Lta try to explain why cannot use motobike erp device

cantona81

no, not really
if heat was an issue they could simply place the box in the glove compartment no?
or car boot? if running wire is a concern, a wifi or Bluetooth chip costs lesser than the labor cost needed to run the wires to the display

yes, if the concern is only heat, can put anywhere else as long as not on the dashboard. as to why not other place, then this have to ask them what was their consideration liao...

fandango

material is not the problem. the problem is the MCU used. the current erp is just to perform cash card read write and sending of rf signals at short distance, hence the MCU doesn't need to run in high frequency and processing power doesn't need to be very high. but the new unit requires to link to satellite, and require more processing power process more data. it might even be using an industrial cpu.. so heat is very critical for reliable performance of the obu.
I am willing to take the motorcycle OBU, and mount it on my car roof.

Why cannot?

cantona81

I am willing to take the motorcycle OBU, and mount it on my car roof.
Why cannot?

car roof? u mean outside your car? can, why not. but how they going to mount the unit? weld a bracket or revet the bracket on the car roof?

cantona81

Magnet lorrrrrrrrrr

maybe can suggest to lta and see if they think it's a viable lor.. but u all really want something to mount on top of the car meh...
edit: use magnet later got ppl steal the obu how?

fandango

maybe can suggest to lta and see if they think it's a viable lor.. but u all really want something to mount on top of the car meh...
edit: use magnet later got ppl steal the obu how?
Mount out of car 1 OBU better than 3 OBU nonsense inside the car

cantona81

Mount out of car 1 OBU better than 3 OBU nonsense inside the car

actually the best approach is to work with the car makers to incorporate the system with car electronic boards. but difficult to implement...

standarture

I think LTA project officers kenna smoked by the supplier liao. Then those cars with fragile touchscreens leh? Also exposed to sunlight. Then those grab drivers with their thin handphones perma mounted to windscreen leh? Their overengineered device so cmi ah.

Flexamoria

I thought suppose to be smart nation, users will be happy and praise a good design. From the complains i guess not

standarture

They also never test the device thoroughly and just assume it will spoil so easily lol.

Chalkycliffs

20 years ago design can withstand heat, 20 years later cannot 🤦‍♂️

This recent bunch of LTA scholars are the ultimate char siews...

Too hot? See them roast like char siew than is too hot...

images

hoks

material is not the problem. the problem is the MCU used. the current erp is just to perform cash card read write and sending of rf signals at short distance, hence the MCU doesn't need to run in high frequency and processing power doesn't need to be very high. but the new unit requires to link to satellite, and require more processing power process more data. it might even be using an industrial cpu.. so heat is very critical for reliable performance of the obu.
Not sure what electronics is inside but if you c/f cpu 52 degrees is not an issue?

I mean we are in 2024, we cannot find a chip that can be operate @ 52 degrees?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.