runs around that time, but will most likely focus on the 10km this year.

https://www.justrunlah.com/race/great-green-run-2023/#google_vignette
https://www.marinarun.com.sg/

Pretty sure you catch them while they're giving out the race packs, since the run is next weekend.

Can go next year lorh if you want the experience.
I think AHM has the highest crowd after SCSM. Have to overtake many many ppl at the start. Key is not letting it affect the pace. Can't go out too fast

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.