I am taking BP med..

Reborn

the problem is once u start med + change lifestyle and BP drops, it is impossible for doctor to be sure if it is due to med or lifestyle change.

so to err on safe side doc will always tell u to continue meds. unless u specifically inform doc u wanna stop med and see if lifestyle does make a difference
For some people, they change their diet, + meds. their pressure becomes too low. Then they are taken off the meds.

WeiHan

I measure with a meter seems ok.. 130/ 90 something.. sometimes is 120...
Still have to continue?
Whenever I go clinic..it sometimes shoots up ..
The above is with or without the med? My father with a few med, still sometimes shoot to 200. Emergency hospital a few times until sian already. The doctor there just give another pill , then monitor only. Once below 180, they discharge already. Ithink waiting to die already.

Reborn

Mai pray pray with high BP. If you get stroke, it might paralyze your body.
yeah, this is true. Do check your bp regularly. If high, at least control wi meds. Rather then risk kidney damage or stroke. But I know there are fat people who dun check. and think it won't strike them. good luck to them.

Can Or Not

I measure with a meter seems ok.. 130/ 90 something.. sometimes is 120...
Still have to continue?
Whenever I go clinic..it sometimes shoots up ..
If there’s a low reading 120/80… etc then it’s ok… if it is consistently very high… you might need to increase dosage… need to consult doctor or change type of medication…

Ironside

wah, how to do that?
Doctor that time said my BP high, I asked her need to take medicine? She said can monitor for a week first, told me to stop eating outside food and cook at home.

I have some nutrition knowledge, so I cook home food and measure the sodium I add when cooking the food, like soy sauce, salt msg, then I eat like 400-600g of fruits and veg a day ( I also measure with a weighing scale). Within a few days, my BP becomes 80/120 or below using a Japanese made Omron machine to measure.

My food taste a little like hospital menu though.

Reborn

Doctor that time said my BP high, I asked her need to take medicine? She said can monitor for a week first, told me to stop eating outside food and cook at home.

I have some nutrition knowledge, so I cook home food and measure the sodium I add when cooking the food, like soy sauce, salt msg, then I eat like 400-600g of fruits and veg a day ( I also measure with a weighing scale). Within a few days, my BP becomes 80/120 or below using a Japanese made Omron machine to measure.

My food taste a little like hospital menu though.
because you were used to food with a lot of salt, Your taste buds cannot taste stuffs with low salt well.

give it a month or so. The "hospital menu" will have a stronger taste.

Thumbs up for your effort.

Ironside

because you were used to food with a lot of salt, Your taste buds cannot taste stuffs with low salt well.

give it a month or so. The "hospital menu" will have a stronger taste.

Thumbs up for your effort.
I have been on it for more than a year. My food is really quite bland. But I have learn to give up taste for health. I can actually take a not so toxic hawker meal once a day if I want without ill effect. But I only eat outside food like twice a week nowadays. Those very strongly flavoured ones, I will avoid.

Reborn

I have been on it for more than a year. My food is really quite bland. But I have learn to give up taste for health. I can actually take a not so toxic hawker meal once a day if I want without ill effect. But I only eat outside food like twice a week nowadays. Those very strongly flavoured ones, I will avoid.
wah, then you saly must be really low.

Slowdown

You only stop with your doctor‘s advice. Like if your blood pressure is consistently low with your new lifestyle and diet, he or she might reduce your dosage. 130/90 with meds and you expect to be off meds? Dream on. Until it gets to below 100/60, will never happen.
Once you start on BP Med, no doctor will ask you to stop. Unless you have low BP.

I was taking BP Med for several years. I took 2 different type (but the lowest dosage). For several years no GP / Polyclinic Doctor dare to tell me to stop, despite my BP being at the normal level.

Only last year (above 55) that the doctor asked me to reduce to one BP Med. He was worried that I might get low BP as I age.

ceestudent

Just continue lah, pop 1 tablet a day much much easier than exercise or what diet. Simple right?;)

Flexamoria

Because your body Automatically tunes your BP Liao… once you stop your BP will shoot up….
Medication all has side effects but the doctor deem the benefits is more than the side effects…
Need to control the blood pressure to normal or else … a lot of organs and blood vessels will be damaged.

Ic..... maybe bcos i dont have hbp, thats another story.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.