30s-50s chitchat club

highsulphur

Well previously I was told I should be getting out to other offices which I have direct reports twice a year. It seems I can barely even do once a year.

And as with some cultures, the people don't tell you issues they face until you physically are with them in the office...

I estimate each trip of mine costs around sgd$2k inclusive of air fare and hotel.
In my previous company, even sales had their travel budget cut. Can't even go see clients unless have prior approval from REGIONAL head. Who would want to apply?

highsulphur

even my travel-oriented role also kena travel budget cut... from up to 5 pax flying for 2-3 weeks, now become max of 3 pax flying for 1-1.5 weeks

yet recently my function head flew business class to VN (where we were auditing) from Switzerland, didn't really do much, and stayed just 72 hours... he had evening itineraries well planned out though !
Head mah

My previous company bosses like to fly in from Europe just for a few causal meetings and client events.

Balian

even my travel-oriented role also kena travel budget cut... from up to 5 pax flying for 2-3 weeks, now become max of 3 pax flying for 1-1.5 weeks

yet recently my function head flew business class to VN (where we were auditing) from Switzerland, didn't really do much, and stayed just 72 hours... he had evening itineraries well planned out though !
its always one rule for upper management and another rule for lower levels

Mr.Kopi

Got any of your corlick kena perma grounded?

flowerpalms

if got more days before coming back, can plan some R&R

Mr.Kopi

Your previous company you mean....? :s34:
Now you know why I'm probably first on the list :(
Wah you ask such questions in townhall. No wonder you are so well liked
Ya my sustainability head like me alot. I ever asked her if her clam shell earrings is recycled from the beach or produced.
She just flip white eye at me :(

Very shag you know. Come one time prepare one deck and countless meetings before that. Pre pre alignment, pre alignment, actual meeting etc :(

highsulphur

I'm not head...

Managing director and finance director cut one..

Sounds like whole department budget for travel now is damn pathetic... I hear liao also roll eyes
2023/2024 and possibly 2025 will continue to be cost cutting years

flowerpalms

Now you know why I'm probably first on the list :(

Ya my sustainability head like me alot. I ever asked her if her clam shell earrings is recycled from the beach or produced.
She just flip white eye at me :(

Very shag you know. Come one time prepare one deck and countless meetings before that. Pre pre alignment, pre alignment, actual meeting etc :(
because is the company preach sustainability, not individual cause

Milo-Dino

In my previous company, even sales had their travel budget cut. Can't even go see clients unless have prior approval from REGIONAL head. Who would want to apply?
Our sales also budget cut... Only those travel which can bill customers is as per norm..

I forsee instead of growth in revenue.. Gonna shrink.... We have been growing despite the depressed economy these past year or so

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.