Friend passed away of cardiac arrest

3G SAINT

The doctor didnt ask me to do surgery. I was discharged at age of 28. He said it will not grow bigger or smaller already.
If doctor told me dnt need do I will happy but mine was told me need do surgery.

EdenHazard

Our heart got 4 valve.There is another valve is high risk operation.

The common heart valve leak call mitral valve prolapse and high operation success rate and other type valve more complicated operation.

I did do research for heart valve operation,you need stop the heart and do repair and put in the machine and let blood flow to other body;)You need stay in ICU for 2 days.
wah sounds scary sia need stop heart and use machine. later suay suay power outage or whatever then gg

Taloona

Had my open heart surgery for mitral valve replacement a month ago. Recovering now. Doc said I have 1 year to get it replaced before risk of failure is too high.

Had the valve repaired 11 years ago but because of viral infection and endocarditis in Nov last year, repair was totally damaged.

Listen to the docs advise. If you need to go for surgery, get it done quickly. We have the best surgeons here.
Yes, my late sibling had severe Afib, didn't go for surgery despite doctor's advice. She was afraid of the pain and mortality risk. Look, any surgery will have risks. If the doctor said the risk is 1-2%, it is quite a good outcome.

She passed away suddenly last year. Afib can cause strokes. Heard from her kiddos she had wanted to go for surgery this year. Too late.

Taloona

If have symptoms then consult cardiologist+ CT scan but everything looks healthy, cardiologist say all ok but end up misdiagnosis and up lorry how?

Means what?
Is this a hypothetical scenario? A competent cardiologist would have given you the right advice. If unsure, seek a second opinion.

3G SAINT

Yes, my late sibling had severe Afib, didn't go for surgery despite doctor's advice. She was afraid of the pain and mortality risk. Look, any surgery will have risks. If the doctor said the risk is 1-2%, it is quite a good outcome.

She passed away suddenly last year. Afib can cause strokes. Heard from her kiddos she had wanted to go for surgery this year. Too late.
I was told to do 5 yrs ago but choose not do.

Actually depend which heart valve leak and some heart valve issue cannot delay;)

https://www.texasheart.org/heart-he...ch-is-worse-a-leaking-aortic-or-mitral-valve/

Gondon72

If doctor told me dnt need do I will happy but mine was told me need do surgery.
Wah..take care bro.

I also recently goes to polyclinc get a referral letter to national heath centre as having chest pain. Initial appointment is Augst, suddenly changed it to Nov...KNN..i think i better go do cardiac screening myself first

Taloona

Erm doesn't work that way, a valve cannot close properly hence the blood backflow. Not like a hole in the wall or something.
Some valve issues are due to an underlying condition such as an autoimmune disease. Others can be due to a viral infection or aging.

mummynew

Why not seek a second or even a third opinion whereby a specialist can give you his/her frank opinion of how long your condition can last if you don't go for surgery?

My late dad had a bypass surgery at around 58 yo that lasted him for about 10 years before he passed.

Throughout those years I accompanied him to SGH Heart Centre for check ups.

Nearer to the end of the 10 years, the specialist began to give me warning of his heart was beginning to fail again and gave me an approximate timeline to prepare for his passing.

*We were lucky coz dad was under the care of the same specialist throughout the 10 years and we sort of know him well. He spoke to me in English that my dad couldn't understand (not to cause unnecessary alarm) and was willing to share with me his prognosis. He was accurate in a way.

If the second opinion tells you that your heart may last for another 10 years without surgery and you are OK with that, then so be it that you may decide against surgery. Having more info at hands to make your decision is wiser in a way.

Krabs.

i have such issues too
jog+briskwalk 2.5km strain my body too much , the shock of going into seated position screw up the heart and blood pressure make me on the verge of fainting , very strong urge to sleep on the floor but i paiseh

mummynew

Wah..take care bro.

I also recently goes to polyclinc get a referral letter to national heath centre as having chest pain. Initial appointment is Augst, suddenly changed it to Nov...KNN..i think i better go do cardiac screening myself first

you can search for 'singapore heart screening packages' to look at packages (or can explore JB with much cheaper prices if you are ok with Msia).

I brought my nephew for a heart check before his NS. Paid about $1000+ for a package here.

Taloona

If u have symptoms like shortness of breath easily, chest pain or tightness, even fainting at times, best to go see a cardiologist to run the full set of tests.
Yes, rapid heartbeat even at rest, dizziness, consistent jaw pain that is not due to dental issues, pain radiating from arm can be warning signs of heart issues. I come from a family with cardiovascular disease.

Side note: so finally my youngest sibling went for an angiogram as all the older ones have had heart bypass. This sibling eats fried food EVERY DAY and drinks bubble tea EVERY DAY. Guess what? No blockage and no hardening of arteries. Calcium score zero.

I am really speechless. But of course there is still the possibility of blockage at the neck and brain, which she didn't check.

But I am like...is there a reason a higher being is protecting her?

galmongie

actually what happens if the surgeon suddenly needs to sneeze when performing a sensitive procedure?
or if he's not fully alert because didn't sleep well the previous night?

woonwoonjiakbeehoon

I discovered 5 yrs ago but dare not go and they told me I am still young not like in 60s so my heart valve can repair if come worse need use animal valve or mechanical valve replacement.

Are the operation tough:)
Heard need take out heart do repair and stay 1 week in hospital after surgery:(
Since u decide to opt out of operation, do u need to abstain from rigourous activities? Diet?

Taloona

standarture

Yes, rapid heartbeat even at rest, dizziness, consistent jaw pain that is not due to dental issues, pain radiating from arm can be warning signs of heart issues. I come from a family with cardiovascular disease.

Side note: so finally my youngest sibling went for an angiogram as all the older ones have had heart bypass. This sibling eats fried food EVERY DAY and drinks bubble tea EVERY DAY. Guess what? No blockage and no hardening of arteries. Calcium score zero.

I am really speechless. But of course there is still the possibility of blockage at the neck and brain, which she didn't check.

But I am like...is there a reason a higher being is protecting her?

How old first? If below <40 no need talk la. Young time act invincible. Once a bit older, your faulty genes will start to show up after mutating a few more times. Your body will start to deteriorate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.