I shouted at my newborn baby today

eflash

Too frustrated liao. My first child was never this fussy or I too Cha siew to be parent…

Then what was the consequence?
Child cry? I probably shouted too or even hit not quite newborn la... That time probably >6m... It was the first baby, and extremely frustrating with the super slow feeding + rejection of breastfeed and breast milk etc...

I asked my husband to restrain me if he thinks I'm going overboard (to takeover and let me cool off if needed). Maybe I did have post natal depression?

Anyway just think, if you scold the baby, baby also don't understand and cry -> worse torture to your ears... So get spouse to help and take turns.

Comes 2nd baby... So much easier... So far never need to shout, hit wise just light slap on hand couple with "don't pull my hair. Pain."

*Fussy could also be due to reflux or not feeling well... If it happens too often maybe can discuss with paediatrician?

yiron

Too frustrated liao. My first child was never this fussy or I too Cha siew to be parent…
Can be very stressful caring for an incessantly crying baby, especially if your wife isn't considerate / supportive. Hang in there bro. Take a breather at times, and try to take turns caring for the baby with your wife.

If really buay tahan, try a pacifier.

TrollAndOgres

Tbh i also shouted at my son once when he was a newborn, i was a first time mum soloing with him after husband went back to work. Almost everyday i struggled as i had to feed, change him every 2hours, plus pump also. Zero help at all.

Idk if that made him a bit scaredy cat now at 6..

bombshell

Ok la, now shout only.
Few yrs later can introduce this friend liao.
Canes-1.jpg

Tough love is true love.🖤

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.