Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

zzprincess

This video shows entering the building via the staff/supplier entrance (no security check and so anyone can enter) There are no directions for this route but I prefer to use this route nowadays because it leads you to a toilet as you enter the mall and you can enter the mall before 10 am. The old route is still available.
May i ask which is the old route, can share info pls. Any comments which route is the more direct one to/fro T21 bus stop. Thanks

Habrosus

Just go to KTM website to book very easy but getting good timing is not easy. The timing I want have to book at least 6 months advance, I sian liao.
Of course the timing has to be right, otherwise what's the point of booking for a 5min journey with 20 to 30 mins wait time, boarding and whatnot :s13:

Talking about those days before tom dick n harry goes north, I hardly bother to get SG>JB tix coz got to stress about reaching there on time, queue, long walk through the corridors, etc. I just went online to check JB>SG tix for timing after I checked out from hotel and at most have lunch, before heading back.

Those days already not easy to get train tix (and I'm speaking about weekDAYS), what's more these days. Ya, book 6 months in advance then later realize got to cancel. Just take bus lah! :s13:

Many times when I walked past JB Sentral, I came across "Only 10.30pm tickets available" and that's only about 7pm at the latest. I just continued heading for CIQ, coz I'd already be dreaming in bed when that train started moving. :razz:

Andrew833

Yah, but too early to dictate when i want to go JB lor. What if it rains or flood on that day. Haha.
Yea, who know what happen 6 months down the road. Save to the trouble, just use my usually method.
Fastest 50 mins
Slowest 1hr 20 mins
From Tuas to Bukit Indah/ Sutera Mall.

Andrew833

Of course the timing has to be right, otherwise what's the point of booking for a 5min journey with 20 to 30 mins wait time, boarding and whatnot :s13:

Talking about those days before tom dick n harry goes north, I hardly bother to get SG>JB tix coz got to stress about reaching there on time, queue, long walk through the corridors, etc. I just went online to check JB>SG tix for timing after I checked out from hotel and at most have lunch, before heading back.

Those days already not easy to get train tix (and I'm speaking about weekDAYS), what's more these days. Ya, book 6 months in advance then later realize got to cancel. Just take bus lah! :s13:

Many times when I walked past JB Sentral, I came across "Only 10.30pm tickets available" and that's only about 7pm at the latest. I just continued heading for CIQ, coz I'd already be dreaming in bed when that train started moving. :razz:
My wife want me to try, she want to 5 mins experience lol.
I show her the booking, she also sian liao. :LOL:

lexmarq

Hi all,

I have been driving in to JB a number of times already, but I still have a question regarding street parking.

How to you tell if a street parking requires you to pay via the MBJB app? Is it as long as it’s street parking, you have to pay?

For places like this (i.e parking lots that are part of the shophouses):

https://maps.app.goo.gl/mnqGCiYVvLsU3TwB6?g_st=ic

is it considered free parking or still have to pay via MBJB?

convex

May i ask which is the old route, can share info pls. Any comments which route is the more direct one to/fro T21 bus stop. Thanks
There isn't much difference in terms of distance between the old and "new" route. Both will take less than 5 mins to reach the retail area of the mall. After alighting, just follow the crowd into the mall. It is very likely they will take the old route (which has signs and marked lines on road) where the other option has no such assistance and is normally taken by staff working in the mall.

PS There is another YouTube video showing going in via old route and coming out via new route. Search for How to go to MidValley Southkey Johor Bahru by bus? uploaded by Maya Stories.

Aaagogo

Hi all,

I have been driving in to JB a number of times already, but I still have a question regarding street parking.

How to you tell if a street parking requires you to pay via the MBJB app? Is it as long as it’s street parking, you have to pay?

For places like this (i.e parking lots that are part of the shophouses):

https://maps.app.goo.gl/mnqGCiYVvLsU3TwB6?g_st=ic

is it considered free parking or still have to pay via MBJB?

See the parking spot got paint alpha number codes or not.

If have then need to pay for parking. No have then free parking

lexmarq

See the parking spot got paint alpha number codes or not.

If have then need to pay for parking. No have then free parking
So like for example this type need to use the mbjb app?

IMG-9738.png

sbl2560

Hi folks.

to use e-gates to enter JB, do I even need to perform the first-time registration? Have not used e-gate before, nor any form of registration. Thanks
No registration is needed. Previously I have applied MACS 2.0 and submit MDAC for each entry. There is no requirement for this process anymore. Went in on Sunday, in and out without any problems. However, my wife during exit at JB, encountered problem. Need to try a few gates, before able to exit successfully.

One thing to note. This ease of entry does disadvantage those whom have registered for MACS 2.0 previously, as this priveledge and priority no longer applies. The Malaysians will be upset with a longer queue for the use of e gate entry.

Habrosus

It's an entrance directly facing the road and with the sign showing that it leads to the mall, should be able to see from the driveway already. Note that that being part of the loading bay, the doorway would be above street level, up a couple of steps.

My wife want me to try, she want to 5 mins experience lol.
I show her the booking, she also sian liao. :LOL:
Tell her it's waiting while queuing, cannot move from that corridor until the incoming train passengers have alighted and exited. Walk walk to SG immigration, long walk to JB immigration and customs clearance, then board. No photo taking on the platform otherwise tio officer scold coz already got signs around.

Coming back, queue for up to half an hour. Clear eGates, go down clear MY immigration, then the fun starts, like train to Busan coz many tend to rush to get a seat (for the FIVE mins ride). The queue waiting to board will be from 2 directions, but they'll be people just sitting around bochap just squeeze once the doors open.

Reach SG have to enter macam 🐷 communal feeding station via an eGate. After immigration clearance, out another eGate and head to the customs clearance. Then walk walk to the lao kok kok lift to get to the ground floor otherwise walk down the stairs.

Then walk to the bus stop or Grab/cab just outside.

Worth the 5 mins ride? :s34:

sbl2560

Hi folks.

to use e-gates to enter JB, do I even need to perform the first-time registration? Have not used e-gate before, nor any form of registration. Thanks
No requirement to register for MACS 2.0 and submission of MDAC prior to entry is also not needed.

Went in and out on Sunday without any problems. However, my wife encountered problem during return. Tried a few e gates, before able to exit. This problem, is a hindrance when the queues for each gate is long.

Unlike previously, those whom have applied MACS 2.0, does have the advantage and priority during clearance. This benefit ceased to exist.

The Malaysians will also be perturbed with the longer queues for e gates.

hwsstx

It's an entrance directly facing the road and with the sign showing that it leads to the mall, should be able to see from the driveway already. Note that that being part of the loading bay, the doorway would be above street level, up a couple of steps.

Tell her it's waiting while queuing, cannot move from that corridor until the incoming train passengers have alighted and exited. Walk walk to SG immigration, long walk to JB immigration and customs clearance, then board. No photo taking on the platform otherwise tio officer scold coz already got signs around.

Coming back, queue for up to half an hour. Clear eGates, go down clear MY immigration, then the fun starts, like train to Busan coz many tend to rush to get a seat (for the FIVE mins ride). The queue waiting to board will be from 2 directions, but they'll be people just sitting around bochap just squeeze once the doors open.

Reach SG have to enter macam 🐷 communal feeding station via an eGate. After immigration clearance, out another eGate and head to the customs clearance. Then walk walk to the lao kok kok lift to get to the ground floor otherwise walk down the stairs.

Then walk to the bus stop or Grab/cab just outside.

Worth the 5 mins ride? :s34:
Better to take bus, lesser waiting time & hence maybe faster to JB/SG...if no big jam at Causeway... especially now SG can use E-Gate.

Let's see how RTS is going to be organized, whether it is going to be better than taking bus.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.