Starhub TV+ Recontract

wolnavi

Hi, I was recently contacted by Starhub to recontract my TV and was told that I’ll need to switch to the TV+ variant as the Fibre TV has been discontinued and would be unable to keep the existing Fibre TV if I wish to recontract. So I recontracted but am awaiting the installation of the TV+ box

So far I have been reading here and found that we would need to use the Nokia Beacon 2 router if we want to continue watching Mediacorp channels on the TV+ box

My question is why can’t we just connect the TV+ to port 2 of the ONT to maintain the Mediacorp channels as per the previous way like the Fibre TV? Thanks

Solution
Hi, I was recently contacted by Starhub to recontract my TV and was told that I’ll need to switch to the TV+ variant as the Fibre TV has been discontinued and would be unable to keep the existing Fibre TV if I wish to recontract. So I recontracted but am awaiting the installation of the TV+ box

So far I have been reading here and found that we would need to use the Nokia Beacon 2 router if we want to continue watching Mediacorp channels on the TV+ box

My question is why can’t we just connect the TV+ to port 2 of the ONT to maintain the Mediacorp channels as per the previous way like the Fibre TV? Thanks

They are using totally different technology with Starhub TV+ box...

cracker

Hi anyone using the StarHub tv+ pro box (the black one)? Can u get it to connect to ur Sonos? Mine only can connect to soundbar but the Sonos one speakers no sound coming out. But if I use YouTube etc only Samsung tv audio no issue. 😓
any luck ?

i will be subscribing to the green camp and should be getting this tv+ pro box as well.

I am wondering how is the "B&O" tuned sound quality?
is there any option to divert the sound output to the tv or external soundbar instead?

zachary123

Parents place has homehub package for which contract has ended. They are familiar watching starhub tv for channels such as bbc, CNN and other entertainment channels.

Wondering if I just sign up a basic 1gbps internet plan for them, e.g simba, what starhub tv package is suitable for them. The packages seem really complicated

xiaofan

Parents place has homehub package for which contract has ended. They are familiar watching starhub tv for channels such as bbc, CNN and other entertainment channels.
Wondering if I just sign up a basic 1gbps internet plan for them, e.g simba, what starhub tv package is suitable for them. The packages seem really complicated

SIMBA 2.5Gbps at S$21.80 per month may not be a good choice as it is not so stable. WC 2.5Gbps plan at S$21.80 per month should be a better deal for simple use cases and it is stable.

SingTel TV may be easier, for example, SingTel Family Fun or Family Lifestyle at S$24.35 have BBC, CNN and some entertainment channels.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/tv/packs/starter

zachary123

SIMBA 2.5Gbps at S$21.80 per month may not be a good choice as it is not so stable. WC 2.5Gbps plan at S$21.80 per month should be a better deal for simple use cases and it is stable.

SingTel TV may be easier, for example, SingTel Family Fun or Family Lifestyle at S$24.35 have BBC, CNN and some entertainment channels.
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/tv/packs/starter
Thanks for your sharing. I've further explored the starhub packages. Just wondering if I'm to subscribe the 10Gbps starhub tv+ bundle but place the tv+ pro box at their place will they be able to view the channels? I'm not interested in the tv channels but I have better use of the 10Gbps BB vs them

xiaofan

Thanks for your sharing. I've further explored the starhub packages. Just wondering if I'm to subscribe the 10Gbps starhub tv+ bundle but place the tv+ pro box at their place will they be able to view the channels? I'm not interested in the tv channels but I have better use of the 10Gbps BB vs them

No idea as this is not supported by Starhub.

My guess is that Starhub+ app will work on the mobile phone/tablet but your Starhub TV+ Box will not work.

Henry Ng

Yes as this is an android TV box as long as got internet at their home sure can watch and can even watch without the box. Can watch from phone and cast to TV, Android TV or Samsung smart TV also can. Some free App like Netflix can watch while overseas. Just use a Hub ID and password. But Starhub can only install at your place. Earlier i mentioned that no extra charges for second TV and can use android TV and Samsung smart TV with wifi.

Henry Ng

No idea as this is not supported by Starhub.

My guess is that Starhub+ app will work on the mobile phone/tablet but your Starhub TV+ Box will not work.
As long as got internet at home and the TV has Starhub TV+ in their app store then can watch for sure. If no internet at home then use mobile data and minor (samsung smart share) to the Smart TV with the smart phone on. The box put at user's own home. The box may work. TV also got news channels that is useful. White box earlier i tried with my mobile data can watch.

froztheart

Yes as this is an android TV box as long as got internet at their home sure can watch and can even watch without the box. Can watch from phone and cast to TV, Android TV or Samsung smart TV also can. Some free App like Netflix can watch while overseas. Just use a Hub ID and password. But Starhub can only install at your place. Earlier i mentioned that no extra charges for second TV and can use android TV and Samsung smart TV with wifi.
So to say, Starhub TV box can be DIY removed to be deployed at another location as long as there is internet connectivity?
Sorry, but this is tested and verfied by yourself or?

stephenbishop

So to say, Starhub TV box can be DIY removed to be deployed at another location as long as there is internet connectivity?
Sorry, but this is tested and verfied by yourself or?
Yes, I believe @Henry Ng is correct- the Starhub TV+ box can be deployed anywhere in Singapore which has Internet connectivity and the subscribed TV content should be available once the user connects the box to the Internet and logs in to the subscriber's Starhub TV account . I believe the only limitation is a maximum of 4 (or is it 5?) devices can be connected to the subscriber's account.

I am a Starhub TV+ subscriber and have a Starhub TV+ Pro box but I have not tested the above at any other address other than my own but believe the above is correct.

Henry Ng

Yes, I believe @Henry Ng is correct- the Starhub TV+ box can be deployed anywhere in Singapore which has Internet connectivity and the subscribed TV content should be available once the user connects the box to the Internet and logs in to the subscriber's Starhub TV account . I believe the only limitation is a maximum of 4 (or is it 5?) devices can be connected to the subscriber's account.

I am a Starhub TV+ subscriber and have a Starhub TV+ Pro box but I have not tested the above at any other address other than my own but believe the above is correct.
I got try their white box and connect to my data hotspot from my phone and yet can play too. i just try the TV+ Pro with wifi to my mobile hotspot from my mobile phone also can watch but consider one of the mobile device watching outside the household. Confirm it can work with any internet in Singapore. Netflix and Prime video are international app and can watch while on holiday. 10 Gbps Homehub+ very good with TV contents and can watch Copa America 2024 Foot ball matches Live from USA. Now Homehub+ Ultra Speed selling very well.

cracker

Need some help here.

I had just subscribed to the sports package and entertainment tv package and it came with the tv+ pro box.

Before this subscription, i only subscribed to EPL package and could watch it either via my TV or mobile device.

i set up the box and use the starhub tv* apps to scan when log in screen appear.

i check the setting and saw my hub id is in the hub…. but i can’t watch any of the prog that i had subscribe. I check the “store” in the box and it was empty… i check the “store” in my mobile device and all my subscriptions are there and i could watch via my mobile.

i went to the me watch apps on the box and could watch all those FTA channel.

So do i need to click “subscribe “ to the same package that i had purchased in the box store or did i miss any detail during the set up?

thx

HiHelloBye

Need some help here.

I had just subscribed to the sports package and entertainment tv package and it came with the tv+ pro box.

Before this subscription, i only subscribed to EPL package and could watch it either via my TV or mobile device.

i set up the box and use the starhub tv* apps to scan when log in screen appear.

i check the setting and saw my hub id is in the hub…. but i can’t watch any of the prog that i had subscribe. I check the “store” in the box and it was empty… i check the “store” in my mobile device and all my subscriptions are there and i could watch via my mobile.

So do i need to click “subscribe “ to the same package that i had purchased in the box store or did i miss any detail during the set up?

thx
you go see your monthly bill first and check your subscription ID

from there, double-check that you have selected the correct subscription ID and your respective subscribed channels will be shown...

Henry Ng

Need some help here.

thx
You can call 1633 to ask them.

cracker

you go see your monthly bill first and check your subscription ID

from there, double-check that you have selected the correct subscription ID and your respective subscribed channels will be shown...
hmm hmmm
the staff in the shop did say my subscription code will be changed.
but if the new subscriptions are reflected in my mobile phone and i can watch them on my the device, it shld mean the content and subscriptions code had already been updated.

so if i used my phone apps to scan the login QR code of the pro box, it shld be the new subscription code and package.

Am i right?

Oops SH site is down for maintenance, can’t see my acct detail now..

HiHelloBye

hmm hmmm
the staff in the shop did say my subscription code will be changed.
but if the new subscriptions are reflected in my mobile phone and i can watch them on my the device, it shld mean the content and subscriptions code had already been updated.

so if i used my phone apps to scan the login QR code of the pro box, it shld be the new subscription code and package.

Am i right?

Oops SH site is down for maintenance, can’t see my acct detail now..
you just double-check lor...

if all fails, you try to log-out from the TV box, and re-login again.

it should be a straight-forward process though...

cracker

you just double-check lor...

if all fails, you try to log-out from the TV box, and re-login again.
1) try login via QR code and also keying in... didnt work.
2) delete and reinstall the apps on my mobile phone... login and viola all the package are still on my mobile phone
3) logout from my acct in the box and re-login, still tak boleh

it should be a straight-forward process though...

Call up starhub, said they had done some reset at their side ... see how it goes tonight,.

froztheart

I got try their white box and connect to my data hotspot from my phone and yet can play too. i just try the TV+ Pro with wifi to my mobile hotspot from my mobile phone also can watch but consider one of the mobile device watching outside the household. Confirm it can work with any internet in Singapore. Netflix and Prime video are international app and can watch while on holiday. 10 Gbps Homehub+ very good with TV contents and can watch Copa America 2024 Foot ball matches Live from USA. Now Homehub+ Ultra Speed selling very well.

Yup, I've went by to Starhub to verify and unofficial reply is, yes. lol
So literally can bring overseas and plug into TV to stream? :ROFLMAO:

cracker

Yup, I've went by to Starhub to verify and unofficial reply is, yes. lol
So literally can bring overseas and plug into TV to stream? :ROFLMAO:
nowaday the box is not bound to address..
whereas in the dinosaur days of cable modem... they know if the box has been moved ard or family members renting additional box but used in separate household.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.