Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

Rigkard

The max throughput for 4H33VG is higher than 3H28VG, thats provided we are talking about using 9/9/12/12 vs 9/9/24

if using only 9/9/12, practically no difference (6.2kW vs 6.5kW normal rating)

Sorry, new to this. Do you mean if I on my 3 bedrooms aircon concurrently at night during sleep, there is not much difference between option 1 and 2? I heard option 1 will be under capacity if on all 3 concurrently. Thanks

1. MXY-3H28VG + 3 Aircon units (12,9,9)
2. MXY-4H33VG + 3 Aircon units(12,9,9)

Rigkard

System 3 28VG can covered 12,9,18k no point to get system 4
Thanks for your reply.
Sorry, new to this. Do you mean if I on my 3 bedrooms aircon concurrently at night during sleep, option 1 is sufficient? I heard option 1 will be under capacity if on all 3 concurrently. Thanks

obichacha

Got what you mean! thank you
He meant that not cooling enough.

For my 3 room unit old flat, System 3 starmex.
10+10+18 turn on all together no issue.
At least fully utilised.

now my 5 room BTO, 2x system 3 , bedroom 3x10 and study room 10, dining 12 and 18 on living.
My main concern was fully turn on, has not an issue.

if you’re prefer more cooling with shorter cooling times.
Go for system 3 (10+10+12) + system 1 (24k) on living room.

The_King

this aircon trunking gap, what can i use to cover?

4MPRTuh.jpeg
SBjKKjm.jpeg
update:

Untitled.jpg

007Mi6

Sorry, new to this. Do you mean if I on my 3 bedrooms aircon concurrently at night during sleep, there is not much difference between option 1 and 2? I heard option 1 will be under capacity if on all 3 concurrently. Thanks

a lot of factors, the 2 condenser whether 28VG and 33VG, no difference in practice.

the question will be if your bedrooms are (1) new BTO size which may or may not need even 9K, (2) west sun facing, or (3) resale.

if performance is key, then we need more info.

boliao123

Hi guys, will be installing aircons in my resale 4 room hdb, all bedrooms to have aircon and my living/kitchen (walls hacked off) as well.

Does a mitsubishi system 4 with 10/10/10/24 work well? Living room area if on, at most 1 other bedroom will turn on (other 2 wont be on).

Usage: master room (every night) and 1 other bedroom (day time) that will have aircon on, living/kitchen only in the day when its unbearable.

Or should i go for 2x system 2? Maybe a 10/10 and 12/24?

Open to suggestions.

Rigkard

Hi
Thanks for the reply.

I'm in a resale 4room in Pasir RIs, therefore the bedrooms are larger than usual bto.
Im going for 9, 9,9 but the sales guy said the masterbedroom need 12k. Therefore 12,9,9

Mainly using all 3 aircons for sleeping concurrently for 3 bedrooms . Therefore should be no sun.

I heard that "Normal rating of MXY-4G33VA2 is only 22,500 btu so if you run it at its maximum btu all the way, you will just shorten its lifespan." from one of the post previously. I am not sure about MXY-3H28VG , couldnt find it.

Thanks.

ZacharyA

Hi guys, will be installing aircons in my resale 4 room hdb, all bedrooms to have aircon and my living/kitchen (walls hacked off) as well.

Does a mitsubishi system 4 with 10/10/10/24 work well? Living room area if on, at most 1 other bedroom will turn on (other 2 wont be on).

Usage: master room (every night) and 1 other bedroom (day time) that will have aircon on, living/kitchen only in the day when its unbearable.

Or should i go for 2x system 2? Maybe a 10/10 and 12/24?

Open to suggestions.

If money is not the priority and you have space to put 2 compressors, the ideal will always be 2 separate systems. Maybe 1 to power the living and the under usage common room and the other for day common and night master.

I am looking at your set up as well but primarily from a cost savings perspective instead of having 2 systems.

I will not use either of the two common rooms as my home office / study will be in the living room. Still trying to work out a best layout so that maybe I can go for a system 5 and isolate a part of living room for study / office so I can use a 9/10k FCU to cool it instead of using a 18/24k to cool the entire living room.

Also will eat into some part of the open concept dry kitchen area so will use a lot of electricity just to cool the entire living space for day usage (working).

boliao123

If money is not the priority and you have space to put 2 compressors, the ideal will always be 2 separate systems. Maybe 1 to power the living and the under usage common room and the other for day common and night master.

I am looking at your set up as well but primarily from a cost savings perspective instead of having 2 systems.

I will not use either of the two common rooms as my home office / study will be in the living room. Still trying to work out a best layout so that maybe I can go for a system 5 and isolate a part of living room for study / office so I can use a 9/10k FCU to cool it instead of using a 18/24k to cool the entire living room.

Also will eat into some part of the open concept dry kitchen area so will use a lot of electricity just to cool the entire living space for day usage (working).
Thanks for ur advice!

Im also thinking abt consumption/cost efficiency too.

Got a qns: assuming if system 4 or 5 used, but just 1 aircon is being turned on - compressor will only be running just enough for that 1 aircon and not at full capacity (hence not wasting power) right?

obichacha

Thanks for ur advice!

Got a qns: assuming if system 4 or 5 used, but just 1 aircon is being turned on - compressor will only be running just enough for that 1 aircon and not at full capacity (hence not wasting power) right?
Multi split has lock the full load capacity, either power on 24k or 3x10k or mixed 10k, 10k, 12k.
Because of the high btu will be divided to all room. Left the minimum on 24k or power on 3 room on same times.
The idea for space saving , not for performance.

boliao123

Multi split has lock the full load capacity, either power on 24k or 3x10k or mixed 10k, 10k, 12k.
Because of the high btu will be divided to all room. Left the minimum on 24k or power on 3 room on same times.
The idea for space saving , not for performance.
Oh so this means if i use system4, and just turn on 10k btu for 1 room condenser will run at 100% so its kinda like a waste of capacity usage/electricity?

ZacharyA

Thanks for ur advice!

I am no expert in this but I would assume it will work to the full capacity of that particular FCU, if it's 18k or 24k, then will be maxed of that, unless you turn on all FCUs then it will throttle or limit performance, either 3 small or 1 big or 1 big 1 small, something like that.

obichacha

Oh so this means if i use system4, and just turn on 10k btu for 1 room condenser will run at 100% so its kinda like a waste of capacity usage/electricity?
Turn on 1 room , power input 540w at 8k btu to 10k Btu max.
If turn on 3 room = 1650w at 28k Btu something.
System 4 turn on 24k + 3 x 10k / 4 = each room get 5k Btu x 3 + 15k on 24k , I guess

ZacharyA

Turn on 1 room , power input 540w at 8k btu to 10k Btu max.
If turn on 3 room = 1650w at 28k Btu something.
System 4 turn on 24k + 3 x 10k / 4 = each room get 5k Btu x 3 + 15k on 24k , I guess

Do you mean if the load is below max capacity of the condenser, it will run at 100%, and if the load is beyond the max capacity, it will be throttled evenly amongst all active units. So if 3 small + 1 big FCU, and the ratio is say 60%, then all 4 units will run at 60% capacity. Unless you turn off 2 small or 1 big, to resume back to 90-100% capacity.

obichacha

Do you mean if the load is below max capacity of the condenser, it will run at 100%, and if the load is beyond the max capacity, it will be throttled evenly amongst all active units. So if 3 small + 1 big FCU, and the ratio is say 60%, then all 4 units will run at 60% capacity. Unless you turn off 2 small or 1 big, to resume back to 90-100% capacity.
Can refer the details here
https://www.mitsubishielectric.com....b948b1210524/Starmex-R32-Details-Nov-2023.pdf

all the inverter ac are running in variable speed with high and low capacity to suit your room temperature and size.

Balatos

Hi, anyone has had their air con installed by Jiaxing Air Con and are they reliable? Tried searching about them online but very little info about them.
Don't use this company. They service 2 of my air con in 20 min, include setting up ladder, sheets, take down vacuum, so actually cleaning very short.

How to be clean????

Last round told me need chemical wash when I just changed my fan coil less than 6 months. Then say climb out check gas tell me low on gas when gas was topped up during fan coil change less than 6 months.

i_dun_understand

Hi sifu, how to tell the aramflex class 0 insulator is really 3/8 inch or 1/2 inch insulator ?

I ask the installer they advice the 3/8 or 1/4 wording on the insulator is for the copper pipe size inside. Is it true ?

I took the insulator and measure myself and it seems look like 1/2 inch.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.