YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

abcde78

We are probably living in the best times of stock market investing and we are not even realising it. I feel sorry for people who are not participating in the markets, just imagine the amount of extra work they need to do to reach the same amount of networth.
Me lor. I am not into equities..
But i made a more than a million from property in 2 years.

Everyone has their own race to run...
I don't think i am losing much by not buying equities as the risk is different.
I put money into safer assets.

yslvlys

Can u share how u made the million in property in last 2 years?

highsulphur

The "good" thing about property investment is you hardly see any mark to market so it is probably easier emotionally. You won't get those pnl swings associated with equities

revhappy

I should have said, people who play safe and don't take any risk. You have done well for yourself by investing in property. Congratulations :)

Trader11

Yes, my salary is like 150k a year, including bonus. Pre COVID salary was like 120k. I got good hike and promotion after COVID. I worked in SG for 15 years. So it is not very difficult to make that much in 15 years even with moderate salary, if you are frugal. My investment gains are pretty average, I got into the game quite late.

The biggest determinant of your networth is your savings rate and consistency, not investment gains. Extraordinary investment gains happen only for a lucky few.
So you save 100,000 SGD per year. Amazing!

Trader11

there are many ways to reach FI, including property investment. I think the bulk of blogger AK's capital came from property flipping which he then dumped into dividend stocks 😅
Some earn by crypto. Some earn by Nvidia. Fortune favours the Bold

DevilPlate

The "good" thing about property investment is you hardly see any mark to market so it is probably easier emotionally. You won't get those pnl swings associated with equities
Yes it is easier to buy and hold property generally speaking.

However, most dislike handling rental....so choose to sell prematurely

DevilPlate

Can u share how u made the million in property in last 2 years?
He prolly meant his properties has appreciated 1M in past 2years.

Generally SG properties appreciated 35% post covid

So a 3M property/properties would have appreciated 1M

stanlawj

I follow CANSLIM methodology. Buying stocks off their base. Started accumulating MU around 125-130.

Triple digit forecasted EPS growth qoq. And sales and margin growth more than 40%. Monster
I lowered my marketcap screen to sub $1B for CANSLIM to get higher volatility.
That's how I snagged ADMA (Biologics).
Unfortunately, I did not do enough research on the industry and company and bailed out after getting stopped out in Sept 2023, cursing the stock on the way out. ADMA is a 3X bagger after that from Oct 2023 to today. Almost as good as SMCI (4X). :cry:
I don’t know why Master fall in love with stocks……he needs to find real love in real world and treat stocks like socks (change if lags). Even PDD (temu) is doing better than baba
The reason is ML's domain is China stocks and retail deep value. PDD is a momentum play. Everyone of us gravitate to one niche, and it takes time to add another niche or diversify strategies. Even for myself, I keep having trouble with my tech sector picks and end up relying on commodities sector for profits.

stanlawj

The ability to value a property accurately by intuition & experience is important.

abcde78

He prolly meant his properties has appreciated 1M in past 2years.

Generally SG properties appreciated 35% post covid

So a 3M property/properties would have appreciated 1M
Yes bought and sold 2yrs+. Officially otp exercised after 3 years of course

d9_lives

Yes, Index funds(equities and bonds). If you do IRR over 15 years, I believe it is pretty average.
You did it with minimal risk and effort. That's huge, prob. better than most gurus here.
Do you think that it could have reached 1M had you not been a big papa bear years ago?

elvintay07

No lah, my total annual savings in last 15 years is 1072k

Total investment gains is 628k
Sibei god mode. lol! My wife manage to save only $75k a year with work from home arrangement and using my credit card.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.