jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

One more thing.........some cyclists (mainly those neighbourhood or delivery riders, and those who probably do not wanna spend more $$$ on cycling) are wearing (cheap) helmets that do not pass safety standards.

Getting from shopee/taobao is fine, but you gotta know what are you getting.

I actually was sold this exact helmet. Didn't think of much when i got it from the shop, coz they said cheap cheap sell you. S$12.
Exact same model.

There was a video which i saw in which they just stomped on the helmet with 1 leg and it totally got crushed and crumpled.

https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/local/r...g-bicycle-helmet-sold-at-walmart-com/3210914/

Bike-Helmet-Recall.jpg

Irenicus91

@xllms @Jeremy1

When I started out my MAF training last time, Floris Gierman is the person I followed on youtube for anything on low HR training and MAF method. He has several other videos dedicated to MAF training. This guy MAF pace is in the 4++ min/km range. Key thing I learn is always keep your HR in check, i.e no crossing above the ceiling HR, and keep it steady state for as long as possible. Started out with a 7:10-7:20 pace at MAF HR. When I finished the programme, I was doing 6:25-6:35 pace for MAF after 6 months or so. Couldn't reach my goal of doing sub 6 at MAF, plateau liao so stopped and do something else before I get bored in running from monotony.

His testimony ,

I also following this guy, just started since Feb.

Running also around 7.10-7.20 pace, can last for 40mins max under MAF in SG. But when I ran in Seoul last month at 10°C, can easily remain under MAF for one hour at 6.20 pace.

SG really too hot 🥵

WussRedXLi

Running also around 7.10-7.20 pace, can last for 40mins max under MAF in SG. But when I ran in Seoul last month at 10°C, can easily remain under MAF for one hour at 6.20 pace.

SG really too hot 🥵

It's like that one lah.......also go google cardiovascular drift.

Ok.....here, just one of the many articles.
https://runnersconnect.net/coach-co...mportant-for-runners-who-train-by-heart-rate/

So dont blindly follow the zone range right to the dot, you might just be training in zone 1 or maybe even zone 0.

Jeremy1

SG really too hot 🥵

I was wondering running at 4 am 🤔

Would it be much better.

WussRedXLi

I was wondering running at 4 am 🤔

Would it be much better.

I cycle around that time but usually a bit later at 5am+ start. Weekends Sat/Sun, and on weekdays when i am on AL

Slightly better only. Hard efforts or climbs or intervals are still warm and sweaty even though it's the bike.

dreamaurora

SG really too hot 🥵
Weather these few days had been brutal. I did easy 7:00 pace just now for almost 10 km, average HR 154. On usual not so warm night only around 140-142.

Kuudere

Just saw this....wow progression seems really good. It might pleateu eventually but it looks promising to be below 1.30 by AHM.

Now just wait for registration to open i guess.
If you look at Shohib, 1.20 SCMS HM runner >> doing 10 x 800m @ 3.30/km, 100m jog (60s)

Aaron, 1.22 AHM HM (1.21 round up) >> doing 7 x 1km @ 3.36 - 3.40/km, 200m jog (1.30 min)

If I compare my intervals with them, confirmed outclassed since they are 1.20-1.22 HM runners. But it's definitely close to sub 1.30 HM runners. My pace is slower than them and my recovery is longer. I need more time, I can't get there instantaneously.

I need time to let 50km/week and 3-week interval rotation do it's trick.
Yeah, but of coz aerobic system must be able to take it also la, first and foremost.

For SG fast / redline paces i need to use chilled water. eg like today. Even for say 5k (10k dont say).
Pour water will be great every 5km. Hydrate at 10km with small seeps of water. Can be trained when running on track since water cooler is nearby.
I had no power running on treadmill.

But when running outside, I can't maintained this pace at all :sad:

And I don't know how long can I endure running outside :sad:
Treadmill is better because air conditioning. Aaron Lee, the triathlete was complaining about the heat.

He ran 124 bpm avg. on a threadmill for 11km @ 5.27 min/km but 153 bpm avg. on road for 14km @ 6.07 min/km

Ender

SG really too hot 🥵
just remember HR zone training is all about HR, and not about pace. If have to go slower to be in the zone, than slower it is.

WussRedXLi

Pour water will be great every 5km. Hydrate at 10km with small seeps of water. Can be trained when running on track since water cooler is nearby.

Mine is more frequent one, depending on venue and things it could be 400m (my place's rooftop, 800m circuit) to 1.5km. I use chilled water and also a tower (the 100 plus towel that you get from races) to soak up the chilled water and refill.
Now i have bike, so relatively easy to bring stuff out.

ps. Of coz i only do that for the "TT" runs. Only the really fast runs and/or longer ones need cooling.
My guess is that it's probably safer too.

Kuudere

Singaporean Sub 3hr marathoner paralyzed after a cycling accident made a amazing comeback to run a marathon again. Did it last year. . He said set goals, that is how I sustain running too. Used to be for health, for pleasure , for hobby (Still is, coz I like gadgets) but now is just set different goals one after another.

And note cycling accident, even without involving cars can be serious.

I think for me, my goals depend on the day itself. If go to track and see some fast runner, will try to pace with them and see if can beat them or not :LOL:
Weather is just too warm.

Paced 5K cycling. Avg HR 147 for 5k, max 154.

1xWa0aU.jpg

4 mins plus later @ 2120h, gunned for the run. Seems good enough, last time just 1-2 mins later go run jitao hooted the shoes on and started, really could not feel the legs.

Pacing screwed up a little for the run (no thanks to the faster speed of cycling, so mentally the running seems slower than usual), after realising it near to 1km mark it was too late.
Wanted to run 4.5k or 4k, but could only push till 2.4 the lactic burn was terrible, warm weather also, So cut it, no point continuing.

zMlvEdu.jpg
Sg weather too hot already, but that being said I somehow ran faster for my long run today. Thanks to my interval training.

just remember HR zone training is all about HR, and not about pace. If have to go slower to be in the zone, than slower it is.

Just did my 14km progressive long run. I just went faster as the run continues, 1.08.26 14.14km 😂

Ender

https://runnersconnect.net/coach-co...mportant-for-runners-who-train-by-heart-rate/

So dont blindly follow the zone range right to the dot, you might just be training in zone 1 or maybe even zone 0.
I think this coach conflate HR training goal with marathon pace training. Both are legit training, just marathon pace training we train by pace, and RPE, no HR. When doing HR training, protocol, pace is ignore. But it his choice to conflate both for his athletes, just confusing for us.

HR training actually takers care of cardiac drift. Cause as you get fatigue, the threshold pace becomes slower, and hence pace slow down correspondingly. And easy run usually takes cardiac drift as one of the sign that the run should ends soon. That's how we improve our steady HR duration with easy runs. During my prime prior to my hyperthroid, steady state for 2.5 hours before drift sets in for zone 2.

WussRedXLi

I always got this issue of pacing being screwed by cycling prior. Remember very similar pace.
One thing they say gotta be in tune and don't always look at watch, but......

This was in March during Taylor swift concert weekend. It was cooler then and no cycling "TT", so managed to last longer then b4 exploding with massive positive split lol :ROFLMAO:

ARHjOFP.jpg

WussRedXLi

I think this coach conflate HR training goal with marathon pace training. Both are legit training, just marathon pace training we train by pace, and RPE, no HR. When doing HR training, protocol, pace is ignore. But it his choice to conflate both for his athletes, just confusing for us.

HR training actually takers care of cardiac drift. Cause as you get fatigue, the threshold pace becomes slower, and hence pace slow down correspondingly. And easy run usually takes cardiac drift as one of the sign that the run should ends soon. That's how we improve our steady HR duration with easy runs. During my prime prior to my hyperthroid, steady state for 2.5 hours before drift sets in for zone 2.

For me nowadays (esp such warm days) i really prefer to train by pace, with some reference based on HR.
Bo bian, if not longer runs i used to really slow down to like 5.30 and even nearly 6 min pace.
And similar for tempo or LT. For max effort i gotta use chilled water liao.

Kuudere

I get faster when I run, different strategy 😂
Mine is more frequent one, depending on venue and things it could be 400m (my place's rooftop, 800m circuit) to 1.5km. I use chilled water and also a tower (the 100 plus towel that you get from races) to soak up the chilled water and refill.
Now i have bike, so relatively easy to bring stuff out.

ps. Of coz i only do that for the "TT" runs. Only the really fast runs and/or longer ones need cooling.
My guess is that it's probably safer too.
I think 5km is good enough for me, I try not to take too much water so can focus on my running.

Kuudere

Last week long run, 11.68km, avg. HR 172, 4.53 min/km > 0.52 min watch stop

This week long run, 14.14km, avg. HR 169, 4.50 min/km > 1.22 min watch stop

@Ender

Since you're a results oriented person, how come my avg. HR can drop when I run longer and faster? Same shoes, same route.

My mindset is that I will keep pushing and visualise my form as I run. In fact, for the entire long run, I just focus on my posture. I followed the negative split from the article that you linked and made adaptations from that strategy and improve from there.

So, with higher temperature, it's only natural that people will slow down and also have a higher HR. And it's not like Irenicus didn't slow down, he slowed down but his HR is still high.

I am more critical when certain training methods have huge potential to cause injuries, for e.g. sph running long run as a threshold run (15-16km at HMP pace). This kind of runs are like time trial. If done weekly coupled with intervals, it puts a lot of strain on the legs. And the outcome actually happened when he continued doing that.

There are some things that are black and white not a good idea. There are also things that are more grey area where it depends on your training, HR profile, etc.

But if almost everyone in this thread is affected by it and also national triathlete (not for me because I am heat adapted as you can see from my long run times), then you probably have to question what you mentioned.

Irenicus91

So can take HR less into account if I've been running for awhile (due to cardiac drift) and just care about the perceived effort instead?

Nowadays I just run fixed 1hr, try to maintain below MAF as much as possible. If cannot then at least as low as possible. Cos some of the days I run in the morning before WFH, no choice have to exceed MAF to make it back home in time.

WussRedXLi

I not that fit yet to be running and still be in zone 1 :s13:

So can take HR less into account if I've been running for awhile (due to cardiac drift) and just care about the perceived effort instead?

Actually im not a super sciencey pax ........ it might also be due to the types of workouts/training/trials that i am doing.

For mon-fri office days, my "easy runs" are the legs for home->office and office->home jogs/brisk walks of around 1,1km distance, which are short. I put quotes coz it might be controversial to some folks that these can be considered as any training at all? So these are not gonna be affected by much cardio drift, if any at all from what i have seen on my watch
I go home for lunch (coz so near) and so that is 4 x 1.1km daily. Nowadays i gotta chop chop take a shower when reach home esp during lunchtime. Reach office is go server room stand in front of chiller (so far so good didnt get sick lol 😅 )

Then once per week would be a typical run, usually is faster ones be it strides/SIT and some threshold......or basically speedwork. But then quite chapalang also coz i never follow any prescribed plans or workouts, just run for speed. But i dont focus on distance, depending on feeling and time available it could be just 3-5k, it could 7-8k

I used to have more of these normal runs in a week prior to AHM 2023 (Aug 2023).
But then since last year Sep, i changed to cycling....only doing 1 of these typical runs per week instead of like 6-7 times a week.

WussRedXLi

I get faster when I run, different strategy 😂

I think 5km is good enough for me, I try not to take too much water so can focus on my running.

Oh....actually i dont really take in water during the runs unless if it's long runs. Coz feel that the absorption is pretty slow....for hard efforts confirm just sit in the stomach slosh around nia.

Im talking about parking my bike at one spot and then i run to and fro straight lines and then run past it and splash the small cups of chilled ice-slushies or re-wet the ubiquitous 100-plus towel ( :ROFLMAO:) with the chilled water.
It has to be chilled water or ice-slushie for me, not just water.

For ice-slushie i first put it near the vents of the bottom compartment of the fridge so thatit gets to around 2-4 deg C. Then when i each home i place it into the freezer, it freezes partially after like 2 hours and i just shake it. Then i cycle to ME or GBTB, the 2 spots having straight paths and open skyline for the 3/5/10k "TTs" (during CNY period i tried some 1.6K as well).
Side story : Actually coz it's all straight lines if i do @ Marina area, I dont feel that the GPS of my Huawei kena any substantial "cutting corner" effects, other than a small bit at each u-turn at the end of the straight paths but it does not vary wildly vs the Goggle Map measurements.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.