News| Man whose daughter died in Tampines crash blames himself

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Coffeelix

Proposals for all road users safety:
1) regulate all vehicles local n foreign at 60 km/h plying on sg roads
2) install deterrence humps on the stretch of about100 meter before all traffic lights, pedestrian crossings and zebra crossings
3) phase all milo sheet cars
4) confiscate cars and fine heavily to the tune of S$1 million for each drink driving and irresponsible/ speeding drivers.
5) ??

Vanyel

Im not in favour of the few ppl in here saying phase out non conti cars
Its like saying only the rich and elite can drive

But i would agree that some cars are really tougher than others

Had a fren in an accident once, she kenna T bone by a cement mixer

She wasnt even hospitalised
BMW

Laneige

How about Malaysia cars? Malaysia delivery trucks and so many contractors vans?
Block then all eat grass lo
Just liked how lta ? Spot check on Msia bikes and how many days?
Will they do it everyday?
Find ppl to work n summon

else so big %
they r anyhow driving here n some no license? Car plates can’t be seen clearly
And can hit n zoom away if they have a chance to do so

illegal mods also can come in for cars

eflash

Mr Muhammad Azril Mahmood is still in Intensive Care Unit but in a stable condition.

"He's depressed and keeps blaming himself," Mr Azril's father-in-law Mohamed Kassim Yusoff told Shin Min Daily News.

"But there are counsellors helping him and we, too, try to comfort him."

Mr Kassim, who lost his granddaughter, 17-year-old Afifah Munirah Muhammad Azril, in the crash in Tampines on April 22, told the Chinese daily he was angry about the accident but "time heals".

https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/man-whose-daughter-died-tampines-crash-blames-himself

But it isn't his fault. I mean what could he have done?

Manofmanypro

2) install deterrence humps on the stretch of about100 meter before all traffic lights, pedestrian crossings and zebra crossings
4) confiscate cars and fine heavily to the tune of S$1 million for each drink driving and irresponsible/ speeding drivers.
5) ??
The lorry passenger issue still haven't settle. Think forget it. Lol

ZaiNan

But it isn't his fault. I mean what could he have done?

Could have drive alternate routes, the sense of guilt will be overwhelming..

17 years of upbringing gone just like that while the selfish rich dude pay his bail on the spot and can have his lunch under aircon

Knn PCB

TA20222025

BMW

All this talk about conti car being better is just no different from victim blaming. If the deceased is not a car passenger but a pedestrian then is it the pedestrian's fault for rightfully crossing the road? The wrong is still with the Saab driver who sped and didn't stop at the traffic lights

eflash

17 years of upbringing gone just like that while the selfish rich dude pay his bail on the spot and can have his lunch under aircon

Knn PCB

Drive alternate route means he already foreseen the Saab going to speed there... Not possible.

Yup. Life is unfair. He was being a really good dad by driving his daughter to school activity.

iamnew

5) ??

Jail sentence is a joke here. Just a few years of jail for murdering someone? Time to change to death sentence for tragic accident. Life imprisonment if someone is seriously injured.

mryang

😔 Tampines crash: Father blames himself for daughter's death

Mr Muhammad Azril Mahmood is still in Intensive Care Unit but in a stable condition. "He's depressed and keeps blaming himself," Mr Azril's father-in-law Mohamed Kassim Yusoff told Shin Min Daily News.

READ: https://bit.ly/3UJQIuR

Follow @AsiaOnecom for all the latest updates

Coffeelix

Jail sentence is a joke here. Just a few years of jail for murdering someone? Time to change to death sentence for tragic accident. Life imprisonment if someone is seriously injured.
Somehow somewhat the light sentencing is very troubling to understand and accepting…

Is it $ n $ only will make a difference?

Still remember my late bro death was so unnecessary and preventable if only PUB had responded speedily to do the repair… He was electrocuted several hours after the supply line was struck down by thunderstorms for the whole kampung..,

We were poor and PUB walked away free… if we had $, we would hire USA lawyers to see that justice is served…

Coffeelix

Knn PCB
The dad will never get over it…

I witnessed how my dad would follow a young boy home cos he resembled by late bro…

the loss n pain to the family is unimaginable …

I still feel the pain now talking about it…

He stepped out after pulling a prank and that was the last I saw of him… his laughter of his successful prank stays till today…

SteamChicken8888

BMW
I agree on this, for example, right now Tesla Cars are all the hype, but have you seen the car? The feel is so cheap, if I were driving one, high chance won't survive.

Coffeelix

😔 Tampines crash: Father blames himself for daughter's death

Mr Muhammad Azril Mahmood is still in Intensive Care Unit but in a stable condition. "He's depressed and keeps blaming himself," Mr Azril's father-in-law Mohamed Kassim Yusoff told Shin Min Daily News.

READ: https://bit.ly/3UJQIuR

Follow @AsiaOnecom for all the latest updates
Seriously only God can comfort him…

justice89

no rahz... if chiu look at the beginning of the clip... that saab oredi speeding even before the merc incident... in fact... if the merc managed to block the saab... maybe the accident won't happen riaoz... :frown:
Precisely ma the Merc said kena bang the Saab bang peepur le of course run road ma scare kena confronted ma.....that why dash red light lo....

-nyox-

This tragedy highlighted 2 issues:
1) importance of belt up
2) safety of conti car

Can all these non conti cars / milo sheet cars be “banned”?

I have clarified this multiple times in this forum and I think your persistent claims are getting more and more ridiculous.

Frontal impact vs side impact is very different. Front and back of the vehicle have crumple zones, the side at most have a reinforced door or door frame.

If u use another vehicle to ram a BMW from the side in excess of 100kmh, the result is prob not going to be any better than a Toyota going through the same side impact.

I'm not siding any particular make, I have owned both conti and jap cars but if I were particularly concerned about passenger safety, I'd get a Volvo as they are known for their active and passive car safety features.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.