[CONSOLIDATED] Accident in Tampines: Multiple-vehicle collision at road junction, with 8 individuals sent to hospitals

Jirachi

One last comment I would like to point out for people blaming the bike hogging the right lane is that this road is 60km/h just 2 lanes. Not expressway where there's overtaking lanes. There's no overtaking lane here. Bike is complete right to ride defensive in the middle at the correct speed and riding safely to turn right in the junction in front. Common sense.
Yup. Bike was not road hogging. Likely want to make a right turn.

junlove

I don't understand comments like

How many of you drivers actually do that to actually pull a gap away from the car approaching fast? It is actually a VERY NORMAL reaction. Drivers will know.
er.. actually your video on the rear cam... the white car speed up not when the black car is behind to gap away... it sped up more when it's passed the side liao leh...

Prime1984

Yeah I also started to think like this
At least buses are densed
Tbh if the driver ram a bus and tbone it at the speed he was going, a lot more people will be injured and he will be dead. Which is what he deserved. Dam unfair.

Jirachi

er.. actually your video on the rear cam... the white car speed up not when the black car is behind to gap away... it sped up more when it's passed the side liao leh...
I don't know. It is really easy to comment after things have happened or recorded on video.

But road conditions changes every second.

soufool

Have you seen the rear view yet?

Not sure if this will change your mind

Go to SGROAD Blocks telegram scroll up and watch the HD version with more footage of the rear dash.

Calculate the speed that white merc is driving at the start of the video with lamp post. It comes up to around 55km/h only. The SAAB overtakes another white merc at most at 70km/h as he is catching up behind.

The moment the SAAB cut back to overtaking lane, the cam car merc accelerate and their speeds reach around 100km/h. The SAAB had to push to above 100km/h to sideswipe and overtake.

Belle69

I don't understand comments like

How many of you drivers actually do that to actually pull a gap away from the car approaching fast? It is actually a VERY NORMAL reaction. Drivers will know.
99% occurrence

junlove

the white merc might or might not have agitated the black saab, and it's irrelevant as the main culprit is still the black saab.

but please don't go away thinking behaviors like speeding up to block cars, or compete with one another on roads is ok.... a lot of bad things can happen, in many other scenarios, when drivers let emotions get the better of them...

be gracious pls, all drivers...

Tormented Soul

The wife and younger daughter damn lucky. If wife in passenger seat which would have come in direct contact with the saab sure gg.

The older daughter seat behind probably won't put seat belts... the father sure got seat belts on so he fortunately survived.

Maaasa

not condoning his actions but 99% of the bikers are trashes.

They can lane split to cut queue and force u to give way to them, lane split and block u off from changing lane, but they will complain when the road is wide enough for the cars to overtake like how they will do usually do it.

total trashes.

Jirachi

not condoning his actions but 99% of the bikers are trashes.

They can lane split to cut queue and force u to give way to them, lane split and block u off from changing lane, but they will complain when the road is wide enough for the cars to overtake like how they will do usually do it.

total trashes.
Exactly. Gosh. Morning traffic Lane 1 is no joke.

soufool

I seriously dont understand why the white merc wanna speed up against the saab though... esp when in front of the saab has a motorcycle?
Exactly, this is deliberate agitation to box the SAAB in. Ego- nobody can be faster than him on the road.

It's dangerous agitation and the SAAB is crazy enough to chiong and even side swipe the merc. He just drove an insane person even more insane.

greenbubble

the saab idiot sideswiped the merc. He knew he is at fault and being a coward and wimp, he sped off to flee the scene.

Zapper1819

I want to add my analysis to this:

If you watch the video carefully of the white merc dashcam- based on lamp post calculation at the start, he is only travelling between 50-60km/h before he reach the bus stop area In the video.

The SAAB behind is overtaking other cars at most at 60-70km, not crazy fast.

If you observe further, the white merc Increased his speed (likely because he saw the SAAB snaking behind), from about 60km/h to what this post mentioned, around 85km/h. Subsequently the post's calculation is accurate- they accelerated side by side to about 100km/h before the white merc getting side swiped. The SAAB continued accelerating to about 135km/h to impact.

While the black SAABs is 100% in the wrong and in no way am I defending this shithead, it is safe to say that the white merc agitated the unnecessary speeding from the SAAB.

There is a direct cause and effect on the part of the white merc- if he did not agitate, the SAAB may not have accelerated to that speed (yes he was snaking erratically, but not at a lethal speed as seen at start of video), may not have been distracted by the tunnel vision of having to overtake the other car, and may not have crashed at a lethal speed, amongst many other whatifs.

It is however clear that if the white merc did not agitate a race, things would definitely turn out differently, lives may not need to be lost.

I really wish more commentors of this would call out the merc for his ego driving behaviour- it's like agitating a crazed person operating a dangerous weapon to use it even more dangerously. What for? While white merc may not wrong in eyes of the law, he is definitely culpable morally.
Hope the merc driver won't repeat the same act by speeding up whenever someone trying to cut into his lane.

Nuclear Boy

What's clear as day:

1. SAAB driver is intent on speeding the entire way, beating red light etc.
2. Merc driver has an ego trip when SAAB driver tries to speed past him, speeds up too to give chase.
3. 2 innocent people died

Pohpiahskin

There were 2 deaths? The JC girl and the auntie? I read the auntie is from the pest control van, how about the JC girl? Not from the red light beating car right?

Jeremy1

When I first gave up driving , I was traveling by taxis . Until one day, the taxi driver was weaving between lanes . I requested that he drive carefully . His reply " this is not private car" . Huh? Means what? Means that is typical taxi driving? And if take taxi , must be prepared to sit in vehicles driven by reckless drivers .
That made me change my main mode of transport. Take buses and MRT . Now I rarely take taxis and PHV (been more than 10 years)

Taxi also quite a number of accidents and hurt or killed the passengers.

Bus n MRT even if got accident, the car will flied off first and the bus passengers should be injured maybe but will not died. MRT also too.

xLupDup

Exactly, this is deliberate agitation to box the SAAB in. Ego- nobody can be faster than him on the road.

It's dangerous agitation and the SAAB is crazy enough to chiong and even side swipe the merc. He just drove an insane person even more insane.
Putting aside the crazed saab driver intention to speed to chiong red light,

At the very least, white merc speed up action against saab put the motorbike user in danger sia.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.