Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

s-ghost

u dun shower for 1wk also. Sure no one come near you. :ROFLMAO: (y)
play so big ah
I can say cos a bigger percentage of owners are foreigners…

It is on higher lands … most importantly it is freehold with individual titles …

It has golf course, club house, swimming pool, gym, tennis and badminton court with cafe and a Chinese restaurant and a sg owned International school : Invictus.
I haven’t been to the club house since covid.

They are building a mall and shophouses near the club house and near the international school.

The sales office shared that their new launch were all bot by younger My working in sg…
icic, sounds shiok
No Rolex watch like ah song and no jewellery… most of all, no branded bags or clothes like the ah Tiong…
ah gui not flashy one, the most expensive thing on me is my heart

Andrew833

For Tuas SG CIQ ish $2.10
Than JB CIQ RM20
once u clear JB CIQ, immediately kena 1 toll RM6.14.
thats why most cars like woodlands, pay less dah. but for me TUAS traffic most of the time smoother.
Last week I just notice this. Further up toll only RM1-2. Depend on where you going.
Highway very smooth

Andrew833

Go jb must dress down..

Best wear torn jeans or dirty shirts…

Last time I went to check out mattresses after my work. Shirts a little dirty..,

The salesgirl Ai mai Ai mai…

later another Saleman attended to me and I bot a few.

She then said Y I dressed so poorly and delivery address is Horizon Hills…

Laugh die me…
Woah sis stay in Horizon Hills. Nice place but road got alot of speed control and humps.

hwsstx

Home away from home: More Singaporeans eye Malaysia as place to retire

Home away from home: More Singaporeans eye Malaysia as place to retire​

With the ringgit’s decline and recent changes to Malaysia’s retirement visa programme, more Singaporeans are pondering if the grass is greener on the other side

Tan Nai Lun

Tan Nai Lun

Published Fri, May 24, 2024 · 03:00 PM

54d33a2ed5220a8421bf8c96b3f73a2d0b301484efab8358ba1b01ef631bb4fa

Above: Johor Bahru's city centre, favoured by Singaporeans for shopping. Moving here would enable Singaporeans to stretch their retirement dollar and slow down their pace of life, but still be near Singapore. PHOTO: ST FILE

SPENDING the weekend in Malaysia has become a near-weekly affair for Evelyn Ku and her family of four.

The 57-year-old bought a two-storey house in Johor Bahru in 2013, after having enjoyed the peaceful environment when she visited a relative there.

She says her friends call her a “weekend Malaysian”, although for now, she is not crossing the border every single weekend yet because of work or other obligations. But when she does go there, she sees her time there as a prelude to her lifestyle down the road as she plans to retire in Malaysia.

“Life is short – we don’t know how many more decades we have left, so we decided to live in the moment, and look for a slower lifestyle elsewhere,” she says.

Amid the rising cost of living in Singapore, more Singaporeans like her are seeing Malaysia as that “elsewhere” that is near Singapore, so they get the best of both worlds.

A survey by Blackbox Research and Qualtrics in February this year found that one in three Singaporeans polled say they may retire in Johor Bahru, once travel arrangements become more convenient.

Moving across the Causeway enables Singaporeans to stretch their retirement dollar and enjoy a slower pace of life, but still be close enough to benefit from Singapore’s safety, facilities and family networks. Recent changes in Malaysia’s retirement visa programme are also sweetening the deal, with more applicants here taking the bait.

But if more retirees make this move, there could be implications for Singapore in the long run, such as a loss of human capital, which could also affect nation-building efforts.

73437fa6276fbed46bf392afead7408b5b10ffebd119c487827a229bff29c1eb

A survey by Blackbox Research and Qualtrics in February this year found that one in three Singaporeans polled say they may eventually retire in Johor Bahru (above, the JB city centre) when travel arrangements become more convenient. PHOTO: GAVIN FOO, ST

Renewed interest​

To be sure, retiring in Malaysia is not a foreign concept. In 2009, then-health minister Khaw Boon Wan suggested that Singaporeans consider living in nursing homes in Johor Bahru amid rising healthcare costs.

Indeed, Singaporeans’ spending power in Malaysia has never been higher than in 2024, with the Malaysian ringgit trending at new lows. In February, the ringgit hit an all-time low of 3.56 against the Singdollar.

Last October, the ringgit hit a new low against the US dollar – 4.7958, the weakest it has been against the greenback since 1998, during the Asian financial crisis.

The widening gap between the Singdollar and the ringgit may make for a bigger push factor than the rising costs in Singapore, says Dr Leong Chan Hoong, senior fellow for social cohesion research at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies at Nanyang Technological University.

“You can immediately convert your savings to the equivalent in ringgit, which will then give you a sense of the amount of purchasing power you have, and the quality of life you can enjoy,” he says.

Plans to bring the borders closer are already in motion – the Johor Bahru-Singapore Rapid Transit System Link will likely open by December 2026, and immigration clearance is now a QR code away.

The proposed special economic zone in Johor Bahru may also bring borders even closer, such as through passport-free travel.

Ku says: “With such a terrible rise in prices, I believe a lot of Singaporeans are thinking of retiring somewhere cheaper, like Malaysia… Anyway, it’s so convenient to travel between Malaysia and Singapore.”

hwsstx

Home away from home: More Singaporeans eye Malaysia as place to retire
It continues on in 3 subsequent posts in the order below...

Post in thread '[GLGT]Home away from home: More Singaporeans eye Malaysia as place to retire' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...sia-as-place-to-retire.7032212/post-152500084

Post in thread '[GLGT]Home away from home: More Singaporeans eye Malaysia as place to retire' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...sia-as-place-to-retire.7032212/post-152500091

Post in thread '[GLGT]Home away from home: More Singaporeans eye Malaysia as place to retire' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...sia-as-place-to-retire.7032212/post-152500098

Coffeelix

Crocs Ok. Later nite time Hantu decide to take a break at the hse. 😱😱😜
Ah song, Andrew, ah go, 🐯

mai gong bo jio.

Tis is very good deal cos I paid Rm400 for the same unit. Mine mid floor.
The feeling is very good staying there cos it bright n breezy with no block.

Don't take if is level 12 cos water tank is on level 13. The pump very noisy.

See sunway is smaller and almost double the price. Sunway is too far in and Internet signal is w

Meemoosaa

Hello JB peeps, is there any way to check whether the passport control custom is crowded or not ?

I know there are cameras for the car lanes.. how about those who are crossing without cars ?

Am thinking of checking in today but haven't been on a weekend for a long time liao.... wondered if it would be crowded given that people just had the Vesak day holiday... and hoping holiday crowds would have died down.

Meemoosaa

ya lo, that's why i don't dare to roam around other than staying in city square to jiak, go alone is jin scared come back missing one limb

Having Grab totally changed the game. Before Grab days I would never go on my own, these days with Grab super safe leh....

Andrew833

Hello JB peeps, is there any way to check whether the passport control custom is crowded or not ?

I know there are cameras for the car lanes.. how about those who are crossing without cars ?

Am thinking of checking in today but haven't been on a weekend for a long time liao.... wondered if it would be crowded given that people just had the Vesak day holiday... and hoping holiday crowds would have died down.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1723509754539693/

Andrew833

Having Grab totally changed the game. Before Grab days I would never go on my own, these days with Grab super safe leh....
Before Grab, is taxi, also no problem. Taxi driver usually will ask for higher price and some places will say heavy traffic they don't go.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.