Luckin coffee long q ~

joogii

I dun care about simi luckin I just want our usual stuffs to be fuggin cheaper.

Now Yakun because of social media hype they get a lot of tourists patronising and taking pics/ clips and they can keep raising prices. And you have the usual working crowd who dun like angmo kopi and continue to visit Yakun. But for long time supporters who are not working or making as much as before the higher prices have made Yakun out of reach.

For me, it will be local kpt/ HC kopi when alone. When meeting friends we used to include Yakun but now instead of going to 3 places for makan + la kopi + desserts, we do 3-in-1 at buffets. And I will go to Starbucks if need to burn 2 hours or so alone.

Dun think Luckin is cheap + good + comfortable enough to justify me using their app.
Possible to order without the app?

shaff12

Starbucks people buy a cuppa and sit there the whole day. Where's Luckin doesn't need to rent a big space as most shops do not have seats.

Luckin allows for purchase via app and provides frequent updates to when the coffee can be collected while Starbucks have to wait for barista to call your name.

Luckin offer paper bags and coffee holder even for a simple coffee.

Luckin has more hot cuppa options while Starbucks mostly every one goes for cold drinks. The cup you get for the prices is unbelievable large compared to overpriced yakun or toastbox

Lastly, luckin is way cheaper with promos and no force you to buy a prepaid card like starbucks

Nowadays it's hard to find hot coffee.

All in all, luckin is still the better choice. Please support them and buy more!

thats what i thought as well.
luckin only usually a small counter like bb tea.... can save quite a lot on rental...

from what i read here, going to try out this coming holidays or wkend lor! :s13:

shaff12

Their 60% off voucher damn good. Will get 1-2 times a month. Too bad their outlets either have limited seating or no seats.

Coffee bean also got 50% off iced drinks. Damn shiok to go chill at their 24hr outlets at midnight in this blardy hot weather...

need to buy minimum how many cups then can get the 60% voucher?
if like that think i can indulge in china starbucks few times a month liao... :s13:

Insatiable_creat

need to buy minimum how many cups then can get the 60% voucher?
if like that think i can indulge in china starbucks few times a month liao... :s13:
No idea sia. It will just appear in my app once every few days.. now got another one expiring on 1st May. I only drink when I have 50/60% vouchers

Atrina_Boy

first cup 99cent is worth it
after that even with 40% 60% all those discount voucher, its still more expensive than local uncle who make nicer coffee.
its a gimmick ppl see discount voucher will buy think its cheap, but actually thats the price they expect to sell.
they run voucher mode super often.

this type business concept means if one day stop voucher nobody will buy.
its a very common gimmick where constantly throw voucher make people think its cheap and buy.
actually its okay only.
Compare apple to apple.
Of course your so call local uncle cheaper la

RyanJ

Ish call loss-leader pricing. Luckin lose money for every cup of late they sell, so that Chiu can buy other drinks at normal price.

True.

Cost of coffee is actually very very low.

If they roast their own then even lower.

But counting manpower salary, rental overhead, utilities, they likely lose $$ on those 99 cents..

Sumimasen

I dun like it whatever u order as long with milk the taste of coffee ish overpowered by the milk

xiao.xin

It just shows how overprice SB and CBTL are. But that said they usually have limited seats within the outlet.

joogii

I read they have some single origin coffee, anyone tried and is it really that good?
Something yirgacheffe.... What's that really 😅

joogii

It just shows how overprice SB and CBTL are. But that said they usually have limited seats within the outlet.
Luckin coffee only drinks and no sandwich and cheesecake can chill at the cafe few hours right?

Emperor_Hippo

To be honest, I never tried before...
Always see people queueing and crowded... is it really so nice?
Even starbucks dont really see the same q and crowd..

If nice, can recommend what to order? Thinking to try it next holiday or weekend! :s13:
Cheap coffee for ur data, which they will be able to resell it for many times over.

Yah.

LetHerGo

Cappuccino only cost $2.80 with 60% discount at Luckin. The voucher seems to replenish frequently.
Starbucks brewed coffee with milk already cost $3.50. How to fight?
Starbucks only wins by having a large sitting area for ppls to study and chit chat

Marvtan

True.

Cost of coffee is actually very very low.

If they roast their own then even lower.

But counting manpower salary, rental overhead, utilities, they likely lose $$ on those 99 cents..
There’s two reasons why they do that.

1. SG ish Luckin’s first overseas expansion. In marketing we call it waterfall model.

2. Luckin coffee ish a new player in the market. To get everyone know about the brand ish to sell it at 99 cents to attract new customers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.